We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our 2 night stay”
Review of Hotel Bahia Serena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bahia Serena
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Roquetas de Mar
Murcia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“our 2 night stay”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

on arrival at the hotel we was very impressed, staff very friendly and reception -indoor terrace beautiful. we live in spain and just needed a break away from our every day work etc.
i requested a top floor apartment and was allocated this , with a sea view, top floor apartments have top terrace as well, fab views.
the rooms are large and airy,but, although clean not that clean. hairs on the kitchen counter, floors not been swept etc, however , clean bedding and clean towels.there was no microwave in the apartment, not that we needed it but it was advertised with a fully functional kitchenette.NO.it wasnt. 2 electric rings, and a coffee machine.and a fridge!! we puta pan on to boil water, as there is no kettle, but there was no way that pan was ever going to boil, could only use one ring at a time otherwise it tripped the electrics.so we gave up on that idea. We really would not like to stay here for a week or more has there is no way you can cook anything or have a hot drink, unless you have coffee.! showers are a bit tempramental, if you have shower on full then the head blows off lol,ours actually blew off and broke, although it was replace the next morning.lol.the buffet restaurant inside the hotel is only open to guests who have booked half or full board, we really wanted to eat in there but wasnt allowed, good job there are plenty of bars and restaurants very nearby, although a lot of them are pizzas or ice cream.!! however we did find a bar that served food, the estampa,english owned bar, fab food, huge portions and very very good value for money.we enjoyed our stay there, but 2 nights was enough in this hotel, would not recommend for families tho,mainly due to lack of kitchen facilities unless you want to eat out every morning afternoon and evening. other than that the location was fab aand would definitely visit the area again, but in a different hotel.the pool area is large and plenty of sun loungers although the pool did seem a little dirty, but, an indoor heated pool and sauna made up for that,

Room Tip: the top floor is great as you have great view and also a top terrace, if you are planning on cooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisabhilton19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCOMARTINEZ, Director Comercial at Hotel Bahia Serena, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión. No ayuda a mejorar.
Para otra vez, por favor, díganos si le hace falta algo en su habitación, o no está conforme con algo.
No sé quién le diría que no se puede comer en el bufet sin haber reservado. Simplemente hay que comprar un ticket en recepción...
Gracias y saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    196
    148
    65
    44
See reviews for
283
155
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for a fortnight in September 2013. We've stayed for a short break before so we knew it was OK.
We booked a pool view room with terrace. This ended up being on the 7th floor where it seems all the rooms have roof terraces. It was fab for catching the last of the sun that you couldn't get by the pool becuase of the shadow of the hotel next door.
We chose self catering so we could have a fridge but we didn't cook. There appeared to be plenty of plates and cutlery. My only observation here would be that there were tea cups but I prefer a large mug (packing list) and the glasses were small, we bought some larger ones in the supermarket across the road.
The bathroom had fresh toiletries and towels every day and the beds were made beautifully each day. We didn't eat there but there are loads of great tapas bars near by and some good restauarants too.
The large atrium in the middle of the hotel is used during the day and night for entertainment which usually involved loud music. (The sound system and acoustics are amazing) This went on until midnight every night and must be clearly heard in every room so bare that in mind if you're an early nighter.
Great hotel, great location. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a pool view if you want afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLONorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCOMARTINEZ, Director Comercial at Hotel Bahia Serena, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión. Nos alegra mucho que los clientes estén tan satisfechos como usted.
Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have been visiting Roquetas de Mar for many years now but this is the first time we have used this hotel. We found all the staff to be very helpful no matter what. Before travelling we had phoned the hotel asking for a pool view apartment. The receptionist asked whether we would like high level or low level .We asked for low level and she said she would give us a nice apartment on the second floor. On arrival we found we had a full panoramic sea and pool view with a huge terrace. It could not have been better.The apartment was well equipped with all that is needed . Room cleaning is daily. The facilities here are second to none and what must be the best tapas bar in the resort is annexed to the front of the hotel. Toni & Maria's 'Bar Cullar ' serves excellent food and drink in a wonderful atmosphere at really reasonable prices.We have already booked for next year !

Room Tip: Pool view will generally give a sunny terrace from Midday on
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splodge52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCOMARTINEZ, Director Comercial at Hotel Bahia Serena, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión. Nos alegra que siga confiando sus vacaciones a Hotel Bahía Serena.
Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Plana, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a large hotel right on the beach with underground car park (chargeable but....) Reception was very accommodating, and we were soon allocated a room. The hotel is built around a vast central atrium and extends to 7 floors! The rooms are spacious and clean but showing signs of wear and tear, however ours was clean and tidy. The apartment had a galley area with minimal cooking equipment, coffee machine but no kettle!! This is a four star hotel, so what one gets in a 1-2 star is anyone's guess!! Aircon was quiet and the selected temperature was maintained throughout our stay.
Food is served in the ground floor restaurant for half and full board bookings, or in other restaurants in the complex.
Hotel food is varied, plentiful, tasty and one can eat as much as one likes.....

Good value for money, look out for full board deals or ask in reception...

Room Tip: Rooms with beach view have a better aspect, as the sun traverses from left to right across the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojo49315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCOMARTINEZ, Director Comercial at Hotel Bahia Serena, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión. Nos ayuda a mejorar.
Gracias y saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeville, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We found this hotel online and, once we saw it, we wished we could have stayed longer. It is not only a beautiful hotel in a super location, but it had a delicious buffet breakfast and a super boardwalk.
Jesus Navarro was the man who not only made our reservation but also recommended places for us and could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kauaiswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCOMARTINEZ, Director Comercial at Hotel Bahia Serena, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión. Nos alegra mucho que los clientes estén tan satisfechos como usted.
Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Overall.. Yeah I enjoyed my stay. The buffet restaurant food was below even the standard I'd give away to the homeless.. It really was that bad. I tried to get my money back but that is still being contested. The sink in the bathroom fell out of granite work top it was glued to and the lamp socket came out of the wall. Oh yeah.. The air conditioning didn't go below ambient temperature so in reality was jut a fan. There are 3 lifts and normally there were ate wet 2 out of order. Still.. Climbing to the 7th floor is good for you. Good job the local restaurants are yummy enough to make the climb worth the expedition.

The atrium was charming to look around.. Very echoey if that is a real word. Evening entertainment was just one big echo.

The views from the top floor I stayed on were stunning. Top class, from the ocean on my left to the snow capped mountains on my right. I loved those views.

You never hear the airport.. Not in the flight route.

Would I go back.. No. Not that I didn't enjoy my week, but I know I can do a whole lot better than this resort and this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mathyooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antequera, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Perfect location right on the sea front amazing views! We stayed over Christmas and no atmosphere at all also Roquetas was very quiet. The hotel was spotless and room was excellant with seperate lounge and kitchen S,taff were great and food good, Would not recommend for a Christmas break everywhere was closed but maybe better in summer.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a front sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twopensioners66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roquetas de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Neptuno Hotel
Neptuno Hotel
#5 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#6 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playaluna Hotel
Playaluna Hotel
#7 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Sabinal
Hotel Best Sabinal
#8 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
2,056 reviews
6.5 mi away
Playadulce Hotel
Playadulce Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aguadulce
711 reviews
1.4 mi away
Evenia Zoraida Park
Evenia Zoraida Park
#3 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Serena

Property: Hotel Bahia Serena
Address: Avenida Playa Serena, s/n, 04740, Roquetas de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Roquetas de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Roquetas de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia Serena 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the first line of the beach, in the centre of Playa Serena, the Hotel offers a wide range of possibilities to enjoy the sea, nature and an exceptional climate. In addition, the hotel, which is fully equipped for your convenience, is situated 500 meters from the golf course. Other services, offered by freelancers in an area dedicated to the body, relaxation massage, sport massage, Reflexology, Reiki, etc. It has an adult swimming pool with access for the disabled, an independent children´s pool and in winter there is a heated swimming pool. Covered parking ( to be paid for in the reception). Free Wi-Fi internet connection around the Hotel (150 mb per day). A daily activities programme for adults in winter and for both adults and children in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bahia Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Serena Hotel
Hotel Bahia Serena Roquetas De Mar, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing