We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seek this fantastic venue out!”
Review of Somera

Somera
Ranked #1 of 85 Restaurants in Laredo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Chester
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Seek this fantastic venue out!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Whilst visiting Laredo on holiday my wife and I decided to sample an evening in the main bar /restaurant area of the old town and we were certainly glad we did in trying out the Somera after reading its TripAdvisor reviews. We are not Spanish speakers but were greeted with great patience and help by the waiter. We ended up with 12 different and extremely high quality tapas / picadillos style eating experiences. Two - Iberian style steak and seared fresh tuna were so nice we ordered an additional portion taking us up to 6 portions each! We finished our meal with an amazing "small" dessert each and a coffee after some excellent Rioja wine and beer during our dining extravaganza.
The ambience was excellent in what is clearly the number one night time location in Laredo with no shortage of great venues.
Most pleasingly when the bill arrived it was under €20 (£17) per person for a thourougly enjoyable and excellent real Spain experience. Do yourself a favour and try out Somera...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank daveatsaughall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    110
    23
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old town Gem”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks in Laredo and ate here at every opportunity available. No comparison to other eateries in Laredo. The chef is very talented and uses the freshest of ingredients and prepares beatifully tasty simple elegant food. The menu del dia is savage value @13 euro for starter,main, dessert and bottle of wine or water. The food is and cooked with real pride and attention to detail. The staff are friendly and accomodating and very busy due to the quality on offer. Even enjoyed the backround music!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paulmcgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sampler visit”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

On a wet Sunday at lunchtime looking for place to shelter, and light snack, this place proved a great discovery in the old town.
Great buzz, friendly and exceptionally helpful staff and best of all delicious morsels to eat, and quality wine.
Will return to sample more delights
its so obvious why it's very popular.It is exactingly the kind of place we all look for when site seeing fatigue takes hold.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Have been to Somera on several occasions both for lunch and evening meal. All I can say is the food is great. The menu is varied and changes regularly. The service is warm and friendly. If you can then check out this place. You won't be dissapointed

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Some of the best tapas outside San Sebastian”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stumbled across this fab tapas bar while doing the Camino. The food was unreal! Tuna was sublime. Def try it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank glynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Somera also viewed

 
Laredo, Cantabria
Laredo, Cantabria
 

Been to Somera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing