We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meh.... good for Venice”
Review of Camping Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Rialto
Reviewed 29 November 2013

If staying IN Venice is not an option, then you should really consider staying in one of the camping grounds in the surrounds.

We landed at this place as everywhere else was booked out, and we did not want to break the budget by staying in ridiculously expensive apartments in Venice. We rented a cabin - timber everything, one light and a nice heater to take the edge off those chilly Venice nights. The (paid) wifi was as bad as the staff, and the pizza bar at the camping ground is as rough as drinking from the canals.

The toilets were cleaned regularly, and getting into town is not that much of a problem as the bus stops right outside the ground. There is a supermarket across the road too, however if you do not have a cooktop or utensils it is not much use. DRINK BOTTLED WATER!

However this place is cheap, and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

DO NOT stay here unless you are willing to risk BEDBUGS!! My boyfriend and I arrived to Camp Rialto on Oct. 10th and stayed our first night in the mini chalet. We arrived in the late evening so it was already dark out, so we didn't have much light to see the chalet well. But we could see bugs crawling in and out of the wood and some were crawling onto the beds. They looked like little Beatles at first and although we were grossed out we decided to tough it out because we were camping and that's usually expected. In the morning, I woke up and complained to the girl working at the front gate that the bugs were bad in the chalet and she apologized for our experience and told us she would upgrade us for our second night to the bigger chalet (has a kitchenette and private bathroom). We slept one night in this chalet and I woke up with BEDBUG bites all over my hands, back, feet and even face! They left lines of bites and they were awful itchy. We started to search the bed and the sheets (which were white when we went to sleep) and they now had 3 blood stains in different areas - in case you don't know - finding this blood in the sheets is know as " fecal streaking" which is secretion from the bed bugs after feeding.

After going through this terrible experience - I don't recommend staying here ever. I know it may be a cheaper option to seeing Venice (that's what we thought) but it has turned into a nightmare. Not only am I itching - I've had to wash and dry all of our clothing and backpacks and have had to worry about that the bugs could have hitched a ride with us for rest our travels.
This has been the Worst accommodation experience of my life and I have done a lot of travelling.
Do not do it !!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennabaptist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My friend and I rented one of the 2 person bungalows. I would DEFINITELY recommend spending an extra couple of euros to get one of these rather than a tent. It is a simple little building with two beds, however ,when it rains, it is a lifesaver. We were there during a weekend in October when it rained non stop. We still got eaten by mosquitoes, but we were happy to have rented the bungalow. The rooms were cold, but the beds were pretty comfortable. Showers and toilets are just steps away from the bungalows. We got in late (11 PM) when we checked in, so the only food available was 7 euro lasagna. I'm not sure if we were starving or if it was actually delicious, either way, it did the trick.

The bus was very convenient from Marco Polo, and also into the city. Let the bus driver know where you're heading, and hopefully they will be nice like ours was and let us know when we should get off.

All in all, for two nights, this was fine for us. It is not anything fancy, but it is cheap! And you don't have to wheel your luggage around the maze of canals and steps in Venice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Camping Rialto for us all was something like we would love to live all our life:)) - I mean very friendly faces of staff and campers, delicious pizza and perfect location if you want to stay close to summer Venice and to be out of heat at the same time. It's absolutely easy to commute both to the city and Marco Polo airport, and though living conditions are very basic, it's just what you are promised on the site, and perfect for its value which is really low.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrinaVayserberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here to visit Venice for two days and were really happy with the convenient location of the site to Venice. The bus stops right outside and takes around 10 minues to get to Venice.

The campsite staff were really friendly and helpful on arrival. The only comment would be that there could be more of them working as it is a busy site and the queue to check in and out was huge! We received a voucher for breakfast and pizza which was good value - we only used the one for pizza and a drink but it was yummy!

The toilets did not have toilet roll but were reasonably clean and tidy each time we went and the site was generally quiet.

This is a great location to visit Venice!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 person chalet. It was a but cramped but very clean. Got pretty cold at night time but there were blankets in the beds. Toilets and showers were very clean.

Had to pay for wi-fi, €4 each for 3 days of incredibly slow Internet which was a big let down.

Also the campsite is a 20 minute bus ride to Venice, there is no way you can walk it, a single on the bus is €1.30. this was a pain when we wanted to stay out late because we always ha to be thinking about bus times.

There is a place to get pizza and a very small but expensive shop (but there is a Lidl right opposite!)

We did get bitten a fair few times so make sure you take some bug spray!

It did the job for us traveling and we had a pretty nice stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyLout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We wanted to visit Venice, but we wanted to be situated in a place out of the crowded Venice so we picked this camp. The chalet is clean, but it was very hot during the day and very cold during the night, we went in July.( you should ask for blankets). The stuff are very friendly. There is a great restaurant with little shop inside, but opposite of the camp is Lidl so you no worries for shopping.The toilet is clean, there is hot water all the time. There is a bus stop so you can go directly to Venice and also opposite the bus station for Venice is a bus line for Lido Di Jesolo, so I would recommend it if you like to visit a great beach other then visiting Venice in summer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasija2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campalto
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Venice Mestre San Giuliano
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ducale
Hotel Ducale
#1 of 1 in Favaro Veneto
496 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Serena
Hotel Villa Serena
#47 of 58 in Mestre
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#2 of 3 in Campalto
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camping Venezia Village
5.3 mi away
Camping Serenissima
Camping Serenissima
#1 of 2 in Malcontenta
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Rialto

Address: Via Orlanda 16, 30173 Campalto, Mestre, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre > Campalto
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Campalto
Price Range: £23 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping Rialto is the best departure point to visit the wonderful city of Venice! Very well connected with the center thanks to the convenient local public bus service that stops right in front of the campsite entry, it is possible to reach the hearth of the enchanting city of Venice in just 10 minutes at a very low cost. Busses are running till late at night so you will be able to enjoy Venice by night too! Camping Rialto can be easily reached from the train station of Venezia Santa Lucia or Venezia Mestre as well as from Venice Marco Polo airport or Treviso airport. Surrounded in a green area perfectly shaded, here you will breathe a friendly atmosphere, ideal for relaxing after an intensive day excursion to Venice. Camping Rialto offers a nice bar pizzeria with "terrace" facing the pretty and well cared campsite garden, where you have a good Italian coffee or cappuccino in the morning, a cold drink when coming back from Venice and in the evening taste the best pizza ever! Having a good drink or an ice, it is possible to use our Wi-Fi connection service comfortably seated, or just have a chat with other guests of the campsite hearing good music. Between our services, a nice well stocked mini market where you will find food and drinks. (Bar Pizzeria and Market will be open from the 15th of April.) Clean bathrooms facilities and laundry facilities available 24 hours. For camping lovers Camping Rialto offers camping emplacements of different size, shaded or not, suitable for tents, campers and caravans. Electricity (6 amp) is included. If you are looking for a comfortable accommodation, you have only to choose the one you like between: Chalet for 4/5 persons: wooden chalets consisting of a bedroom with double bed and bunk bed (+ one single bed in the one for 5 persons), fully equipped kitchen and a small lounge area, bathroom with shower, heating and air conditioning. Mini-chalet for 2 persons: wooden basic mini-chalet with two single beds, no ensuite. Mini-chalet for 3 persons: wooden basic mini-chalet with one single bed and one bunk bed, no ensuite. Rental tents for 2 persons: tent equipped with two real single beds. All accommodations comes with bed sheets and blankets. Towels for rent. Possibility of car/motorbyke parking. Camping Rialto is the best typical Italian friendly, clean and safe place for your stay in Venice! You will feel like home! Excellent location to get to Venice and great value for money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and PitchUp so you can book your Camping Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Rialto Province Of Venice/Campalto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing