We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is not a four star hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ALEGRIA Colonial Mar
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The hotel is not a four star hotel.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is not a four star hotel. We stayed here for one week in the beginning for July.

The hotel itself is nice and has a good standard, but please check the air-condition in your room before checking in. The pool area is great and it has a lot of sun beds. What really brought the whole experience down for us, was the service in the hotel and the food.

The reception personal was rude and spoke very little english. We asked them about the area, and about restaurants and bars, but got very little help back. Two of the nights we asked them to reserve a table for us in one of the areas restaurants, and they forgot both of the times. Even though they promised us to do so. The barkeepers and the waiters in the restaurant speak very little english.

The pool area is really nice, and the hotel has a good beach, but there are no sun beds on the beach.

The gym was closed during our stay, even tough it was in July during the high season.

We've ordered all inclusive, but we shouldn't have. The food is generally boring and cold. It varies very little from day to day and from lunch to dinner. Its also a lot of flies in and around the food. It was so bad that we ended up eating out most of the nights.

As a pluss side, the hotels staff is really good at organizing activities like yoga, water gym, football and volleyball. And the general cleanness in the rooms are good.

All in all we would not stay here again, and we would not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mareliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATH H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ALEGRIA Colonial Mar, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your opinión with all trip advisors surfers.

It’s our pleasure report you that the problems with the air conditioning have been solved out.

We grate your comments about our animation team and about the pool area and the beach.

According to a local law, it’s forbidden in this area to hotels having sun beds on the beach, but close to us, you’ll find some of them at a very little price per day.

About the gym, we are currently changing the machines… and that is taken us longer as we thought.

We are sorry about the rude treat that you could have received from our reception staff. We are working on it.Unfortunately the food is always subject to taste. Every day, several hundred people eat at our hotel and in our opinion they all have a diferent feeling about this topic. We offer a wide assortment of fresh vegetables for salads as well as different choices of meat, fish and pasta.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    107
    138
    124
    141
See reviews for
318
112
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had read a little about this hotel before arrival, but decided to make up our own mind. At first, as others has said. The hotel has a really impressive look when you arrive. Both inside an outside at the bar/reception area. When we stood in line to get our room the lady at the desk used about 20(!!!) min to check in the first (!!) family.( We arrived at night, almost midnight.) Finally it was our turn, but no, we had to wait for the room. No explanation, nothing. We, and about four other rooms had to wait about an hour before we could get our room. Finally we thought, we could relax. In the bathroom there was no towels. And i noticed the toilet was running. It didnt work!Also the tiny fridge at the room was broken in pieces. Went to the desk to ask them to send up someone to fix the toilet. We had to wait for the next day. Fair enough. I decided to close the door to the bathroom, so we didnt hear the sounds form the toilet. But wait, the door was stuck. The man in the reception came up and had to pick the lock. This obviously wasnt the first time either, because the handle had a hole in it already. We complained about the toilet 4 times. Nothing happend before our guide from our trip agency talked to them. After that the toilet was fixed in about 2 min. After this everything was so and so.
And i almost forgot, the glass at the balcony was starting to break!

The food is not to much to brag about. Somethings was good, other things really bad.
The staff at the hotel ignore you, unless you are spanish.
They sometimes looked at me in the bar, but turned around to serve others first.
The cleaning staff was always smiling and very polite.

You have the beach 50 meters from the hotel which is great.
Grand Plaza a short walk from the hotel, where you can shop til you drop.

Almost no one speak english, be aware of that!

They have a lounge/bar with a animation crew.
But everything happens in spanish.
So i would certainly not recommend this hotel if you travel with kids.

As a fact, I would never recommend this hotel at all!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roquetas de Mar hotels

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel is very stunning as we approached from the road. Inside everything is smart and very clean. Our room had a complementary fridge and safe [I've had to pay extra for these at other 4 start hotels]. The staff were all very pleasant too. The hotel appears to be a Spanish hotel that Spanish people holiday at. It was quite refreshing in some ways that English wasn't naturally spoken and no English TV channels in the room. As for the restaurant the food was, very samey for the 3 lunches and 3 dinners my wife and I ate. I got the feel that the food was brought in pre-prepared and some of that reconstituted.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iamyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Very nice hotel on the beach, although a bit remote from anything else.
Good variety of food but not hot enough, found the microwave though!!
Staff very pleasant, I think we were just about the only english people in the hotel but that did not bother us.
Nice pool with jacuzzi on all the time, did feel as though they were packing up around us as they were due to close as we departed, bars closed, outside table chairs and sunbeds slowly vanished !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you're looking for a holiday for a family then this hotel is for you. Lots and lots of other families with children so it was convenient for us. Quite a few kids clubs and games room for children to enjoy.

99% of the people there are Spanish so sometimes language was a barrier and I felt when at the bar the waiters would serve other people before us because we didn't speak Spanish. We were one of two Brits on the resort so you won't find any drunken louts!

We thought the food was of good quality and very healthy. Good range of food but they seem to like their fish and pork as this was on the menu everyday. If you're a veggie, they have a good selection of veg food too.

The rooms were fairly big with Queen size beds which was convenient for families with children. Maids would come in everyday and clean bins, take towels but never took used mugs, glasses etc. Very helpful and friendly but again, sometimes a language barrier.

The pools are of good size and they do have classes and workout you can join whilst in the pool which can be fun. We had to go down early to place our towels on the sunbeds to "reserve" them otherwise they would get taken quickly. Also on some days there would be parasol wars where someone would take yours and you wouldn't know who took it so we ended up just buying our own which cost 10 euros.

Location was good - 30 second walk to the beach but don't expect a sandy beach. It was a shale beach so wear appropriate foot wear. Lots of locals doing BBQs in the evening so best to go in the evening as there's a great atmosphere. There's a promenade along the beach where people do a lot of walking, jogging, cycling.

15mins walk away from the hotel is a shopping complex with a variety of UK and Spanish shops which is convenient along with a supermarket.

Overall, a very enjoyable experience, would highly recommend to friends and families.

Room Tip: On some sites you can pay extra to have a sea view but every single room faces the sea. If you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel was ok, I was staying there with my friends for a week and we had All Inclusive. The stuff there was very helpful and kind, the room was ok, but air condition was very bad, and in the lobby was very hot. Maid service was also very good. The food there was also ok, not the best but I always could find something that I like. Animation was every day the same. The beach near by the hotel was very nice and in the hotel they have a little shop where you can find everything for the beach but it was open only few hours in the morning and few hours in a evening. If you are family with the kids then it`s the best solution for vacation in Roquetas De Mar.

Room Tip: Check the air condition if it`s working before your accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerSok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

we were there this september, spend a nice holiday. it was pleasant stay on the beach, we got a nice room and a wide bed and a lot of sun all the stay. we made some trips - to granada, guadix, almeria, ... we will come again to andaluzia for sure

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roquetas de Mar hotels
3.0 mi away
Playadulce Hotel
Playadulce Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aguadulce
695 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mediterraneo Park
Mediterraneo Park
#13 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
1,192 reviews
3.5 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#6 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Playasol Spa Hotel
Playasol Spa Hotel
#16 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
921 reviews
3.8 mi away
Playaluna Hotel
Playaluna Hotel
#5 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
1,439 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Best Sabinal
Hotel Best Sabinal
#9 of 33 in Roquetas de Mar
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Colonial Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Colonial Mar

Property: ALEGRIA Colonial Mar
Address: Plaza de Malta, 1 | Urbanización Las Salinas, 04740, Roquetas de Mar, Spain (Formerly Hotel ATH Las Salinas Park)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ALEGRIA Colonial Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel in Roquetas de Mar, located on the seafront and with special services for family holidays : swimming pools, kids club , food , wifi ... Thought for travelers looking for tranquility and comfort just steps from the Mediterranean , this complete hotel in front of the beach of Roquetas is perfect to enjoy the best sunset of the coast of Almeria with all amenities at your fingertips. Rest on a beach hotel in Roquetas with full facilities and a first class personal attention . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your ALEGRIA Colonial Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Mar Hotel Roquetas De Mar
Colonial Mar Roquetas De
ALEGRIA Colonial Mar Roquetas De Mar, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing