We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice family hotel”
Review of Playaluna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playaluna Hotel
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here in July 2014 with husband and two children under five years old. The hotel is very clean and the pool side is fantastic for children. Was very impressed with the lifeguards since they kept a close eye on the youngster and didn´t allow any foolery on the water slides. Breakfast buffet was lovely but the dinner buffet was just okay since everything was cooked a little bit to much. The location is fantastic, quiet and at the beach. Overall, lovely hotel for families with lovely staff. Will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Omarsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaluna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time in sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your kind words. For all the staff it is a whole satisfaction to know that we have reached your high expectative.
We are very thankful for you commentaries and we will forward them to the Hotel departments.
We appreciate you had a nice time at the hotel, since our first wish is to provide you our best service as much as we can.
We hope to have you back next year at our Hotel or at any Hotel Playa.
Meanwhile, we will keep up working in order to improve day by day.
Best regards,
Ramón Nieto
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel. The location is just what we wanted. Close to the beach (literally on the beach) and enough restaurants and shops around. Public transport right outside the door if you want to explore further. This is a very big hotel and I have to say all the staff have it running like clockwork. Very effective, pleasant & helpful staff. We stayed Bed & Breakfast and have to say it was one of the best buffet breakfasts we have experienced. I could genuinely not think of one thing that wasn't available. Totally recommend the freshly made omelettes cooked for you personally. Definitely everything you should need no matter what your taste. As people say in other reviews some rooms are small but not tiny. We upgraded when we got there to an amazing room with a view of both pool and sea.
We didn't have a kettle or cups but asked at reception and they gave us everything we needed. (No Charge). Rooms cleaned every day.
This hotel does not directly cater for the average English speaking tourist (i.e. no real foreign language skills :-) but the staff really do everything they can do understand your needs. Lovely surround areas with plenty of coastline for strolls.
Cannot wait to return!
Thank you every one at Playaluna :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank no1spacechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaluna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

RESPUESTA DE LA CRITICA CON ENCABEZADO:
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time in sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your kind words. For all the staff it is a whole satisfaction to know that we have reached your high expectative.
We are very thankful for you commentaries and we will forward them to the Hotel departments.
We hope to have you back next year at our Hotel or at any Hotel Playa, Meanwhile, we will keep up working in order to improve day by day.
Best regards,
Ramón Nieto
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hotel is very clean, staff work extremely hard, especially in the restaurant. All very polite. We had an apartment (room 506). Really surprised at the size of it. Maid came in daily. You will need to take a kettle with you though. Food was really lovely, something there for everyone, although puddings were much the same on a daily basis ! Did not matter what time of the day you went down to the pool, there were always sun beds available. Towels would be removed if laid out before 9am, but this was never ever a problem. Plenty of restaurants, bars, and supermarkets near hotel. Predominately Spanish hotel but this was not a problem for us at all, in fact quite nice. The beach was very clean and shingled. Never busy up the hotel end. Would definitely return to this hotel. Stayed all inclusive and did not want for anything.

Room Tip: Room 506 is a good room. You can see beach and local area, but no noise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaluna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind commentary. We are glad to know that we have fulfilled your expectatives.
I will forward your kind words to the rest of the staff.
We hope to see you back next summer at Playa Luna Hotel or any .Playa Hotel. In the meantime we will keep working to improve day by day

Best regards,

Ramon Nieto
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family consisting of 3 Adults & 2 Children visited this hotel from 19-26 July. There are good points and bad points to this hotel. Well the good things are the hotel is spotless, the cleaners work very hard all throughout the day and the restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was good and they kept our apartment very clean. The reception staff were friendly, but their english was not very good. There was absolutely no information given in english & even the entertainment staff do not bother even trying to address the english residence at all. The entertainment was really bad and was on very late in the evening. It was not clear also what was included in the Allinclusive option we had and we had to keep asking all of the time, which was abit annoying. The hotel was situated right on the beach which was really nice, but was not sandy and the sea was very rough, not for young children. There was not many english people there at all, mainly Spanish with lots of children. Some were really nice, but others really loud and arrogant. Best thing for me was the Jacuzzi's, so relaxing and also the fact there were no cats there at all, as I have a cat phobia. All in all we had a nice relaxing time at a very clean hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor overlooking the pool were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JCORN29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaluna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for your commentary and sharing your experience with us.
Secondly, I would like to inform you that the reception staff is skilled in languages and that within the staff we count with two French translators that speak both English and German and an English receptionist. Moreover, I am aware that we have all the Hotel information in various languages, including in English, available in reception, from the All in other useful information.
Nevertheless, I will forward your kind words to the rest of the hotel departments as well.
All in all, we are glad to know hat you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope to see you again next summer in one of our Playa Hotels

Best regards,
Ramon Nieto
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were there from 14.7. to 21.7. during our summer holiday. All were very good, hotel was nice, the room was clean, food was very good. The pool was nice but I think that it was small for this big hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were a lot of children so that I think it is very convenient hotel for family with children. The sea was nice but little cold for us:)The beach was very good. I think that Roquetas de mar is a very nice locality. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuciaTsuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaluna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time in sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your kind words. For all the staff it is a whole satisfaction to know that we have reached your high expectative.
We are very thankful for you commentaries and we will forward them to the Hotel departments.
We hope to have you back next year at our Hotel or at any Hotel Playa, Meanwhile, we will keep up working in order to improve day by day.
Best regards,
Ramón Nieto
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It wouldn't have been our choice of hotel but we took our grandsons with us so we needed children's activities. The room we had was clean and pleasantly adequate although we didn't have a view of any description which I had asked for months ago. My daughter and family had an apartment which was very nice but unfortunately we were quite a way from each other - we had requested rooms together. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The food in the dining room was very good with a wide selection of hot and cold buffets.

There was evening entertainment but starting at 10.15pm, which suits the Spanish but not always convenient to others. Still, there was a limited choice of tv programmes, but - like most other Spanish hotels - they don't provide anything in English other than CNN news. It seems as though every other language throughout the world is catered for except the UK. I was surprised to see one reviewer saying that they had to pay for their tv - this is not correct.

Wi-Fi was free for one hour a day. We didn't succeed in getting any signal during our 5 day stay so gave up. If you're going to book an apartment, take a kettle as they don't provide one! We also found it useful to take a sharp knife, dish cloth and tea towel.

I think the most disappointing thing was the lack of outside space around the pool. The loungers were touching in lines and there was hardly room to move as everybody seemed to be on top of you. One thing which was pleasing was that they were very strict about putting towels out on the loungers before 9am when the pool opened. They were taken away. Just wish they were as strict about the dress code in the dining room during the evening meal. There was a notice on the door but it was completely ignored. Such a shame as some people made no effort whatsoever to look decent.

Other than that, the children really enjoyed themselves and that was the aim.

Room Tip: Pot luck, we asked for 4 specific things months ago and got none. We wanted twin beds, got a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaluna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Dear guest,

First of all I want to express my gratitude and say thank you to share your experience with us.
We hope to have you back next year at our Hotel or at any Hotel Playa, Meanwhile, we will keep up working in order to improve day by day.

Best regards,

Ramón Nieto
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at playaluna , hotel is spotless rooms cleaned every day, staff lovely polite and helpful , the rooms are small and if you want t.v need to pay.also there is no kettle so if you like a cuppa in your room take a kettle , there is a small fridge .there is a supermarket opposite with fresh milk, we had half board so got fresh baguettes and ham from supermarket for lunch . There is a good choice at Buffett ,salads fish chicken all of good quality , puddings are always same in hotels lots mushy soft mousse ....did have profiteroles one night !! Lots fresh fruit ..although lots of shouting noisy children , may be better if children could have eating times between 630-800 ,because it is hard to enjoy nice meal with the noise . We just ate and left ASAP ....The resort is very family orientated quite quiet ... The pool area leads straight on to the beach but it's shale no sand ,there are sunbeds to hire at 4 euro per person per day .. We got taxi from airport after a bad experience in Egypt sat waiting for drop off to hotel for 3 hrs !! Cost 50 euro each way and on reflection we wished we had hired a car but you just have to factor that cost in to your holiday still better than coach transfer ... Never doing that again , all in all we had a lovely break away , just a bit quiet esp in evenings a week was just enough and would defo get a car next time . Thank you to all the staff at the hotel they were very hard working and professional .

Room Tip: Take a kettle coffee tea dried milk ,try sea view and high floors for good views .leave air con on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playaluna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time in sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your kind words. For all the staff it is a whole satisfaction to know that we have reached your high expectative.
We are very thankful for you commentaries and we will forward them to the Hotel departments.
In reference to your commentary about the TV, I must say that all rooms have free TVs available and we will take into consideration your suggestions.
We hope to have you back next year at our Hotel or at any Hotel Playa, Meanwhile, we will keep up working in order to improve day by day.

Best regards,

Ramón Nieto
Manager
Hotel Playaluna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roquetas de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#7 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playasol Spa Hotel
Playasol Spa Hotel
#15 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Neptuno Hotel
Neptuno Hotel
#6 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Best Sabinal
Hotel Best Sabinal
#8 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
2,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protur Roquetas Hotel & Spa
Protur Roquetas Hotel & Spa
#1 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roc Golf Trinidad
Hotel Roc Golf Trinidad
#5 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playaluna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playaluna Hotel

Address: Avda de las gaviotas, s/n, 04740, Roquetas de Mar, Spain (Formerly lti Playaluna Hotel)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#8 Luxury Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range: £40 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playaluna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This friendly hotel enjoys a beachfront location in Roquetas de mar, one of the main tourist destinations in Almeria, just behind the seafront and only 5 min. From Playa Serena golf club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Playaluna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Playaluna Roquetas De Mar
Lti Playaluna Hotel
Playaluna Hotel Roquetas De Mar, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing