We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Playitas Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Playitas Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for one week in May in the Villas in Playitas. The Villa had enormous space, so our two boys could share their own big bedroom with their own bath and toilet. The beds were very good - we slept like babies. The kitchen was good equiped, so it was no problem making our own lunch (the days we did not bother to go down to the restaurants). There were some ants, so we needed to make sure we left no food on the table. We loved having our own swimmingpool - we used it all the time. It's great to enjoy it quietly, with no others screaming or yelling;-) The Villa was cleaned every other day, and it was enough. Greatest vacation we ever had:-) We can safely recommend it for others.

Room Tip: The Villas closest to the golf course, are the best.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolafsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Playitas Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had a fantastic week at Playitas in May. I cannot recommend it enough. Lots to do and if all you want to to is relax, there's the Spa and the beach. Loved the breakfast and dinner buffet. Playitas covers quite a wide area. My only (very minor) issues are a. I wish the wifi signal could extend beyond the reception, b. could the pool bar open for just a little bit longer? See, very small. Would definitely go again and have recommended Playitas to a number of people since I returned.

Room Tip: If you want to be closer to the facilities and you are travelling with family or friends, best to st...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We enjoyed our week in our villa, which is surprisingly spacious. The quality of the interior is good, and its handy with both dishwasher and washing machine/dryer. The only two things we were a bit annoyed with was the wifi capacity and the showers - not much water at all. The beds are comfy, fully functional kitchen and a nice outdoor area - even if they could paint the place again. Room service turn up every second day to get the place sorted.

The reason for going to this place is of course the sporting facilities. They are great. We rented Giant road bikes for a week, good bikes (Ultegra) - bring your own seat, but apart from that, good. The buffet is good, a bit too crowded of course at peak hours.

Room Tip: I would suggest to go for the villas, havn't tried anything else, but here you get some space an...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baltzeberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We spent a week at Las Playitas in early March to get some winter sun and some warm weather swim, bike and run training.

There were four of us in the villa and I really couldn't fault it, everything worked and the walk to the restaurant only took about 10 minutes at the beginning and end of each day.

The resort itself was fabulous with activities going on all day long. We swam each day (you need to pre-book a shared lane in the 50m pool) and rode out into the mountains most days. The running is mainly on the trails around the resort.

The buffet food is varied and of good quality.

The only issue all week was the wind - which never seems to go below about 20 mph and gusts up to 30 mph on a really blowy day. Whilst this made the 25 degree heat a bit more bearable around the villa and by the (private) pool it did make the cycling hard work :)

Room Tip: We had a villa right on the golf course which seems to be the best venue for a view of the resort.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The rooms is spreed on 7 levels. There is a "minitram" and elevator (which takes time) to take you up and down, but the usual way is the stairs. We stayed on the 4th and had to climb 111 steps plus a bit to walk. That´s the negative side, but the view is beautiful! It meens a walk for breakfast and dinner.
You have both a shower and bathroom, practical for washing up wetsuits. Excellent flush and fast warm water in the shower. The beds are soft, it feels they made a lot of effort to get them good. Ok with storage, but a bit small with a bike in the room (not mension 2!). The balcony is a little tiny, but we didn´t use it for more the drying clothes. Large minibar for keeping food and water. A small telly with most german and spanish channels. Cleaning every day. The floors where cold during evenings and mornings, no heating, just AC. The bad thing is the internet which is useless and expensive all over the resort. If you can get hands on a router (deposit) it´s working fine, 60 euro for 2 weeks. Wifi in the reception.
If you like me are there only for training it was very practical, functional and good!

Room Tip: Second level top floor is good! Get more pillows straight away! Take our own cabel for the computer.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank consa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The villas look fantastic on photos, and that seems to have been the primary concern when they built the place, because nothing really worked inside the house: the dishwasher could hardly open and didn't function, the dry tumbler was broken, the electric lock on the main door couldn't open, and the pool light didn't go on at night - and everything looked brand new; probably because these things never get fixed when you complain about - so they are practically unused.
The location is right next to the main road 10 minutes walk from the hotels and activity areas, and the garden areas are very exposed exposed. Cramming the villas between two roads is a mystery since there so much empty dessert space around.

Room Tip: Go for the hotel solution!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Las Playitas for two weeks in November 2013 and went solely on an active sports vacation as a single. The Playitas Resort is great for single's trips as there are a lot of group exercise opportunities scheduled, and you can just sign on for a fee. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean, and the sports facilities are all in good condition. I would recommend the board at the hotel. The kitchen staff at Playitas are true culinary heros, and the buffet is just overwhelmingly good. There's always a healthy choice, a good salad bar and several courses to choose from.

There's also a noticeboard in the Sports Bookings Office where you can advertise for partners for tennis, badminton, biking trips or other activities. The Resort rents decent equipment which is made available to rent after you pay €30 for a deposit card. This amount is refunded to you if you return all equipment in the shape you got it in.

I went on hiking trips in the nearby low mountains which have great paths. Some of the paths lead into quite remote areas, so it's a good idea to hike with someone or bring a phone just in case. There's a nice 75 minute hike across the mountain from the resort to the nearby town of Gran Tarajal if you need to do some shopping, although you can also grab the bus.

An associated business on the beach of the resort - Wellenreiter - rents kayaks and can be hired to teach upright paddling as well as surfing and catamaran (basic and advanced) courses. You can also rent the catamaran for an extended trip. The beach is in a cove with calm waters, and it's a great place to practice! Plenty of wind.

The hotel offers Wifi for €35 per week or €7.5 for one day. I was not impressed with this, as it's supposed to work from your rooms, but is so unstable it does not. You have to go to the reception area or the pool bar to get a decent connection. iPads and phones with weaker antennas are completely useless from your room. Laptops with good antennas can get intermittent connection. In any event, it's low bandwidth and you'll not be able to do much other than regular web browsing. You can rent a safe deposit box in your room for €2 per day.

The hotel's gym is well equipped. I'd recommend you try the Red Cord system (for rent) while you're there. It uses your own body weight to strengthen core muscles. I used the spa for a couple of sports massages to loosen up after long days of being active all day, and it's great. A massage runs between €45 and €60 depending on the type.

The only partial negative for the hotel was the wait staff in the restaurant for lunch and dinner. They are very friendly, but they have to both clear tables, put on clean table cloths, take orders for drinks - board includes juice or water in the morning, but no drinks for lunch or dinner - and bring drinks. In two weeks, I sat through 3 or 4 meals waving my arms to try to get a drink, but didn't manage to order until I was at dessert. There's something broken about the floor management when the restaurant is busy. Also, designated areas of set tables could not be used by guests, even when all 'allowed' areas were full. I never understood why, but you had guests with filled plates from the buffet being shown outside to the tables by the pool or asked to simply stand and wait for a free table, when there were perhaps 40 free and set tables in the restaurant not in use!!!! Very poor service.

All in all, I'd recommend the Playitas Hotel for anyone who wants to experience an active sports vacation in a hotel filled with like-minded people.

Room Tip: If you ordered board, dinner starts at 7:15 pm. That's rush hour. If you can wait until 8 pm, th...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Playitas
0.0 mi away
Playitas Hotel
Playitas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tuineje
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playitas Aparthotel
Playitas Aparthotel
#3 of 6 in Tuineje
368 reviews
13.8 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
14.1 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
13.4 mi away
Hotel Elba Carlota
Hotel Elba Carlota
#5 of 27 in Antigua
4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playitas Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playitas Villas

Address: Urbanizacion Las Playitas s/n, 35629 Las Playitas, Tuineje, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Tuineje > Las Playitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Las Playitas
Price Range: £89 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playitas Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located in the south-east of Fuerteventura in a picturesque bay and directly at a dark natural beach. The fisher village Las Playitas is at a few minutes walking distance. The next bigger village is Gran Tarajal with different shops, restaurants and bus connections. It is about 5 km away. The airport can be reached in 40 minutes by car. The Playitas Villas are the perfect choice for families and couples. Every villa has a hall with a small bathroom with shower and toilet, 2 bedrooms with a full-size bed and each one with an en suite bathroom, bathtub, shower and toilet, a fully equipped kitchen with fridge, cooker, dishwasher, coffee machine, microwave, a storeroom with washing machine and dryer, a living room with dining table, couch, and SAT-TV (flat screen), internet, safe and a garden with a private pool, terrace, pergola and outdoor furniture. Playitas Resort is on its way to become one of Europe's best sports resort. It offers a huge variety of sports activities: swimming, cycling, triathlon, golf, etc. And a huge sports program: aerobics, spinning, body toning, combat, aqua-aerobics, etc. Our facilities include: 700m2 gym, 50m Olympic pool, 18holes golf course with driving range and PGA golf academy, tennis courts, 2 multifunctional courts, bike centre (the bike centre is unbeatable with a choice of more than 200 bicycles such as racing bikes, fat bikes, time trial bikes and mountain bikes), volleyball field, and many more. Additionally, we also offer watersports, such as windsurfing, catamaran sailing, diving, etc. The villas can be booked with or without meals. Playitas Resort is the perfect choice for active holidaymakers, families, athletes and everyone who wants to enjoy vacations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playitas Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Playitas Hotel Las Playitas
Playitas Villas Fuerteventura/Las Playitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing