We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the second time, excelent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Isla Cristina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isla Cristina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“For the second time, excelent!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

One more time, me and my family chose Barcelo Isla Cristina for one week family vacation. Once again, it was a fantastic week where we could enjoy the pool, the food, the beach, the animation with a fantastic weather.
One special mention to the animation team that was amazing! They managed to animate the pool, the children and the evenings and everybody loved!
The food is great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    619
    223
    64
    48
See reviews for
848
546
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Arrived 25/07/2014. Check in very easy and pleasant. Room clean and airy. Meals varied but
Always had to join a long line! Most of guests Spanish! Outside in town streets not paved in gold but paved in dog poo! Not many shops or restaurants but loads of Spanish bars! Streets could be cleaned more. And one thing no buses in town and few taxis! Have to say would not come again

Room Tip: Choose sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Spike696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights in June on Business -deove by Hire Car from Faro
Overview
Location looks better on the web site (Jet 2) -but the Hotel is located in a semi urban area with a road between the Hotel and beach
On entry the reception looks dated -but the decor is of the era of dark tiles
Rooms are a good size -but again its obvious the hotel has been open for some years
There are swimming pools/bar in the grounds with plenty of "animations" for the children
The clientèle were predominantly Spanish families and couples
Restaurant
Buffet service was of a good standard -but it can get very very busy-with long queues after 21:00
Breakfast was also good -eggs and bacon if you wanted it avaialble
Location
There is an extensive sandy beach across the road -but it was quite wind swept when I was there
Overall
Staff were very friendly and the hotel was always kept clean
Parking is an issue
I enjoyed my stay
Recommended

Room Tip: Ask for Seaview 3rd Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SKYLOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

2nd visit to Costa de la Luz,great hotel with mainly Spaniards & Portuguese.lovely room with pool & sea views.It was very quiet during the week and busy at weekends,but there were so many sunbeds we could move around to suit.
Could not fault the food, plentiful and all fresh with lots of variety.
On first impressions of Isla Cristina weren't great especially the dog mess on the pavements( soon got used to avoiding it)! there are some nice plazas and shops but not many.
Islantilla along the coast, where we revisited, has a nice promonade but we were "ripped off" on the return taxi fare so it left a bad impression, although it's still nice.
No fault of hotel but there's no rep,no book and we had to find out from reception on our last day when we would get picked up for return to Faro.
Final very good point, Spain is much cheaper than Portugal, and on our flight from Edinburgh we were the only two going to Spain. The animation guy said we made the right choice!
Try hotel Barcelo if you want some where very Spanish and not touristy.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth paying for but we spoke to folks who were upgraded on arrival.This may not apply i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director B, Director General at Occidental Isla Cristina, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Bunt0 . Gracias por su amable comentario y por valorar su experiencia , pese a algunos detalles quer comenta , tan positivamente e imparcial . Tomamos nota de lo que podamos mejorar y agradecemos los comentarios sobre la animación y personal .
Sobre los puntos externos al hotel , estamos intensamente informando a las autoridades locales de éste problema para intentar buscar la solución definitiva y que realmente repercute sobre el destino.

Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here for a week in September, on an all inclusive basis. Overall, it was very good - not fantastic, but reasonable value for money. The first few days the hotel was quite busy. Around the pool it was quite noisy with children. Our recent holidays have been to adult-only places, so this was a bit of a shock. There was always plenty of beds though, and we never really struggled for shade. The hotel has a "no bed blocking" policy, and say they'll move your belongings if you are away for 30 minutes. We never saw this happen, and we were away for longer over lunch without an issue.

The food was reasonably quality, but pretty repetitive. Salads, breads, and cooked meat and fish. The turnover was quite quick, and while the food wasn't outstanding it was more than adequate. Eating at a buffet while there's lots of kids running around adds a certain excitement to getting your food back to your table.

The all inclusive covers beer, house wine, soft drinks and some spirits. You can pay for the things that aren't covered, and the "extras" are at a reduced price. In the week we were there, we were fine with the drinks that were included. At the pool bar is a beer tap and soft drinks that you can serve yourself. The bars could be quite busy and service was slow. The free drinks end at 11.30, which is quite early for a holiday place.

The room itself was fine, clean and serviced daily. We hardly used the balcony, and the sea view was a bit pointless really. It's a very wide beach, so the sea is quite a way from the hotel. Only a couple of English channels, but that wasn't much of an issue. The wifi in reception was quite good, and almost reached the room on the third floor.

Gym is a bit basic, one running machine, a cross trainer and some weight equipment. It was really warm in there too.

Couple of minor moans - the corridors are long, and it can be a bit of a trek from the lift to your room. They're also dark, the lights come on with motion sensors and were a bit slow sometimes. The gym is closed on a Sunday, which we found annoying for a holiday resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeJefferies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay, food good, location suited us and near to beaches which are excellent, not a commercial area It is a working town and the hotel is suited to the Spanish visitor, which we enjoy, nice ferry over to the next island, well worth a trip, and the walk along the boardwalk down the restaurants on the beach. I would stay here again and hopefully soon.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Blevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marchamalo, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Barceló Isla Cristina is an amazing beach hotel (4 stars) located at Isla Cristina Huelva.
Rooms are big and comfortable, and staff is very nice and always willing to help.
There are amussement activities for kids, and adults. And the pool is big and convenient, divided in three areas of depth. If you come with kids you don't really need to worry about them.

The beach is only 600 meters away from the hotel. It is a big one and water is cold, as opposite to the Mediterranean ones. I really like the atlantic beaches like this.
Food is really amazing, but if you get tired of being in the hotel, there are nice seafood reataurants around, 5 minutes walking distance.
I definitely recomend this hotel and there is no doubt I will come back soon.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank asalmeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Cristina
5.0 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
5.1 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
ADH Isla Cristina
ADH Isla Cristina
#2 of 5 in Isla Cristina
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Playacanela Hotel
Playacanela Hotel
#6 of 6 in Isla Canela
1,043 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Atlantico Isla Canela
4.3 mi away
Family Life Ocean Islantilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Isla Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Isla Cristina

Property: Occidental Isla Cristina
Address: C/ Doctor Delgado Carrasco s/n, 21410 Isla Cristina, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Isla Cristina)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Isla Cristina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Isla Cristina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Isla Cristina 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Occidental Isla Cristina**** hotel (belonging to the Barcelo Hotel Group and formerly the Barcelo Isla Cristina) is located on the seafront at the wonderful Isla Cristina beach in the province of Huelva, which is surrounded by a protected natural area. Its proximity to the airports of Faro (Portugal) and Seville, and the most interesting places in the area, make this holiday hotel a perfect spot. The 233 rooms and 110 apartments boast spaciousness and quality features, and include all the facilities and services you could need for a pleasant stay and an unforgettable holiday. The Occidental Isla Cristina has a buffet restaurant and bars with the All Inclusive option, some of which feature poolside terraces. The facilities include a massage room, fitness studio, sauna and meeting room, as well as golf clubs and paddle tennis courts in the vicinity, hiking, cycle track and a long list of other activities to make sure you won't get bored this holiday. A professional entertainment team provides guests with a complete range of sports and leisure activities for all ages. Youngsters will experience a real adventure in the Barcy camp, sleeping in a large tent in the hotel gardens, as well as enjoying numerous fun activities especially thought out for children of all ages. The Occidental Isla Cristina is a fantastic hotel for a dream family holiday on the Costa de la Luz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Isla Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Isla Cristina Hotel Isla Cristina
Isla Cristina Barcelo
Occidental Isla Cristina Costa De La Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing