We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb holiday, lovely hotel +++”
Review of Neptuno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Neptuno Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb holiday, lovely hotel +++”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Just returned from 8 days in the Neptuno Hotel and I can't praise it enough. We went self-catering in a lovely spacious 1-bed apartment which was cleaned daily with new towels and anything you needed. Air conditioning was a must as it was so warm and we were able to have a nice sleep if we left the bedroom door open. The pool area was fantastic for my 6-year old who wanted to swim all day. There is daily entertainment in the form of games like bowls-type thing where you have to jump in the pool if you don't get a high score - very amusing as they make you jump in whether you are 7 or 70! Later in the afternoon they play water polo. The evening entertainment is in Spanish yes but it's universal so you can understand it. The kids disco is so much fun and we loved the Chi wa wa song, still humming it today! Starts at 9.30 and finishes at 12 on the dot when everybody leaves the area and goes to bed.

The hotel was full of Spanish people on their holiday which to me is a recommendation of the hotel itself. Yes, its Spanish orientated but you are in Spain, if the Spanish come here we make them speak English so fair is fair. Life guard on duty all day, some quite strict, some not so much but you tend to keep an eye on your own kids anyway but it's a bit of security knowing they are there. Girls behind the bar are very chatty if you can break the language barrier. There is a kids club in the morning which my daughter went to just once, they made her feel welcome and one had good broken English but she was too interested in the swimming. There is a covered smaller pool which is great if you don't want to worry too much about sunburn, it is heavily chlorinated but the kids don't care.

Didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment although did take a walk through one day and all the food looked lovely - pasta, fruit, chips, paella, etc. Maybe not everybody's cup of tea but I enjoy eating out in the evening so it made little difference to us.

The hotel is smack bang in the middle of this lovely, quiet resort. if you are looking for a mad one, don't go. It's family and couple orientated and closes down pretty early, we weren't out past 1am and we do like a drink.

Beach area is fabulous, clean and so pretty. Very hot while we were there. Restaurants are nice. We particularly liked the Ayda restaurant, it's the first one to the left at the bottom of the road from the hotel, staff very friendly and accommodating with good English. Lovely mixed kebab on a skewer! All food eaten here was very much enjoyed and Manolo the waiter was very friendly and chatty. The restaurant next to it (can't remember the name) was a no-no for us, just didn't enjoy the food although the kebab looked the part hanging off this huge dangling skewer. Another must is the British Bar on the seafront if you need a bit of home food comfort - Lily is very friendly and chatty, worth an afternoon stroll for a cold drink just to chat to her.

Flies are not the problem I thought there were going to be judging from some previous reviews. Yes there are some flies but really, not a problem.

Having read previous reviews I really think some people just complain for the sake of it. I really cannot fault the hotel or the area, both are lovely! Will definitely go back next year if not sooner for a long relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cailindeas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    330
    122
    30
    17
See reviews for
387
190
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shellybean17chard
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

The brochure advertised ideal for families. Can't see why, there was nothing to do.No kids club as advertised,no evening entertainment,no football,darts or pool bar as advertised on hotels website.The food was disgusting and mostly cold,any leftovers were put in salads the next day.There was no show cooking or creperie as advertised.The beach was close by,ideal for walking and cycling as very flat. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby,but mostly tacky english ones.Worth a walk to the main strip where there is more going on.Buses are very cheap and run frequently.The old harbour is nearby and very pretty,also Gran Central shopping centre very close.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shellybean17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham.south yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

lovely hotel.food terrible. on more than one occasion went in restaurant and straight out again because food was not worth eating. appears to be more choice when spanish ate later in the evening.if allergic to kids. keep away from this hotel.as it is the spanish kids holidays.would still go back to roquetas.as i have a number of times .but not to this hotel.the hesperia sabinal in early september is very good. with good food and only a 3 star.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank twiggy210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

we stayed at neptuno in june party of ten was bit unsure on what to expect after reading reviews hotel is very geared up for the spanish but hey you are in there country food great we stayed H/B rooms good size and cleaned daily entertainment poor in hotel was not problem for us as like to explore local bars in resort if you lookin for wild nights this resort not for you most bars empty only found one bar with live music and worth spending silly price for a pint of local beer i know euro is week these days but 4 euro for pint and 6.50 euro for gin& tonic bit much beaches very good lots water sports sunbeds are good value all in all good hols shame euro rate seems to be killing trade never seen this area so quiet

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iainanddawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We visit Spain every year and now book independently, choosing our own flights and accommodation. I saw the advert for a week at the 4 star Neptuno Hotel and knew we could not do a cheaper package ourselves. The deal included transfers from Almeria airport which is approx 45 minutes from the resort, meals on the plane and good flying times for us. The rep. Dawn was very pleasant, genuinely interested in her job and would have been on tap if we needed any urgent advice etc.
The hotel accommodation was better than I thought because we were allocated an apartment not just a bedroom. The place was spotless with bedding changed and clean towels each day. Our rubbish was also removed for us.
The food was standard mass catering meals. Plenty of choices but I did miss the home-cooked taste that we might have found in the expensive restaurants.
The swimming pool was large and no shortage of sunbeds.
Entertainment in the evening was geared towards the Spanish pensioners who may have been on their free holiday courtesy of the Spanish government. that was not a problem for us but could be for younger Brits.
Roquetas has many bars which have either closed permanently or decided to call it a draw as the season comes to an end.
We went on an excursion organized by Thomas Cooks. this was to the Alpujarras and cave dwellings. We could not have made our own transport arrangements for this trip. We took the local bus to Almeria town and visited the Alcazaba which is free, providing you show your passport. ( useful info given to us by the Rep.)
The weather was the hottest in Spain and shone every day.
We have been to Roquetas, seen it, done it, but not got the T. shirt. We enjoyed our stay but have no desire to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tightwads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Read reviews before going with sinking heart, but hotel and appartment very clean. Staff on whole very good and pleasant. Entertainment very Spanish orientated but if you asked they would include you in it. Eldest son 13 played water polo most mornings and they would say hello if they saw you around. Entertaiment did go on late but not too disturbing. Pool clean and great with slides. Sun beds - need to repair or chuck the broken ones. found restaurant overpriced but food ok if you are not on budget. A small oven would be nice in appt, and we couldnt find tin opener! No kettle but we took travel one. Flies - no more than at home in resort but plagued when we went to Mini Hollywood. didnt see vast amounts of dog poo just lots of dogs!! Very nice relaxing time would go again. holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonkou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

The apartments were lovely, spacious and clean. Having 2 double beds in the bedroom were a bonus. The flies were a constant pain. Bought fly repellant spray from supermarket which did help a bit.. The entertainment was appauling. There is nothing at all for English people within the hotel. There are enough bars around for a different selection. It is a Spanish resort with not many English people. We found quite a lot of Spanish holiday makers to be extremely rude. Find the back gate to the hotel, its nearer to everything. Marleys definately does the best breakfast around, with nice friendly staff. Had some lovely dinners at the Boulevard restaurant along the seafront, about 15 minutes walk. The staff were really lovely people and the chef a fantastic cook.. Nice walk along the seafront, not so many flies also! Bit of a shingle beach but lovely comfy mattresses on all the sunbeds for 4 euros per day. Went on excursion to Granada for the day. It was tiring but was a good day out and worth it. The guide on the coach and at the palace made it very interesting. There were 14 of us on holiday aged from 13 - 82. We enjoyed it but would not go back to this hotel again. The lack of entertainment was the biggest let down, the spanish entertainment didnt look much fun either! .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suestn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roquetas de Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#6 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playaluna Hotel
Playaluna Hotel
#7 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,496 reviews
1.3 mi away
Evenia Zoraida Park
Evenia Zoraida Park
#3 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Sabinal
Hotel Best Sabinal
#9 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
2,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Serena
Hotel Bahia Serena
#15 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
569 reviews
6.4 mi away
Playadulce Hotel
Playadulce Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aguadulce
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptuno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptuno Hotel

Property: Neptuno Hotel
Address: Paseo Central n 45, 04740, Roquetas de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptuno Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Neptuno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptuno Hotel Roquetas De Mar, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing