We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See Portugal and dine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Ayamonte
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Ayamonte
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“See Portugal and dine.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our first experience with a Parador and we were impressed. Very good rate through Laterooms.com but beware, breakfast is good but expensive. Rooms are definitely four star with generous space and a balcony - sit and watch the sun set over Portugal as you overlook the town of Ayamonte and the River Guadiana. Service at reception was fine but was a bit miserable for late afternoon drinks in the garden. Try walking down through the older part of the town to see all the tiled hallways and original architecture, but get a taxi back. Like many Paradors in Spain, the hotel is next to a heritage site, in this case the old castle on the only hill for miles. We would come again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river and Portugal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinHood024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    127
    53
    19
    7
See reviews for
51
187
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Parador is sited on a hill overlooking the Guadianna river with the bridge to Portugal.Our room had a wonderful view across and down over the town to the sea beyond. The rooms are well appointed with all the usual Parador touches.
We arrived in time for a late lunch bar snack which, along with our free 'Amigo' glass of wine, was excellent. The service is slow but we were happy to sit on the terrace in the sun with our wine.
We strolled down to the town in the early evening and sat with a coffee at a square crowded with families enjoying the evening sunshine. There are a good selection of restaurants down at the port and we enjoyed seafood tapas at Bar Guerrero which I would also recommend. Taxi back to the Parador is a standard 5 euro fare-in a newish Mercedes.
We didnt have breakfast as we had an early start but we have enjoyed it here in the past.
The hotel is very comfortable and in a great location for trips to Seville, Huelva, Costa de Luz and Portugal with Faro only 40 minutes drive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, NL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Parador has a superb location overlooking the Guadiana river ending towards the ocean. You can also see Portugal, the border bridge between Portugal and Spain. The hotel was quite empty when we went so we got a nice room on the top floor with best views.
The pool and garden look very nice and peacful, perfect for enjoying a drink after a tourist day.

The hotel itself is old, like most of the Paradores, the furniture dates back to many years ago but everyting is well maintained and it doesnt feel old. Clearly there is currently not money to spend in refurbishing the rooms as the paradores are owned by the Spanish goverment.

We stayed 5 nights in Ayamonte and deciding to spend at least one at the parador was a good idea! If you want to spend more than 2 nights in Ayamonte, you better consider other options. The Parador is great for a 1 or 2 nith stop in Ayamonte as part of a road trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guayomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Modern Parador, just north of the city of Ayamonte, built on a hill with great views of the river Guadiana, Portugal and the International Bridge linking both countries, with the Atlantic Ocean in a distance, to be enjoyed from the pool and restaurant/bar, or from the balcony of your room. Hotel with spacious layout, quiet location, friendly staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTrovador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed this hotel in May. Excellent value for money and very well –placed for those who would a peaceful place. The room with balcony and bathroom are very spacious. The entrance hall and public area (including the restaurant) are also very spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satomi-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed in this wonderful hotel right on the border of Spain and Portugal for 1 night, and wished we could have stayed longer. The views from our well kept, and very clean, room were amazing. We enjoyed the food on offer and found the staff caring and friendly. The hotel was a joy to be in.
We were able to have a simple breakfast rather than the full works and paid accordingly.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tozilch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We love Parador Hotels and always use them when in Spain, but we were a little disappointed with this one. The hotel itself is modern, set on a hill above Ayamonte and rooms are available overlooking the "La Guardiana river" which is the border with Portugal. The hotel itself and its grounds were just perfect,and appear to be fully wheelchair accessible if you need this facility.
Our biggest problem was the catering - whilst the restaurant was open for breakfast, it was closed in the evening for dinner which had to be taken in the bar - not what we expected in a 4 star Parador. Whilst the buffet breakfast was up to standard it was often necessary to ask staff to replenish the buffet (bread for toast, orange juice, rolls, etc) but having said that the cooked breakfast was superb. The dinner menu in the bar was very limited and unchanged throughout the week - the "set menu" was delicious, but unchanged, and the "a la Carte" was very limited. We tended after a couple of days to go int the pleasant town where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. This experience will not put us off using Paradors, but I would ask some questions of the company before booking this one again. Finally, the early morning alarm call requested on the morning of departure did not happen, but fortunately we woke up in time to catch our departure flight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river/estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayamonte
2.2 mi away
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
#4 of 6 in Isla Canela
329 reviews
4.8 mi away
Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
4.5 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
9.7 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ayamonte Center
Hotel Ayamonte Center
#8 of 10 in Ayamonte
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Ayamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Ayamonte

Property: Parador de Ayamonte
Address: Avenida Constitucion s/n, 21400, Ayamonte, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ayamonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Ayamonte 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A priviledge viewpoint, the Parador overlooks the marshy landscape sketched by the course of the Guadiana and the Atlantic coast. Modernity can be found in the drawing rooms and living rooms, blessedly lit by the sun of Ayamonte and simplicity of the shades, with peaceful sensitivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Ayamonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hotel Ayamonte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing