We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty and sofisticated”
Review of El Galeon de Somo

El Galeon de Somo
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Somo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$130
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to El Galeon de Somo a seafood restaurant to enjoy the food and cuisine of Cantabria. We are located as you can see in a spectacular setting in northern Spain. A 80 m from the beach of Somo in a municipality Ribamontan Ocean east of the Bay of Santander.Among our specialties highlight seafood and fish, how could it be otherwise in our traditional fishing village. We also have steaks and homemade desserts to make your experience with us a pleasant memory left.Harbor also an extensive wine cellar with which you accompany all our specialties.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hearty and sofisticated”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

this restaurant has an impressive wine list and menu choices that make you drool just reading through...we ordered a dish for 2, but it could easily make happy 4 people! fish stew was superb - delicious, simple yet sofisticated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexisNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    110
    29
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I went here with my cousin who had visited before and said it was the nicest restaurant in Somo. As she'd been been before, she knew what the portion sizes were like, so we shared a starter and main. Although the prices seem rather expensive, the quality and taste of the food is incredible. Also, when you bare in mind that most portions are big enough to share, it stops seeming quite so much. As it was October time, the restaurant was very quiet (we did try to go on a Saturday night back in August but there was no chance of a table, booking is definitely recommended peak season) however, we didn't feel like the waiter was just standing waiting for us to finish, as I have often found to be the case in other reastaurants in the town, and the atmosphere in there was such that we didn't feel like the only people sitting in a large room. Everything about the place is great and the waiter was really very friendly. He even let us try a shot of the local 'orujo' free of charge!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dea0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castelldefels, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food and service”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A friend from Santander had recommended it to me and it was really worth it. But it's really important that you bear in mind how big their dishes are, so share them!! Fish is fresh and excellent, salads huge and delicious, etc etc. Do book a table there because there's a lot of people and the place is not that big.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Castelldefels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best in Cantabria”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have to confess I've been coming to El Galeon for the last 10 years or so, and every summer it keeps getting better and better. The dining room has been recently remodeled and includes a great adjacent outdoor patio. However, Agus, the effusive owner, continues working in a kitchen that is probably about 5m2 and hasn't changed in years. What you will find here is some of the best seafood and shellfish on the Northern Coast of Spain. Try the Cigalas fritas, followed by the Almejas (Clams) for an appetizer. You would also be surprised trying the Tuna Tartare... not sure where they get the wasabi to adorn the plate... after all we are in Somo, but it's there. Then, the fish... OMG... the fish. My favorite, the Monkfish (Rape), but everything else is absolutely excellent and cooked simply "a la plancha" in Agus' small kitchen.

The wine list sports a serious list of whites, roses and reds from all over Spain. All of the desserts are also homemade and are wonderful.

If you are visiting Cantabria, don't miss a meal at El Galeon. You won't be disappointed, seriously.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dustin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and romantic dinner”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very good restaurant, the fish was oustanding, good variety and perfectly cooked and presented, the service was punctual and nice, I definitely recommend it.
If you are interested in some more detailed review with nice pictures, visit this page: http://teresalamaltesa.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/a-feast-at-el-galeon/
Two people, apetizers, main course, wine, dessert 75 euros in total.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommaso b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Galeon de Somo also viewed

 

Been to El Galeon de Somo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing