We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hospital de Benasque
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Benasque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Good things:
+ amazing location (great base to hike the highest mountain in Pyrenees)
+ old fashioned decoration in the hotel
+ good food and nice service

Bad things:
- we were placed in the bigger room even though we didn't ask for it (they refunded the money)
- the WiFi was terrible

Room Tip: make sure you pay for what you booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petersonpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Take the road from Benasque towards Aneto and this is where it ends. This hotel is set in a magnificent meadow surrounded by mountains and cascading waterfalls, and is popular with climbers, hikers, skiers and just about anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of modern life. The rooms and the food are secondary to the truly magical and awe inspiring stillness of nature that envelops you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Since almost 8 years we are visiting Valle de Benasque frequently and always enjoyed our staying. Aside from a lot of different mountain trips you can enjoy the hotel facilities and especially during the winter time the offering equipment for ski and snows-hoeing for a special price if you stay at the hotel. Always warm and friendly service and nice rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is in an outstanding location, at the top of the valley. It snowed for the whole weekend we were there except the last morning, when the sun appeared and we could really appreciate the views.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was generally very good. There is a cross-country ski and winter sports centre where we rented equipment. We skied (x-country) a couple of times a day, generally further up the valley as far as the Besarta refuge, which was fantastic. There is a spa with various pools, jacuzzis, a turkish bath and sauna which is only open in the afternoons, and which we really appreciated after skiing.
We stayed in a Duplex, which is great for a family with an open plan and two bedrooms (one above the other), clean and practical, but not fancy. The walls must be fairly thin, as we could hear a baby crying below. The beds were a bit hard (but I prefer that), and the duplex had tiny windows overlooking the car park, but we did not spend much time in the room. We spent some time in the communal areas - bar, cafeteria, kids room and the restaurant. They have cards and other games and videos available for the guests.
The biggest plus was that the staff were efficient and helpful, and the hotel is well run. We will go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kengele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Wonderful hotel with friendly helpful staff located in the most wonderful setting.

I first went to this valley 22 years ago, no hotel and just a track. I had worried the valley may have been spoiled but although more people it hasn't changed the valley. The Aneto glacier does seem to have shrunk though, as glaciers worldwide have.

Go there, stay over a few nights, pop on your day sack and step out straight into the wild.

Room Tip: De luxe rooms have a view down the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is the perfect place to enjoy winter sports like skiing and to stay in the heart of nature in a magic place. Very very recommended. I would love to repeat, I see a perfect place to go as a couple, with friends or family. And super fun for the kids are in the countryside.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank constantinopla2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is such of a gem of a location that to me the hotel itself is really secondary. That being said we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel after reading some of the reviews here and elsewhere. And, as a disclaimer, we were there immediately after New Years before Kings Day - so it was a very busy time to be in the hotel.
First - as I mentioned, the location is divine - whether summer or winter there are so many outdoor possibilities with this location and such incredible beauty. Every day brought a smile to my face just stepping outside. This alone makes it a repeat in my book.
The hotel itself is ski-lodgy. It has a cozy exterior and a bustling interior. The rooms are average-sized and the amenities normal for a ski-lodge. The beds were comfortable although the duvet was dated (think polyester). There was plenty of lighting and plenty of plugs. And, there were hooks everywhere so you could hang your wet clothes. We were actually surprised because we expected the rooms to be more spartan (based on reviews) but they had a wood chalet type of decor that although dated (and occasionally a bit musty) was cozy. In the bathroom there was an adequate shower/tub and two sinks. There was a heater in there as well which made it always toasty (sometimes too toasty). We had a room on the second floor that overlooked the parking lot. Although this sounds terrible, it wasn't in reality and the only time we had to close our window (in general the whole hotel felt a tad hot so we kept our window open at night) was in the early morning when they were shoveling the driveway. Otherwise, we were not bothered by car or foot traffic.
The rest of the hotel is user-friendly. There is a main café where you eat breakfast. The breakfast is functional - there is a selection of sliced white bread that you can toast, and a wider-selection of pastries - chocolate croissant etc - providing you don't come down towards the tail end of breakfast. There are several different juice options and when the coffee-maker broke (our first morning there due to overuse) the café provided free fresh coffees for everybody (no small feat given the crowds). There is also a hot dish (ham and eggs the two days we were there) and yogurt, cheeses and meats.
After breakfast the café is an a la carte bar. You can order salads, pizzas, and bocadillos (and other standard Spanish fare) there during lunchtime and dinnertime (as well as the normal soda and cocktails). At lunchtime (between 1:30 - 2:30) the place is a zoo. There are kids everywhere, but even with this, you can usually find a table, and the service is remarkably fast and friendly. After 2:30 things slow down and this becomes a more pleasant experience. At night people sit in there and drink and play games (you can get board games and cards from the front desk), talk, and wait for dinner to be served (doors open at 8:30 in the main dining room). As nighttime falls, the café becomes a little cozier and more inviting than earlier. During lunch it often felt like the standard ski-lift type of cafeteria. however, in the evening with the lights dimmed and a big chunk of the kids gone it became quite welcoming. I was surprised though that they didn't seem to have a fire going anywhere in the hotel (which I would have loved).
The dining room provides lunch and dinner. We never tried the lunch but had dinner there both nights. In general, the reviews all critique the food. And, although it wasn't gourmet, I was pleasantly surprised particularly because I am a vegetarian. Instead of getting stuck with the normal ensalada sin atun, the main dinner had a different salad each of the two nights we were there - and both times it was a salad that had some interesting elements - e.g., pine nuts, avocado, apples, etc. Furthermore, there was a plain pasta (on the kids menu) that I ordered both nights (as the rest of the food didn't leave many options (or any options) for pure vegetarians). The second night I asked if instead of the tomato sauce they could do a garlic-oil sauce - which they nicely did. Furthermore, my husband ordered a fish dish both nights and said it was well-prepared, despite the mass-production that the dinner seemed to be (people swarm in, wait staff scurry around, and your food comes out with lightening speed). As I said, overall the food was better than we had expected.
We also tried the spa (a pool with spray stations and jacuzzi (with cold water) and a sauna (which I would have liked to make hotter). Overall, it was nice but it wasn't worth paying to do it twice.
A second thing beyond the location that really stands out to me was the staff. Everybody was exceptionally helpful even though they had been barraged by people and kids, and more kids, throughout the week (and likely the week earlier). I was amazed. When we asked for recommendations on things to do, there was always someone to suggest a trail or route and to provide clear and detailed directions for how to get there (not something you get often). And, in general, all staff were pleasant, patient with our Spanish, and amazingly helpful - particularly the staff in the café and the dinning room who had do with hungry masses.
My only real critical feedback about the place is the price. We paid 144/night for our room and breakfast. My husband happened to notice that earlier in the month it had been half the price. This is normal given that it was the week after New Years, however, I was then surprised that we had to pay for so much else - use of the hotel spa (15 euros a person), rent snow shoes/skis, to use the ski trail, etc. That was a little disappointing, but all it says to me is to go there during the off-season if you want to pay less and have a more tranquil experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ln2inSegovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benasque
7.2 mi away
Hotel Ciria
Hotel Ciria
#2 of 12 in Benasque
399 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Aneto
Hotel Aneto
#3 of 12 in Benasque
294 reviews
7.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Benasque
Gran Hotel Benasque
#7 of 12 in Benasque
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Selba d'Ansils
Hotel Selba d'Ansils
#1 of 12 in Benasque
134 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel San Anton
Hotel San Anton
#6 of 12 in Benasque
57 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Cornel
Hotel Casa Cornel
#3 of 5 in Cerler
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospital de Benasque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospital de Benasque

Address: Camino Real S/N, 22469 Benasque, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Benasque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Benasque
Price Range: £82 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hospital de Benasque 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hospital de Benasque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing