We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 11 nights ever!!!”
Review of Arena Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arena Center
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best 11 nights ever!!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel is fanstatic i would advise it to anyone. Aparthotel is so clean everyday they clean your room and the cleaners get to the hotel early to clean outside near the pool area to ensure you wake up to a clean hotel. The bar staff are amazing they are so friendly and try and talk to you. The man who works at the outside bar is a nice friendly man and speaks full english, Me and my partner have became really close friends with him and still keep intouch. I would advise you to speak a little bit of spanish before you go tho because the people like to see you making an effort and lets be fare they try speak english. Overall this place is the place to go its got a supermarket 2 mins walk away from the back gate of the hotel but u need to take your key to get back in. When you reach the supermarket either left or right there are lots of bars to choose from. Go stright on at the supermarket to get to the gorgeous shingle beach for those beach lovers. You can book a number of fantastic trips for all ages. i really enjoyed the waterpark it wasnt that bid but lots of things to do, your also allowed to take food in and eat it at the picknik area in the park. In the hotel there is kids entertainment through the day and have got it most nights too. If you go hear i hope you really enjoy your stay at the hotel im sure you will its fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    151
    107
    29
    39
See reviews for
249
80
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just back from a very relaxing week at the Arena Center. This aparthotel was in a very good location for just chilling out and enjoying the very hot sun! It was a quiet stay and all the more enjoyable for that. The studio we had overlooked the path at the back of the hotel. It was very peaceful and provided a pleasant walkway across to the supermarket and the beach front. The room itself was large and well air conditioned and the beds very comfortable. The maid service was excellent and our room was made up and fresh towels provided every day. Staff in the bars and restaurant were friendly and the food was very good. It was not the hugest of choices, but there was always something we liked every night. This hotel may not be for you if you want chips every day!! The pool area is gorgeous. The water lovely to cool down in after enjoying the desert sun on one of the numerous sun beds. No towels left on sunbeds here. The lifeguard will take them away if you walk off and leave them. I do not know if it is usual, but we found that there were a lot of flies about. This was the only thing about the holiday that was not quite so pleasant. There are a lot of trips to go on but we only did Mini Hollywood. A great day out but very long. It was one of the holiday highlights seeing the original filmsets from some great westerns. We followed in Clint Eastwood's footsteps through the saloon doors and watched the shows that are very well done. If you want somewhere to stay that is a short flight away, can guarantee you some wonderful sun and relaxation, you cannot beat this hotel. We will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: If you want a very quiet room ask for one overlooking the walkway at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here late May and the resort is very quiet only really gets busy end of June to mid Sept. We stayed at the Arena on a half board basis. The studios all appear to be located toward the back of the complex with views out toward a path that is solely for walking and another apts pool and its very quiet and pleasant to sit on your spacious balcony. The ground floor rooms have a garden area so that would be nice if you have children.
The room has a small kitchen area with a 2 ring hob, a full kettle,fridge with little freezer section plates, cups and glasses. There are also a couple of pans. You then enter into a separate room which is huge and this has 2 large single beds a large built in double wardrobe and then a sofa which has a pull out bed underneath. It has a large sideboard with lots more storage and a small coffee table. The bathroom has a full bath with a powerful shower and is big. The rooms are spotless as well as everything in exceptionally good condition. The maids come every day and do a fabulous job of keeping everywhere so clean. The rooms operate on a key card system and the rooms all have a/c. The pool area is very clean and there are 2 one indoor and one outdoor, there is also a small gym and sauna. The food was basic with limited choice but the chef did try and cater for the lots of different nationalities. There is a bar and a pool bar (which I dont think opens until end of June) and prices are decent. There is a back door out of complex that a 3 minute walk will take you to a fully stocked supermarket for everything you could need and the beach is a further 2 mins past this. Its all flat so great if you have pram or walking difficulties. Beach is stones but kept clean and the prom runs for miles and has little bars /local sellers/few little shops along the way if you go strolling.Taxis from the aiport(Almeria) around 50 - 60 euro each way we used a pre booked service return and this was much cheaper so search internet for best bargain.Cannot recommend this place highly enough due to its location and how clean and well cared for the complex is. Dont think its suitable though if you want loads going on entertainment wise and english food at the hotel as you would have to go outside for that. There were some wonderful restaurants serving delicious spanish dishes and fresh sangria really close by. We had a truly relaxing stay and really enjoyed this complex.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Just got back to reality after two weeks of manana living. Firstly let me tell you about the Arena Center,very high standard accomodation. we went self catering and we were well pleased with the fully equiped kitchen,only two rings but with oven and grill,microwave and kettle. the bathroom was large enough, the shower very powerful and oh yes girls there is a hair drier.The living area and bedroom were a good size and the beds very comfortable,all this with air conditioning too. I don't know if it was because it was early season but we had maid service every day,and always with a cheerful "hola".
The resort of Roquetas de Mar is a lot bigger than we thought with miles and miles of beaches and promenade. It took an hour to walk from the Arena to the castle,beyond the castle is the marina and harbour for the fishing fleet. On the other side of the harbour is yet another stretch of promenade and beach.
If you turn inland at the castle you will find a very busy town with a busy high street. Back to the promenade tho,the resort was very quiet for the time of year which didn't bother us and everything is at the manana pace,as a result we didn't have any problem finding a table anywhere for the evening meal and the locals are very freindly.
There are more Spanish holidaymakers in Roquetas than in other resorts around Spain and we didn't see many Brits but that gave it more of a Spanish feel if that does'nt sound too obvious.
All in all a chilled out fortnight and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank latic_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Firstly, we must say that this is a very nice hotel. However, we have just returned from a short visit of 4 days as we mostly went to this area to see an old friend who lives nearby. The hotel was almost empty. We only saw about 3 or 4 other couples. We had a drink in the hotel bar one night, and the poor girl behind the bar must have been bored out of her head as we were the only ones in there, and did not see anyone else use it at any other time during our stay. We had an apartment which was fine. Nice and clean and had a good sized balcony. We booked self catering but used the restaurant for breakfast on the first morning. Not good at all, only a very limited choice and the few fried eggs available had clearly been displayed for sometime. Not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Very expensive too at 7.25 euro each! We had breakfast in the apartment for the other days! Not hot enough for us to use outdoor pool so we used the tiny indoor pool as it was free, but would have liked to use the jacuzzi but there was a charge of 12 euros for half hour. Never come across being charged at any other hotels we have been to. Another downside - the TV in apartment - only Sky News in English, a few Spanish and at least 20 channels in German!!
The whole resort area around the hotel was also empty. In fact it was like a ghost town, with the bars and restaurants empty!! Thank goodness the weather was kind to us, so we were able to walk along the beach. I'm sure that June to September Roquetas is quite a nice place to visit, but any other time, forget it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laneylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We visited the hotel Arena center in early July. We spent two beautiful weeks. Comfortable studio on the fifth floor with a nice pool view. Very convenient surmarket close. Beach, bus stops and bars nearby. This beautiful part is exhausted.
About the hotel is not responsible for the four stars - air-condition run only a few hours a day, started at 19.30 .The gym include only 2 unit. Animation only for Spanish people from 5-10 years old. Full bore for foreigners. For two weeks we havent seen to wash lounges and pool area, disgusting toilets. Never again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank petar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed last week of August, first week of September, Halfboard.
This is the 2nd year that we have stayed at the Arena Center, and the 7th year that we have come back to Roquetas.
On arrival, our room was not ready, but this happened last year, so we travelled prepared in clothes that were adaptable on arrival (¾ shorts and a light shirt). The reception staff were very helpful and stored our cases, and told us they would let us know when our room was ready. So we sat poolside with a beer and let our holiday begin.
The room was large and air conditioned, with a small kitchenette (hob & full size fridge), large bathroom with shower over bath and superb bedroom with 2 ¾ beds and sofa bed. We were on the second floor which from the balcony gave a view over a park / pathway which runs the length of strip. Last year stayed in ground floor apartment which meant you had more room on the grassed area but looked in to the bushes that surround the hotel. The rooms are cleaned daily and the maids are the best I have known in any hotel.
From the rear exit of the hotel, you are 2 minutes away from a well stocked and friendly supermarket, which stocks just about everything you need.
We don’t tend to eat in the hotel much, had breakfast some mornings which consisted of enough to suit most (cereals, toast & breads, cold meats & cheese, fruit, yogurts, and cooked breakfasts.) as much coffee and fruit juices as you wanted. The evening meal, when we had it in the hotel, had a wide variety of meats, fish, pasta and rice and served from 7-30 until 10-30, we just don’t eat that early when on holiday, so on odd occasion called in before we set off out for the night.
There is a great tapas bar opposite the tabac, under the Bahia Serena “Bar Tapas Cullar” which was cheap and served great food. Ayda is a good restaurant with very large portions, so beware we generally had a pizza to share.
We spent many a night in Café Bar Scotia, just watching the world pass by, Jesús & Roberto are great waiters and always remember us when we return, year upon year.
Back to the hotel:- Poolside is well kept with a lifeguard who keeps everybody in check, we did see him removing towels from sun beds that were left as people passed through for breakfast. The pool area is well kept, with loads of sun beds. We did not join in the animation / games but that’s just us.
At night there is entertainment that is geared for the Spanish but this is Spain, and this is where they choose to holiday. Go to Blackpool or Benidorm if you want English entertainment. To round it up this is a great hotel learn a little Spanish before you travel (hello, good morning, yes, thank you, beer) if you try, the locals respect you more than those who just point and shout.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Farr-Duvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roquetas de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Neptuno Hotel
Neptuno Hotel
#6 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Serena
Hotel Bahia Serena
#14 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
553 reviews
1.6 mi away
Estrella de Mar Apartments
Estrella de Mar Apartments
#27 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fenix Family
Hotel Fenix Family
#24 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playaluna Hotel
Playaluna Hotel
#5 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fenix Beach
Apartamentos Fenix Beach
#23 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Center

Property: Arena Center
Address: Paseo Central s/n - Urb Playa Serena, 04740, Roquetas de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Center 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arena Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Roquetas De Mar
Arena Center Hotel
Arena Center Roquetas De Mar, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing