We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Brdo
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kranj
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Beautiful estate on the property ( Brdo)-great for strolling or relaxing! However, the hotel, itself, did not live up to its reputation. Small rooms, no bath tub ( don't know how a person can stay at a ski resort and not have a bath tub), no tissues in rooms ( cost .25 for pack, ),no clock, tea pot or coffee pot, very dimly lit halls, (dangerous for some of our group who used walkers and canes), no bar soap, and frayed bath towel. The maid did not leave an extra roll of toilet paper; if we had used what was there, we would not have had any. Also, the safe was almost on the floor, so if a person wanted to use it, he/shewould almost have to lie on the floor to read the directions. The bar area was very small and did not have a variety of mixers, including no sprite, 7 up, or ginger ale. Upon request, they did fix our blinds, so they would open, and fixed our air conditioner, so it worked the second night. Apparently, this hotel is utilized more for conferences, than overnight stays; we saw a large group of high ranking military officials who had a meeting and then seemed to leave; we never saw them as guests of the hotel. I did schedule a spa appointment, and had a wonderful massage from a local masseur; however, the spa facilities were much nicer than the guest rooms.i

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is primarily a conference hotel but don't let this put you off, the rooms are very comfortable and clean and both reception and dining room staff are very helpful and make a special point of looking after independent travellers. It is also extremely good value. There is an extensive breakfast buffet but the menu in the restaurant in the evening is limited, however the food was good. The hotel is situated in the peaceful Brdo estate whose beautiful and extensive grounds are well worth exploring. They contain lakes, a golf course and the castle that President Tito used as a summer residence. It is close to Ljubljana Airport and good for touring as it is only a short drive to Lake Bled and the gorgeous Triglav National Park. Do make sure you have a navigator that covers Slovenia if driving as lack of signs makes life very difficult without one!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Travelling at night, I had to sleep for a couple of hours. I checked booking.com and I saw that 24 hours front desk is available at the hotel. However I found a security guy sleeping in the back office and I could make reservation because he was totally incompetent. And the point is that I couldn't get the deal of the day through booking.com because of this "receptionist"
I rate this behavior as a totally unprofessional one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KolonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I was very satisfied with all services in hotel( dinner, sauna and massage). It is very clean and nice. Employees are very kind and professional. With my housband spent a wonderful time there. I reccomend definetly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinja40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

It was just a business trip to Slovenia, but this hotel and it`s surroundings are fabulous. Staff is very polite and helpful, rooms are very clean, very spacious and comfortable. I have enjoyed for 2 days and would love to come back during the summer time, although winter scenery with snow is also wonderful. Very nice and tasty food in hotel restaurant. Unfortunately, I haven`t had time for spa section so I really can`t say anything about that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleksandarBGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The hotel is set near park Brdo and both are managed by state protocol department. Beautiful setting in a peaceful, almost in-the-middle-of-nowhere location, yet very close to the airport, Ljubljana, Bled... they have different room sizes, but even the smaller ones are decent, especially for the price. Kind personnel added to a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickytraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in March 2013. It is quite hotel, which is operated by Slovenian state protocol agency and looks like it has been recently renovated inside.
LOCATION: Hotel is conveniently located in a peaceful environment (Park Brdo, with one of the most famous premises of Slovenian protocol-Brdo Castle), which lies between Ljubljana and Bled (Slovenian Alps), close to Ljubljana airport (Brnik). From highway no more than 5 minutes.
The ROOMS are very comfortable, with large cable TV, free wireless internet access,phone,A/C, minibar, etc. They have excellent quality beds, so I did get a good rest.
The hotel has a fitness (did not use it) and wellness area (finish and turkish sauna), which is very nice, has discrete lightning and offers free fruits, teas, towels and sheets. They also offer massages which in my case was carried out by a very professional employee.
As for the FOOD: The breakfast was very good with all the usual stuff that has to be there in a 4* hotel. The food was fresh, there was a good selection of breads. Plus point was cook that freshly prepared omelets for you and fresh bio juices (as in addition to those from a machine). I also had two dinners there and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Prices from 5-10 eur for 2-4 course dinner (from special menu) seem a very good deal for food and presentation of that was was prepared. tip: try their self-made pralines.
I believe there are quite a few activates around hotel and Park Brdo grounds (walking, fishing, etc), but I had no time to explore it. However I would recommend to arrive (or rent) a car, as I am not sure what type of public transport is around the hotel.
For any younger travelers seeking for bar crawling, disco, nightlife a hotel in center of Ljubljana would be a better option,as around the hotel there aren't many party places.
At the end: I would recommend this hotel without doubt to couples and families, and also to business travelers (that have business in the areas around), who are seeking relaxation, beautiful nature and cozy luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slokii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kranj hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Creina
Hotel Creina
#3 of 4 in Kranj
83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Azul
Hotel Azul
#4 of 4 in Kranj
37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Actum
Boutique Hotel Actum
#1 of 4 in Kranj
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cukrarna Hostel Kranj
6.3 mi away
B&B Na Poljani
B&B Na Poljani
#1 of 1 in Mavcice
46 reviews
4.1 mi away
Guesthouse Ales
Guesthouse Ales
#1 of 7 in Kranj
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brdo

Address: Predoslje 39, Kranj 4000, Slovenia (Formerly Hotel Kokra)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kranj
Price Range: £102 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brdo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brdo Hotel **** is known as very attentive host of business and protocol events. With varied offer, Brdo Hotel makes excellent place for short break in relaxing and natural environment, surrounded with beautiful mountain scenery and pristine nature of fenced Brdo Park and historical Brdo Estate with Brdo Castle with more than 500 years of rich history. Hotel has 78 rooms and suites, among which Presidential Apartment really stands out, because of its rich history of eminent guests who stayed in. In Hotel Restaurant you will experience unforgettable culinary delights, made from fresh and local ingredients. Chefs that will prepare your food are very experienced and got skilled with cooking for various protocol guests. Every gourmet dish will be accompanied with selection of best Slovenian wines. We will take care of you and pamper you in Wellness centre Vrelec - place of peace and relaxation. The cozy ambience of wellness offers you Turkish Bath and Finnish Sauna, whirlpool, cool pool with waterfall, and spacious room for resting. In hotel you can as well find small fitness centre. Brdo Estate is magnificent in all seasons and astonish with mixture of unique activities and experiences. Horse carriage ride, equestrian adventures, Brdo picnic hamper, fish hunting, photo hunting and golf are just some of many activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Brdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing