We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, big rooms and perfect location”
Review of Don Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Angel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The room was huge and on the top of that the terrace was even bigger. The beach is right in front. The swimming pool is small but since there are not many rooms is sufficient. You can hire at the beach for a small fee umbrellas and sun loungers (3,5 Euros per person per day, 21 for the week).

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JavierBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We enjoyed the Hotel Don Angel because of it´s location right across the promenade from the beach. The beach is lovely has small fine stones which are easy to brush off. The sunbeds and parasol were 7 euros for 2 people and you could reserve them for 1 week. They put mattresses on top of the sunbeds which made it very comfortable to sleep. The sea very clean and transparent. Lovely !!
The bedroom: Very large beds, the largest i have ever come across and extremely comfortable mattresses, we slept very well. Balcony with side sea views perfect. Bathroom adequate, good working strong shower with plenty of hot wáter, towels changed everyday and plenty of room, very modern bathroom.
The cleaning ladies cleaned the room very well.

Breakfast, there were lots of things to choose from, hot and cold. With a chef making crepes and omelettes, fried eggs everyday. Didnt like the machine with the fruit juices, they were very artificial and sour. However they brought fresh orange juice out most days. Couldnt really fault the breakfast as there we were given a wide choice of foods, there were fresh fruits too.

Thought that the cost of the parking was a bit excessive, 18 euros a day we were charged. Didnt understand the need to charge that 13 euros would have been sufficient. We couldnt park outside the hotel as there werent any spaces, which in August is normalas its peak time.

The people were polite and friendly but felt that at the reception desk we could have been given more information as to where to go and what to see. We asked for a map and were given a black and white photocopy of the área around the hotel, it was so small you almost needed a magnifying glass to be able to read it, so that wasnt any good. We found out there was a market close by every Thursday, but again the hotel did not disclose this.

The prices of the drinks and food were very reasonable at the hotel 2 euros for a beer etc. We stayed bed and breakfast and that was fine. I wouldnt recommend half board, the cost is 15 euros per person and from reading the recent reviews am happy we decided not to. Eating out is incredibly cheap, we ate at a bar along the promenade for 10 euros, which included 2 drinks and 4 tapas. In the urbinisation área there is a very good chinese restaurant where we ate for 23 euros including drinks. We found a very good tapas bar called "La Gamba" we paid 16 euros for drinks and loads of tapas.

I would recommend a visit to Cabo de Gata there are lots of beautiful calas to see, but be careful with the chiringuitos on the beach as they are very expensive. We ate at a place called Carboneras and that was more reasonable.

The hotel was quite quiet including the swimming pool área, the swimming pool looked smaller than the photo on booking.com but that didnt matter as we are beach people and never used it. There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool área and they barbequed food everyday. There were also many barbeques on the beach that families would gather round to make.

All in all a pleasant stay and we would use the hotel again, it was very convenient for what we wanted. Please try to lower the charge for the parking would be my only complaint.

Room Tip: rooms on the 2nd floor are quiet overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janeymadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed a weekend at this hotel on half board basis.
The room was large and bed was great. The bathroom had probably the worst grouting know to man but was sizeable and clean.
The service was very friendly and relaxed.
The location is great - right next to the beach, ideal for evening strolls
The pool was small, but ok (I my kids would have been disappointed if they had come)
The food was poor, it was a mistake getting half board. The breakfast would have just scraped acceptable, but cheap meats and cheap jams...really...
Diner was simply poor - tiny selection of badly cooked food - eg only two veg per night - half frozen carrots and processed potato (cold and tasteless) - the meats were all dry and unpleasant.
Strangely their opening hours were uncomfortably short for spain - the first night diner was 20h -> 21.30h, we entered at 21h and at 21.30 the lights were being turned off....
So in short - great location / great bed / nice people - just eat elsewhere...

Room Tip: if you can there are only a few rooms facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattlovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May. It is ideally situated on the promenade, and all rooms have at least a side sea view. Loved lounging on the hotels sunbeds around the pool, overlooking the fantastic beach.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, and it was very good.
Plenty to suit most people, with meats, cheeses, fruits and even bacon and eggs. The bedroom was lovely, and the bed is probably the biggest one that I have ever slept in.
We loved it because the majority of the clients were spanish , which we love.Not for us the 'brits abroad' types of hotel.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fifiHorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

1. Smoke Smell: The room we got smelled of heavy smoking, even opening the balcony to get some fresh sea air did not help. As we are non-smokers, we asked to have the room changed.
(we were told that all rooms are non-smoking, but they cannot control the guests).
2. Jammed door: The next room had its door jammed. We thought at first there was a problem with the key, but after we went down to the reception (again!) to change the key, we just had to REALLY push the door to get in.
3. Not the right room type: When we finally got in, this room had a view on the GARAGE when we had asked and paid for a "partial sea view".
4. EMPTY mini bar: Final great touch to this hotel was that our room mini bar was completly empty.
Overall, very much unsatisfies with this kind of service. Not a 4* quality. I chose this hotel based on good reviews and because of the sea view. Very surprised and disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Evolventa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed here for a few nights last year and found the hotel to be very good.
We had a corner room overlooking the beach and road, it was massive, probably one of the biggest rooms we have stayed in as a family. It had a hall with coat hangers, a good size bathroom and a massive main family room with a double and two singles.
The hotel has a big atrium, a smaller "locals" bar serving beers and tapas. A large restaurant and large separate bar area overlooking pool.
The pool was quite large, although beware it becomes quite deep.
The breakfast was a typical Spanish buffet style with plenty of choice.
We went to a fantastic western style theme park / zoo (no rides) called Oasis, well worth a visit, although you need a car to get there

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank garyandmandy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Room was big and the bed was so large my wife and I thought of using the mobile phone to communicate. Joking!! It is maybe the room Bennymalaga reviewed earlier.There certainly was a good selection of food at breakfast,but being mainly catering for the Spanish pensioners, breakfast certainly isn't a quiet affair.Clean and new and near the beach,although the weather while we were there was extremely windy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nevmBolton_le_Sands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roquetas de Mar hotels
3.3 mi away
Neptuno Hotel
Neptuno Hotel
#6 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
762 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#7 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,644 reviews
3.6 mi away
Playaluna Hotel
Playaluna Hotel
#9 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Best Sabinal
Hotel Best Sabinal
#8 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
2,235 reviews
3.1 mi away
Playadulce Hotel
Playadulce Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aguadulce
786 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arena Center
Arena Center
#21 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Angel

Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 04740, Roquetas de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#13 Luxury Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range: £41 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Don Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Don Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Angel Hotel Roquetas De Mar
Don Angel Roquetas De Mar, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing