We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living a dream!”
Review of Hotel Brdo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Brdo
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kranj
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Living a dream!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel Brdo is surrounded by beautiful nature. The hotel itself looks modern in the main parts like restaurant, lobby and common areas. The rooms are a bit dated, and the hotel would benefit from a lighting refurb, but the whole place is very clean and beds are comfortable.

The food in the restaurant is super tasty and beautifully presented. I was surprised by how reasonably priced it was! The waiter serving was very professional and he cared. The same for the young guy at the reception.
Back to food- I had a celeriac creme soup, sea bass and the beautiful chocolate desert with home made ice cream. The desert was the cherry on the cake, really tasty!

If I was a princess, I would love to have the Park Brdo as my playground! Stunning park with beautiful trees, lakes, statues, wooden bridges and water lilies. I ran 10K around the park, did not miss a single path :) and I loved every minute of it!

The breakfast- Now this place understand what is nice breakfast about- a selection of lovely teas, fresh and tasty(!) fruit and plenty of it!
I rate this place highly and I wish I could have spend more time there, but I will be definitely back for more!
Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcelaPomphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
17
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne Germany
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was highly surprised to find such an good hotel in a quiet park location at such a reasonable price. The furniture is a bit dated. This hotel is highly recommended for business people visiting this are of Slovenia or for tourists who on at tight budget wish a nice hotel in easy reach of the wonderful countryside and Bled Lake.
We had dinner at the restaurant and we were surprised how quiet it was, We were told that the Slovanian people rarley dine in hotel restaurants. My colleague and I had an excellent dinner including wine for both of us which was less than € 50.
Highly recommended is also a massage at the hotel spa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnHCologneGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Amazing propety with 13 or so lakes and a castle and horse stable.cant compare with any hotel I ever was.if you looking for relaxing holidays with loads of walks you actually dont need to leave The place.certain months hotel has many activities in place.from walks.yoga.and even fairytales...the hotel is clean and inviting (heard queen Elizabeth was there) and staff very helpful. And if its good for queen its good for me. Amazing well recomended

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enyamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is in one of the most beautiful locations in Slovenia. The Brdo property is stunningly beautiful even on a cold and cloudy day. The hotel itself is good, decent quality but a bit aged and would need a refit to match the beauty of the area. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivankcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Beautiful estate on the property ( Brdo)-great for strolling or relaxing! However, the hotel, itself, did not live up to its reputation. Small rooms, no bath tub ( don't know how a person can stay at a ski resort and not have a bath tub), no tissues in rooms ( cost .25 for pack, ),no clock, tea pot or coffee pot, very dimly lit halls, (dangerous for some of our group who used walkers and canes), no bar soap, and frayed bath towel. The maid did not leave an extra roll of toilet paper; if we had used what was there, we would not have had any. Also, the safe was almost on the floor, so if a person wanted to use it, he/shewould almost have to lie on the floor to read the directions. The bar area was very small and did not have a variety of mixers, including no sprite, 7 up, or ginger ale. Upon request, they did fix our blinds, so they would open, and fixed our air conditioner, so it worked the second night. Apparently, this hotel is utilized more for conferences, than overnight stays; we saw a large group of high ranking military officials who had a meeting and then seemed to leave; we never saw them as guests of the hotel. I did schedule a spa appointment, and had a wonderful massage from a local masseur; however, the spa facilities were much nicer than the guest rooms.i

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is primarily a conference hotel but don't let this put you off, the rooms are very comfortable and clean and both reception and dining room staff are very helpful and make a special point of looking after independent travellers. It is also extremely good value. There is an extensive breakfast buffet but the menu in the restaurant in the evening is limited, however the food was good. The hotel is situated in the peaceful Brdo estate whose beautiful and extensive grounds are well worth exploring. They contain lakes, a golf course and the castle that President Tito used as a summer residence. It is close to Ljubljana Airport and good for touring as it is only a short drive to Lake Bled and the gorgeous Triglav National Park. Do make sure you have a navigator that covers Slovenia if driving as lack of signs makes life very difficult without one!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Travelling at night, I had to sleep for a couple of hours. I checked booking.com and I saw that 24 hours front desk is available at the hotel. However I found a security guy sleeping in the back office and I could make reservation because he was totally incompetent. And the point is that I couldn't get the deal of the day through booking.com because of this "receptionist"
I rate this behavior as a totally unprofessional one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KolonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kranj
6.3 mi away
Hotel Silvester & Wellness
2.4 mi away
Hotel Creina
Hotel Creina
#3 of 4 in Kranj
76 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Azul
Hotel Azul
#4 of 4 in Kranj
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,629 reviews
5.7 mi away
Dvor Jezersek Brnik Hotel
12.6 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brdo

Property: Hotel Brdo
Address: Predoslje 39, Kranj 4000, Slovenia (Formerly Hotel Kokra)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Kranj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kranj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brdo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brdo Hotel **** is known as very attentive host of business and protocol events. With varied offer, Brdo Hotel makes excellent place for short break in relaxing and natural environment, surrounded with beautiful mountain scenery and pristine nature of fenced Brdo Park and historical Brdo Estate with Brdo Castle with more than 500 years of rich history. Hotel has 78 rooms and suites, among which Presidential Apartment really stands out, because of its rich history of eminent guests who stayed in. In Hotel Restaurant you will experience unforgettable culinary delights, made from fresh and local ingredients. Chefs that will prepare your food are very experienced and got skilled with cooking for various protocol guests. Every gourmet dish will be accompanied with selection of best Slovenian wines. We will take care of you and pamper you in Wellness centre Vrelec - place of peace and relaxation. The cozy ambience of wellness offers you Turkish Bath and Finnish Sauna, whirlpool, cool pool with waterfall, and spacious room for resting. In hotel you can as well find small fitness centre. Brdo Estate is magnificent in all seasons and astonish with mixture of unique activities and experiences. Horse carriage ride, equestrian adventures, Brdo picnic hamper, fish hunting, photo hunting and golf are just some of many activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing