We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luc Dunne”
Review of Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Campalto
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at Marco Polo September 213 before and after our cruise from Venice. Hotel located nicely away from busy Venice and very lose to the Airport. It's a Great small Hotel with really friendly staff. Martina on reception always answered our questions about things to do in the city and great tips on transport to and from Venice. Orlando too was really helpful and always had a smile even though he seemed to work from dawn to dusk. Hotel was clean and the breakfast was good. The Hotels shuttle taxi to and from the airport cost fifteen euro for us both and that was only three euro more that it would cost for the two of us on the local bus at six euro each and that bus number 5 is always packed so your unlikely to get a seat. Would I recommend this hotel? Well yes I would and I look forward to staying there again.
Luc and Sheila Dunne

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Nice hotel.. Awesome restaurant close by.. Right by bus stop to go into Venice.. Really nice. Staff was a little poor w English but helped as well as they could. Rooms we're clean.. Beds we're ok. Really nice breakfast.. Even made provision for my wife's gluten allergy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We arrived late at night but there were two helpful staff at reception. Check-in was a breeze. We booked four average size rooms but ours had the largest most luxurious (by standards of our previous hotels in this 5-country cross drive European tour) bathroom, ever. Walkable space inside, shower stall spacious, hygienically white toilette and bidet, towel heater racks, floor-to-ceiling window panels looking out to the street below (yes, inside the bathroom, so mind the drapes please) and even a small neat sitting stool beside it. Soft fresh smelling towels, hair dryer and toiletries...which aren't standard in other hotels. If you just look at the bathroom it feels like you are in a 5-star hotel, maybe better. The bedroom though, is an average hotel room and between the big double bed and desk there is just enough space to walk sideways. It did have the same floor-to ceiling window/door as the bathroom, stepping out to a small balcony which trembles when a vehicle passes below. Bed is comfortable enough. Wifi is free for first two hours per room per day, but cumulative so make sure you log off or turn off your tablet/phone wifi when not in use. We used the hotel as a base to explore Venice and Verona. If you are tired of small bathrooms in Europe, this one will surely be a pleasant unexpected luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The rooms were basic but clean which is to be expected for a hotel of its category but the service was truly terrible. The rooms are noisy and on a main road.

Firstly, we were not greeted at all when arriving to the hotel. We had "free wifi" in our rate, however this was only for 2 hours and for one device, if you want more you have to pay.The airport shuttle is outrageous, 20 euro for 4km.

We asked where we could go for dinner outside the hotel, the older man on reception pointed to the hotel bar without speaking or acknowledging us further.

We were told we were leaving too early for the full breakfast but that there would be a "piccolo breakfast" waiting for us on the bar. When we got downstairs, there was nothing there, and when we asked about it the man on reception laughed and said he has no food.

Lastly, we had left something behind, I emailed to ask if they had found it hoping it could be posted back, I am still yet to receive a reply more than a week later.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmarcopolo, Direttore at Hotel Marco Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest,
the hotel staff is sorry to found your negative review. Carefully reading all the information of the hotel in our website or in the portal where you booked surely you could know in advance the gratuity and the extra charges for the internet. As for the shuttle, we informed you of the prices of all possible means. You have chosen the shuttle to save on the price of the taxi certainly more expensive. If you wanted to save money you could use the bus service as indicated in the email. In any case we do not find proper complain of your choice. Receptionists ever book a table for our customers nearby restaurants, but after 10:00 pm the restaurants are all closed. Only the bars stay open until late, while offering meals and it is for this reason that my colleague advised you to go eat at the bar.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I promised the receptionist I would write a review & she asked me to go ahead. So here goes:

We checked in at 645pm and there was no welcome or hello. Then we were told that the hotel is fully booked & our assigned room is still occupied. The previous occupants were due to check out but has yet to return to pack their bags & neither did they pay for late check out. The receptionists requested that we go for dinner first & come back @ 8pm. They also shared that they had no contact details of the previous occupant & did not know what time they will return.

At this point, it is clear that they had no contingencies for us when our reservation is paid in advance and check out time is 1030am. They must have hoped that we did not turn up. We then insisted that we wanted a room right away and finally one receptionist stormed off with a key. He got back 30mins later and placed the key on the desk. Was that the right way to tell us the room is now ready? There were no apologies through out this entire incident & no water offered while we waited for our room.

When we left the next day, there were no apologies, thank you or farewell. Yes the room is clean but Thanks for making our trip to Venice a complete nightmare.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melodytraveltales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmarcopolo, Direttore at Hotel Marco Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest,
in your review you have written that your stay was a nightmare. We are sorry at your check-in you didn't have the room for a mistake due to another customer. We proposed you to have dinner that on your return you could have your room. Just needed the time to solve the problem. But you said that you were free to wait only with a discount of 50% of the room price and this has very bitter us. Our staff has accelerated the time to solve the problem only making you wait 15 minutes and once you had the room key you straight out to dinner. Surely your objective was to get the discount otherwise there was a negative comment. This has badly impressed us.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We only picked this hotel for one night stay after our cruise because we were going to have an early morning flight out of the Venice Marco Polo airport. We picked this hotel primarily because it was close and advertised a FREE SHUTTLE. Once we schlepped our luggage from the ship to the hotel on a local bus, we were told that the "Shuttle would not be available" and we could pay a 30 euro fee to a local taxi or get back on the bus. We chose the bus, but were NOT happy with it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ASAPNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while visiting Venice. Very good hotel. Very good facilities, particularly the bathrooms. Easy taxi ride from the airport and good bus connections into Venice. Plus lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Price was decent as well. Definitely recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campalto
0.2 mi away
Antony Hotel
Antony Hotel
#17 of 57 in Mestre
1,545 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Titian Inn Hotel Venice Airport
1.7 mi away
Smart Hotel Holiday
Smart Hotel Holiday
#10 of 57 in Mestre
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#2 of 3 in Campalto
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo

Address: Via Orlanda 115 | Campalto, 30173 Campalto, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre > Campalto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Campalto
Price Range: £44 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo is a modern and comfortable Hotel in Campalto: totally renowed in February 2008, it’s only 3 km far from Marco Polo International Airport of Venice and along the main street to Venice Downtown; the closest highway A4 and a convenient public bus service makes the Hotel the ideal stay to reach Venice at only € 1,00 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marco Polo Province Of Venice/Campalto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing