We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My personal review of hotel "Playasol", R. de Mar”
Review of Playasol Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playasol Spa Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My personal review of hotel "Playasol", R. de Mar”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Last year, we decided to spend some nice time in Andalucía. We spent 11 very nice days in a hotel for which I can say that I (and my family too) really enjoyed. People who were working at reception (desk) were so kind to us. If you want to know how the pools look like, they are very nice - they even have two slides (one opened and one tunnel). The breakfast starts at 7:30 I think, lunch at 1:00, and dinner at 7:30.

Shortcomings (not so good things): if you have a room looking on north-east (Playalinda and pool), you'll see on your left side gray terrain, and those are greenhouses (El Ejido and other nearby villages); when you get out of hotel, and walk to the Roquetas centre (this is for night time), there is a lack of light; stuff (cleaners and people working in restaurant) usually don't know English.

Room Tip: Rooms looking on north-east look on greenhouses (gray, I think very inadequate), but they have morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arsenije-Arsic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playasol Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Guests,
First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.
We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.
Kind regards
EusebiaMartínez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    377
    185
    84
    78
See reviews for
616
171
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Egaa, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Got an excellent deal for a one week stay at Playasol, HB with one drink included at evening meals. The hotel has a fantastic outside area with a very large pool, minigolf, clubhouse for mini/maxiclub, a pirate bar and outside evening entertainment in high season. The poolarea is very well kept and cleaned several times udring the day.
We got a a room on the 5th floor facing the poolarea and the mediterranean. Very nice views.
As our daughter likes participating in the minidisco and watching the evening shows we had no problems with spanish being the only spoken language.
What I do mind though was rude behaviour of bar staff. At two occasions I ordered Mojitos and Carajillo. Apparantly I didn't pronounce it properly with the result of the entire staff laughing at me (not with me). This I do NOT like.
Otherwise hotel staff was polite- but not overly friendly..
All in all we were satisfied from the money we paid for the stay, but will probably not return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mosj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playasol Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.We will of course take note of the points that tells us to improve them. We hope us a second chance.We hope that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.
Kindregards
Eusebia Martínez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We visited on the 10th June for 11 nights. 4 adults and 4 kids ages 1-5. This is the worst all inclusive hotel I've ever stayed in. Unless your Spanish I would avoid this hotel at all costs. We arrived at 3pm on the first day and by the time we were checked in at 3.10 pm we were told that lunch had finished at 3 o clock and the kitchen was closed. There was no food available at all until 7.30pm at dinner! We had to leave the hotel and buy lunch! Not the best start to an all inclusive holiday. The pool bar was closed for the duration of our holiday and only opened on the last day as appearantly their season on starts on the 20th June. We should have been made aware of this before booking that all facilities advertised were not available. We had to trek into the hotel bar from the pool when drinks were needed. In relation to the food it was appaling. They really only cater for Spanish clients which was the majority and the choice was incredibly poor. Only one chef on the hot food cook to order counter and despite the restaurant opening at 7.30pm for dinner there were many nights when this counter was not opened until 7.50pm. Because there was such a queue at this point the meat was under cooked and the chef would ignore you despite being the next in the queue and serve the Spanish clients! After the 2nd night one by one our party came down with severe vomiting and diarrhoea . This carried on for a full week with all eight of us sick. We heard from other guests of other clients being sick too and when we inquired to the manager on duty her response to us was appaling! One of the bedrooms for 2 adults and a child was incredible small. With 3 beds there was no room to walk around. Needless to say I will not be back, I've stayed in different all inclusive hotels around the world and without doubt this was the worst. Be warned!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Doublec2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playasol Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guests,
I would like to thank you for your comments. Thanks to your suggestions we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most importantly the quality and friendly service we provide.
You arrived at the hotel at ten past three and before checking in, the receptionist called the restaurant to check if buffet was open. Unfortunately, the buffet had been withdrawn. You were informed that from eleven am until seven pm crisps and ice creams are available and from 5 pm until 7 pm snacks and sandwiches are available in the restaurant.
In reference to the opening of the bar of the swimming pool, we had published this information in our brochure and on our web page. The swimming pool bar is only open in high season due to weather conditions.
Regarding the restaurant we accomplished a 11 day cycle of varied food; different types of meat, fish, vegetables, soups, stews, paellas, fideuas, crudités and homemade desserts, and the hot food cook was available at all times. Our cooks are always ready to replace the food that has finished, if not with the same product, with a similar one. Also, I would like to mention that the grill opens at 7:30 pm and our staff has no preferences with the nationality of our guests.
When you informed that some of you suffered from vomiting and diarrhea, we offered a special diet but you refused it. We were not informed that other clients were sick.
Regarding the size of the room, we believe the room we gave you was suitable and comfortable enough for you to enjoy your stay with us.
We regret not covering your expectations and we will be delighted if you offer us the opportunity to return to have you back in any of our establishments.

Yours Sincerely,

Eusebia Martínez
Gerente Playasol Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roquetas de Mar hotels

Los Montesinos, Spain
Level Contributor
216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014


After waiting 40 minutes in heat, under a glass roof without air con and the water dispenser out of order we were able to book in. This is the first reception not to have any tourist information, maps etc. and I was told to go to the tourist office.
On arrival at room I found that the door would not fully open and I had to squeeze in. I admit I'm a bit tubby. The room was clean but extremely small.
Unfortunately the restaurant left a lot to be desired. The food was from over cooked to burnt. At breakfast there was just one cook frying the bacon and eggs doing the omelettes and crepes, with long queues. I tried to mention this to the manager but he just walked off.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BrianMeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balsicas, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel areas, rooms, staff and food was excellent, it had one of the best Spa's that we have used in an hotel complex (2 saunas, steam room, ice room, cold steam room, swimming pool, relaxation room, 2 hot jacuzzis, hot and cold quench pools and more).
Although as it was early April, it catered mainly for the Spanish pensioners and did not have any music or entertainment for British clients. Also most of the pool areas where not open, although the hotel where starting to clean the various areas as we where leaving.
When the outside areas are ready and assuming the entertainment will get better as the season progresses, this will be a good 4 star rated hotel.
Anyone going to Roquetas will need to rely heavily on their hotel and facilities, as the beaches are poor (very shingley) and general local entertainment is not good, perhaps the local council needs to invest more to help their tourist industry.
We felt this hotel was excellent value for money at an early out of season rate of 59 euros per night for a couple, including full board and wine with our meals.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roylps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playasol Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guests,
First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Yours Sincerely,
Eusebia Martínez
Playasol Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOU
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Good: great food, nice beach close to hotel, lively neighborhood, various facilities (pools, water slides, mini golf, playgrounds for kids, animations ...

Bad: no sleep on Friday and Saturday nights until 3-4 am because of extremely loud music from a nearby bar, insufficient number of elevators, staff is unwilling to sort any issue which exceeds their usual daily routine, hotel needs serious refurbishment (ants in the room, broken terrace door...)

Room Tip: Lower floor, away from beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talicni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playasol Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Yours sincerely,

Eusebia Martínez
Gerente Playasol Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just arrived home from a 4 night stay at The Playasol Spa Hotel. We booked through Monarch Holidays and had half board. Our room was fine but a little small, it was clean and the beds were comfy, the shower was amazing! The food at the hotel was adequate, the selection wasn't great....same thing every morning for breakfast.....there was a choice of hot or cold though, we had lunch rather than evening meal as we preferred to eat 'out' in the evenings. The staff were always cheerful and helpful and when our transfer to the airport didn't materialise they arranged a taxi within 2 minutes. The pool area was lovely but we particularly liked the beach........always clean and the sun beds were sooooo comfy. Would I return to this Hotel......unfortunately no.....the reason being I wasn't very impressed with Roquetas De Mar. There just wasn't enough to do at the resort and the restaurants all served the same foods......after 4 days we had seen all there was to see.

Room Tip: All I can say is we stayed on the 6th floor and had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethany56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playasol Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions,

Eusebia Martínez
Gerente Playasol Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roquetas de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#7 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Evenia Zoraida Park
Evenia Zoraida Park
#3 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playaluna Hotel
Playaluna Hotel
#5 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mediterraneo Park
Mediterraneo Park
#13 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Sabinal
Hotel Best Sabinal
#9 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
6.3 mi away
Playadulce Hotel
Playadulce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Aguadulce
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playasol Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playasol Spa Hotel

Property: Playasol Spa Hotel
Address: Avenida Las Gaviotas S/N, 04740, Roquetas de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#16 Luxury Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Playasol Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playasol Spa Hotel is a 4-star hotel in Roquetas de Mar, located by the beach at the seafront promenade, just 800 yards from the Playa Serena golf course. Treat yourself to a relaxing and fun holiday with your whole family and enjoy the complete facilities and nearby leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playasol Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playasol Hotel Roquetas De Mar
Playasol Roquetas De Mar
Playasol Spa Hotel Roquetas De Mar, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing