We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arena Center
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great Hotel. Stayed HB. Food was lovely, everything very clean and to a high standard. Pool lovely and clean. Location spot on. not far from the beach. Helpful and courteous staff. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    148
    104
    28
    37
See reviews for
243
76
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed for a week in Arena Centre,1-8 august on a self catering basis(had read reviews about food before,but hey,we enjoy eating out!).Family of 4,2 teenage lads and totally loved the hotel and surrounding bars and restaurants.Hotel was very clean,great apartment with full kitchen,aircon,big bedroom and bathroom.Pool area fantastic,always beds available.Out and about some great places to eat and drink,not expensive or tacky,the spainish owners friendly and Sergio at the Nassau Bar is fantastic.You have to remember this is a typically spainish resort,but we like this!!!Yes,would go back and yes,missing it already!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ísafirði, Vestur-Isafjardarsysla, Iceland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

After a long time of work we would have a nice vacation in relaxing area. We had a nice and relaxing vacation but the room was not as we expected and the food was bad. First when we arrived the room was in bad condition, the wc-button was broken, the door balcony was broken and a lot of bugs. We complained and they fixed it the same day. But we had the bugs all the time and they where big and on the wall too. The food was really bad, we bought breakfast and evening meals for two weeks and we could only eat bread and salat the whole time. We where really disapointed about the hotel and i will not recoment this hotel to anyone. The internet is very expencive and does not allways work. The staff should be more positive. The pool area was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FishermanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roquetas de Mar hotels

Birkenhead
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed from 20/06/13 to 04/07/13, half board in a spacious studio. The holiday price had increased by 20% compared to last year. Unfortunately the Spanish economic situation has led to cost-cutting at the hotel and this is evident in the reduced quality of the food. The breakfast is still okay but the choice and quality of the meat dishes for the evening meals is poor compared to last year. There was a lot of ‘mass catering’ style sliced pork loin, veal and turkey, always in a sauce. Not much fresh meat - griddled or roasted. During our second week hamburgers were on the menu three times (but no fried onions or burger buns). There was still a great choice of fish (including cod, hake, tuna, swordfish, shark and spiny dog-fish), a reasonable choice of vegetables and plenty of salad stuff. Sometimes the cooked food was not very warm. The sweets were a bit disappointing but there was plenty of fresh fruit.
The rest of the facilities at the hotel are as good as ever. The pool area is great with the pool guy Angel on the case whenever anyone tries to bag a sun lounger. The rule is well-enforced so you can usually get a couple of loungers any time. The pool bar was open every afternoon and had tapas on offer, including fresh-griddled sardines.
The hotel was fairly busy with plenty of Spanish families on holiday. It got quite hectic in the dining room at peak times with a queue at the door. So eating early is a wise move if you can do it.
There are still plenty of bars open in the resort with lots of really good tapas on offer and drinks at reasonable prices. The Cullar Tapas Bar, just across from the supermarket, does a drink & tapa for 2 Euros. Try the ‘chorizo al inferno’ – very good.
It was very windy for about eight days during our stay which made the sea too rough for swimming and cooled down the pool. But it was always hot & sunny, even with a wind blowing. Once the wind dropped the temperature climbed very quickly.
We read in the Sol Times (local free paper) that the ‘Playa’ hotel chain is going all-inclusive from next season which will have a big impact on the local bars and restaurants. Let’s hope they can stay in business.
We had a very enjoyable holiday here, as usual. There’s no nightlife to speak of in the resort and the hotel entertainment (Spanish) finishes about midnight, so it’s the perfect place for a relaxing break, not doing too much. It’s just a pity that the food quality in the hotel has slipped a bit.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor studio in Block 1 (e.g. room 1215).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosado99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Arriving 11 juni for 2 weeks stay
Excellent location , short walk from the beach. Many resraurants nearby.
Staff very nice and frendly . Buffet with lot of cources
Rooms very good size and clean and ktchen adequate for short stay. WiFi rather exspencive 15 euro per week in the rooms although it was free in in the reception area

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iramssj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

we have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel, Very clean, good selection of food, B UT it was always cold, Even if we were first in the food was stone cold. so we intened to have salads, which were very fresh and nicely presented. We had only been there 2 days and left our things on the sun lounger around the pool, while we popped to our room, when we came back our things had been removed,after looking around we went to reception and found that the pool assisstant had removed them as you are not allowed to save sun loungers, I explained we had been there all morning but was told a notice was on the door informing us about saving sun loungers, we managed to find the notice, which was a bit English writing amongst all the Spanish writing, ok we were wrong but they need to put it so everyone can see it. There was entertainment each evening but all this was in Spanish,Found the Spanish very very rude,they would just push you , or walk into you if you were in there way, Even the childred were the same.
Went to one paper shop, bought a few items, the assisstant never even looked at me, let alone tell me how much i had to pay,Rented a safe which was 4
euros a day, i thought this was a rip off. I must save the beds and the towells were changed every other day, could not fault the clealiness, same for the swimming pool, cleaned every day.
This was our second visit but first visit to this hotel Go again, no thank you, once bitten twice shy,

Room Tip: go for view over pool we were in room 1122 and found it easy to get to and lift near door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrishousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Arrived for a weeks break on 13th June. Initial impressions were very good.
Reception - staff perhaps needed to be a bit more welcoming.you need to pay for a safe in your room. WiFi is free in reception although a little slow.
Rooms-very good size rooms with omfortable clean beds. Kitchen area quite adequate for basic needs. Balcony has a small table and four chairs.maids clean daily and will change towels as required.
Bathroom had a bath as well as a shower, shower gel and soap given free and powerful hair dryer.
Poolside - plenty of sunbeds plus patio area with tables and chairs. Unfortunately during our stay we experienced a weekend where a football team and their families descended on the hotel and completely took over with loud voices and were not going to stop for anyone. Poolside the next day was in a disgusting state and was reported but still was not cleaned.
Dining room - the staff were marvellous, although the clearing of tables took a while. Food was quite basic a hot or cold buffet being available.
Beach area was cleaned daily, sun loungers and umbrellas were available for 4 Euros each (two beds ,one umbrella).
The main town of Roquetas was quiet. Many of the shops and bars were either closed or up for sale. We were told that this was due to the fact that many hotels were now offering the All inclusive option.

All in all a good holiday!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Glyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roquetas de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Neptuno Hotel
Neptuno Hotel
#5 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.4 mi away
Estrella de Mar Apartments
Estrella de Mar Apartments
#26 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fenix Family
Hotel Fenix Family
#24 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Aparthotel Aguadulce
Aparthotel Aguadulce
#3 of 5 in Aguadulce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#6 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Serena
Hotel Bahia Serena
#15 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Center

Property: Arena Center
Address: Paseo Central s/n - Urb Playa Serena, 04740, Roquetas de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Center 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arena Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Roquetas De Mar
Arena Center Hotel
Arena Center Roquetas De Mar, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing