We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad and tired parador with good staff and a good chef!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parador de Ayamonte
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Ayamonte
London/Derby.uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sad and tired parador with good staff and a good chef!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

I have stayed at Paradores all over Spain and generally found them to be acceptable.
Some better than others; they fall down at times on the service compared to the hotel chains but I have been told by several of their employees ' because once employed in the parador organization you can't get sacked!'. O.K. the off hand manner of a lot of their staff can be just about accepted; the food has been - at times - complete garbage to superb!; but the one always outstanding feature of paradores has been the maintenance, upkeep and cleanliness of the bathrooms. My last stay at a parador - Parador Ayamonte - was very disapointing in this aspect. The bathroom was 'very tired looking'. Black mouldy grouting around the tiles and sinks; peeling paintwork on the door frames; radiators that could not be turned off; air conditioning that spluttered; and worst of all, a general sewage smell all the time. The maid - like all parador maids - tried her best and kept sparkling what parts of the area she could. A valiant attempt but bound to fail!
It was obvious that the whole hotel was due for a complete make-over. Badly damaged and scratched doors, worn carpets, sagging sofas, tiled tables with tiles missing; but in spite of all this what pulled it through was the friendliness of the staff and the very good food. It was the Christmas period and they did well.
I accepted the hotels shortfalls because I was there and as stated the service was good and the food and drink flowed as it would at that time of year. However, I was determined to write to the parador organization - praise what deserved praise and point out the obvious down side of my stay. Unfortunately, I was informed that all the bathrooms had been recently renovated and as far as the organization was concerned the hotel was upto standard. I am sad to say - who's standard. Certainly not the fine standard I have experienced at many paradores; it seems that like a lot of outfits the paradores are going the same way. Get 'em in! Get 'em out! and if they don't come back so what! As for me I won't be going back; and certainly not back to the Parador Ayamonte.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    115
    46
    18
    6
See reviews for
40
160
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
171 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

The best thing about this hotel was that it had a room free. We were driving from Portugal into Spain and were getting pretty fed up and tired, finding everything else we had tried was full. We drove into Ayamonte and this was the first place we found. €136 wasn't cheap and frankly wasn't worth it. Yes, the view of the river and Portugal on the other side is lovely but that's about it. The bathroom was showing its age and the room was spacious and clean but no more than that. Returning from dinner in the town we were a bit perplexed to find there was no bar as such, just a cafeteria serving snacks and drinks with just one over-worked waitress.

It wasn't bad. Just not particularly good.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

We adore the Spanish paradors and usually choose historic buildings. We knew this was a purpose-built new building and choose it for its views and location and were not disappointed.

We had a room on -1 overlooking the river. Huge private balcony with chairs (new cushions) and table. The view was wonderful and the breeze divine. We obtained an excellent rate on the parador website.

The room was large and clean, beds firm and very comfortable with great air conditioning (quiet and effective).

The bar has terraces with lawn seating, pool is tucked away to the side. Great seating in the sun or shade.

Dinner was very good with a wonderful view on the river and a spectacular sunset. The menu is a bit limited and not as exciting as other paradors but the food was good.

Breakfast buffet was very good.

This would be an excellent choice to relax in nature after a stay in Seville. It's just 2 hours from the Seville airport.

  • Liked — Great views and sunset
  • Disliked — Limited dinner menu
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moxie.france
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2007

I do not recommend this location to anybody. During our trip,we stayed in many hotels in spain, and this one was the worst. We had better quality rooms in 3 star hotels in other parts of spain. This hotel should be rated 2 stars max. We paid 140 Euro(US 200) for the room. The only things positive: large room and nice view. Negative: The room stank like the basement of the old house, broken tiles in the shower, hole in the wall with sticking out pipe, noisy(noise started at 7am in the morning).
If you are driving to spain, continue to Huelva, there is some hotels there.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Price!!!!!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank slimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2006

This is not one of the Parador chain that is a conversion of a historic building. I think it was built for the job. And it does it's job very well. It has a glorious location overlooking the Guardino river into Portugal and has a super view of the suspension bridge that carries the motorway between Portugal and Spain. Our room was modern, clean and spacious with huge panoramic windows. It was quiet when we were there and we had the facilities almost to ourselves. We had breakfasts and an evening meal which were all pretty good. We are planning a return visit to Ayamonte this year and will stay at the Parador again.
You need to know that the hotel is a car/taxi journey from the town. If you are travelling from Portugal to Ayamonte be aware the clocks go forward one hour! There are no signs so we were caught out and nearly missed both dinner and breakfast. Also it seems to be not possible to hire a car in Portugal and drop off in Spain. We had to return our car to Portugal office,take the 10 minute ferry to Spain and re-hire a car for our onward journey to Seville. The Parador staff were very helpful with this and the car very cheap.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Keith4105790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayamonte
2.2 mi away
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
Hotel Isla Canela Golf
#4 of 6 in Isla Canela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.8 mi away
Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
4.5 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Playamarina Spa Hotel
Playamarina Spa Hotel
#5 of 6 in Isla Canela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
9.8 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ayamonte Center
Hotel Ayamonte Center
#8 of 10 in Ayamonte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Ayamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Ayamonte

Property: Parador de Ayamonte
Address: Avenida Constitucion s/n, 21400, Ayamonte, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Ayamonte
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ayamonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Ayamonte 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A priviledge viewpoint, the Parador overlooks the marshy landscape sketched by the course of the Guadiana and the Atlantic coast. Modernity can be found in the drawing rooms and living rooms, blessedly lit by the sun of Ayamonte and simplicity of the shades, with peaceful sensitivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Ayamonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hotel Ayamonte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing