We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of El Delfin Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Delfin Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After reading all of the reviews here I was really looking forward to our holiday. On arrival, we checked in at reception(safes are tiny btw,will only fit money & paperwork,so don't hope to fit your iPad etc in)and we're then sent to Eurocamp reception. We were told our mobile would be ready in a half an hour and to go look around. The place looked nice, I was pleased. Until we ordered pizza as we were starving. The kids wouldn't even eat it; horrible! We returned to Eurocamp but it was deserted and a mobile number was left to contact in an emergency. More groups were arriving to check in(it was after 4pm check in time)and we had been on the road since 5am so we phoned them. We waited another while and a girl showed up and led the way to the mobiles. As others have mentioned we got no information on the place, just here's your mobile, bye now. Here's what we discovered about El Delfin Verde during our very long 12 day stay. Kids clubs are brilliant. And we needed them as the weather was very unsettled. Eurocamp only had club for under 5's the first week where they can learn to ride and you can borrow games/jigsaws etc but our youngest two wouldn't go without their big sisters so they all went to the site run camp a couple of times(you could send your kids off til about 3pm if you wished). Did arts and crafts, face paint etc. and they put on a lot of sports for older kids, up to 17. 2nd week the Eurocamp Fun Station for all started and they went to that with the friends they made. This camp feels safer as you sign them in and out and leave contact numbers and the girls are lovely. At 7.30 the incredibly hard working Animation team start the junior disco, this goes on til 9.30, as they also play some games and do a photo op with the camp mascot Dolphi. Then the evening entertainment starts at ten. This was a big issue for us. It is(barring a restaurant) a completely open air space. First night there was a thunder storm and the magician packed up his show. The team put on 3 great shows while we were there(lion king, mama Mia & Beauty and the Beast,in English) but that was it! 3 nights a week the World Cup was put up on big screens and otherwise it was discos. I went here to be entertained at night,not watch football and the discos weren't cheesy family ones, just normal discos. Considering how talented the entertainment team were it was just such a letdown. Sport could have been shown in the bar by the pool but I suppose this saved them a fortune in not doing shows! The food here is astoundingly bad so we ended up cooking most of the time. The supermarket is very good and staff are nice. Lidl nearby is brill and loads of big supermarkets on the way there too. The site isn't well kept we found. Several times the pool was filthy; bins were overflowing for days at a time. Tiles around the pool were raised and cracked. Weeds growing up through the decks at mobiles. Filthy glasses from the bar; eurgh! The pool is massive but baby pool tiny and the far side of the pool(where there is some shade for younger kids) is very very deep. So we ended up sitting on the tiles around the pool playing with the kids in the "shallow" end and the baby pool; not ideal. The scenery in the area is amazing! We didn't walk up to the castle as we felt our 4 year olds wouldn't make it but it would be great to see.(a 40 min hike with 10 mins on rougher terrain). We visited Gala Dali castle museum and didn't have to pay for youngest kids. Roman & Greek ruins only cost €7 for all 6 of us as kids were free-this was brilliant for the older ones especially. We went to Pals which is a medieval town and gorgeous. We went to visit a lighthouse recommended at info desk but when we got there(beautiful cove beach) discovered it was a 30 min hike up steps so couldn't do it with the little ones in the heat. Jocs is an amusement place nearby, cost a fortune but had a great time zorbing, bungee trampolines etc.(btw there was zorbing in the pool one day; they let 2 kids do it for 5 minutes at €10 each, that was it).We had a late flight home and assumed the place could store our luggage so we could head off for the day but we were to there's nowhere and just leave it in the car as they have security. That would have been fine but we really didn't want to hang around there all day eating disgusting food but had no choice. Considering this place is a similar price to better resorts I would recommend choosing somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MeathElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived at El Delfin Verde at 5pm on a Saturday - big mistake! The Reception was absolutely packed and it took us an hour to get seen. This was not ideal with 2 suitcases and a very tired 3 year old after a day of travelling! We then got sent around to the Eurocamp tent to receive our keys where we were met by a young lady who when we complained about the waiting time at reception responded with "yeah that's what happens if you arrive on a Saturday". No apology for our inconveniance. She then proceeded to "show" us to our mobile home, however she walked off ahead with her mobile phone and didn't speak one word to us. We were hoping for some information about the site on route but unfortunately this did not transpire. We did not see any member of Eurocamp throughout the duration of our stay - no drop in to check how we are doing or to inform us of all the events etc that are taking place. We had to find out all the information on our own as we searched the park aimlessly.

However, I have to say that other than the Eurocamp element, the rest of our holiday at El Delfin Verde was absolutely amazing. The entertainment was absolutely fantastic, and the entertainment team really were special - particularly one main guy (who we didn't catch his name) but he seemed to be the main one in the team, he was fantastic with our daughter and we were thoroughly impressed. The accomodation itself was very clean and we were very pleased with the air conditioning. The food on site was average I would say, but the Pizzaria was fantastic! The pool is lovely, and the mini disco in the baby pool midday is ideal for the kids. The park and other facilities for the children are of a very high standard - we particularly liked that our daughter could have bike lessons and then keep hold of the bike for the duration of the holiday. The park is right on the beach which was lovely - although we didn't use this much as we found there was enough to do on site.

Warning to parents with children under 4 years old!! The Eurocamp kids club for 0-4 closes at the end of June - luckily we went on holiday the last week of June so we managed to catch it but had we have booked a week later it would have been closed and this is not mentioned anywhere on their site!

Overall a great holiday camp, just a shame that Eurocamp let it down. We will certainly be going back but will book with another provider next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Came here for a week after weekend visit to Barcelona.
First of all a car is advisable as area is a little remote. Im sure there are ways to access but a car still advisable to get out and about.
Having said that I could spend two weeks on site and be happy as it had everything.
I have stayed in various sites in cote dazure and lake garda but the beautiful beach here tops them with shallow enough water for children to enjoy.
Park is clean secure and supermarket great.
Didn't use the restaurant's but they looked Ok and reasonably priced. Disco was great and just an overall wonderful place to visit for couples and families a like.
See you soom

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank smickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have been there about 20 times with a touring caravan. We've had three generations there in recent years enjoying great times. The supermarket is as good as most in local towns but checkout staff not the most courteous, also short changed by one. The bakery is slow at peak times, fresh rolls etc are fantastic! Hope that the reception staff are having good day! At their best they respond well to good humour, at their worst....
However when I booked by phone for 2014 I spoke with a member of staff who remembered me from 2013 and had good laugh with her. So it pays to make an effort. In 2013 she changed my booking and gave me a better deal for July & August which saved me several hundred euros. Facilities are good, pitches adequate for our big 'van and awning. WATCH OUT FOR (rare) WINDS FROM THE NORTH. They can arrive with little warning and do much damage so be ready to nail everything down.
Explore the hinterland, slowly, on foot or bike but take water, a hat, sun protection and a camera. Magic. Do the music festivals and village fiestas. View the brava bit of the costa from the sea...wow.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Me and my family visited this site on the 10th to 17th September 2013 and was really disappointed that all the entertainment had finished for the season. All the bars and restaurants around the pool area were also closed. There was no children's entertainment or clubs open either. We stayed in a mobile home through Lifestyle holidays which was adequate. However they state some facilities may not be available but we would not have booked had we known it was the end of season and the facilities that we really wanted had closed for the season. Personally I do not think they should sell these dates as it was known by the site that these would not be offered for these dates. No money exchange on site and difficult for anyone without a car. We have been to this area numerous times but this experience spoilt it for us and would not return. Beach lovely, supermarket good, poor check in and site staff unfriendly.

Room Tip: only book in season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alfieroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here in June 13. The site is quite large with a mixture of static homes and camping. There are the usual facilities which are quite good for children. The site is on a beach so you really have everything you need at hand. The entertainment is lively and good for families with children and there was something different every night. We were far enough away from it to not be bothered by it if we didn't want to join in. We don't have small children but it looked like there was a kids club every day too. There were a lot of eating places on site and a small shopping complex. The supermarket was well stocked and not bad prices. Our accommodation was clean and there were no problems with it - it had plenty of equipment for self catering and was modern and comfortable. The only real downside was the location which was quite remote - you might struggle without a car, it was around an hour from the airport and there did not seem to be buses anywhere close. Otherwise a very good site and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank borolass70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We ended up at El Delfin Verde quite by chance! After several days in France, we decided to venture down to Spain - and Eurocamp accommodated our last-minute change of plan very commendably. We opted for the Costa Brava (an area harbouring fond holiday memories for me as a child) and specified a 3-bed mobile home and Eurocamp found availability for us at El Delfin Verde!

After consulting Eurocamp's brochure and Tripadvisor, I was prepared for a large site (as most are in that popular region) and I'd read a review warning about the slightly off-putting regimented layout of row after row after row of mobile homes. NB: a lot of the camping area (including pre-erected tents) was under beautiful pine trees and looked very attractive. We were given a very new-looking mobile home at the very top left corner of the site, which was initially a little daunting; it felt like we were miles from the shops, pool, bar, beach, restaurant, etc. However, with three little girls (4, 3 and 1), I soon appreciated being in this very safe and sheltered corner of the site, which had zero through-traffic and, despite the pitches not being amongst the largest I've ever seen, we had plenty of space for them to safely play out front. Plus, it was only a 5min walk to the central hub of the site - even with little legs and a pushchair. Their Dad hired a bike (with a child seat) for a week and this came in very handy for making trips to the shop and such likes.

On that note, the main supermarket was brilliant!!! As other reviewers have remarked, it is quite easily the best campsite supermarket I've ever come across! Extremely well-stocked and very reasonably priced. There is a Carrefour on the outskirts of Torroella de Montgri, but you would be quite unlikely to need to use it. On site, in the attractive little tiered square, there is also a souvenir/clothes shop and a newsagents/inflatables shop, which sells quite a few English publications, including magazines. This area is also home to the laundrette.

I think we spent every evening at the bar area - the children's disco and games began at 7pm, six evenings a week and our girls LOVED it! The girls who provided the animación were super! It was the best children's entertainment we've come across and our children made some lovely little friends, both English and Dutch, who they still talk about to this day :) If, like me, you have young daughters, I warn you that you will quickly feel obliged to buy the polka-dotted flamenco dresses, as these seemed a disco must-have! We bought ours from the market at Playa d'Aro for about €8 each, but they do sell them on the site too, just at a slightly higher price. After the children's disco, there followed more entertainment, which was also pleasantly family-orientated. Yes, it went on until about midnight, but that didn't bother us as we're not the sort to opt for an early night on holiday! I think the best entertainment was a Disney dance show, with all the familiar songs, and where the professional dancers encouraged the children to participate in their choreographed routines and at one point, the female dancers came round with make-up for the little girls, which was a total hit with my daughters!!

We had a couple of takeaway pizzas and crêpes, which were rather overpriced, but we were on holiday and feeling lazy! We also had one meal on the outdoor terrace of the restaurant, which was marred only really by the miserable waitress serving us! The service from most of the barmen was great though, including table service to the disco area. I found the drinks prices to be a bit cheaper than in France for lager and cocktails, and the wine was good value in both countries!

The pool is nice, albeit not the most exciting because there are no slides. That said, it didn't diminish my girls' desire to return to this site. And because we travelled off-peak (early June), any rules forbidding inflatables and whatnot were, thankfully, never enforced during our stay! Our stay preceded the main poolside bar-restaurant complex opening, unfortunately, but there was a mini poolside bar open from about 12 each day, which was handy for post-swim cold beers and ice creams! We are looking to book for next year and will definitely try to coincide our stay with the main poolside complex being open because it looked great!

We only made it to the beach a couple of times, but it was a very nice beach with lovely views to the Medes Isles, which we saw up close on a boat trip from nearby Estartit. There was a beach bar, (with toilets) but that wasn't open during our stay - another incentive for us to travel a little later next time. (Although I think I would still avoid July/August because of the reported influx of teenagers!)

I mentioned at the beginning of the review that I'd holidayed in the region as a child, and I soon realised that we were only a 30min drive from the beautiful little fishing village of Tamariu, where I'd spent a number of wonderful childhood holidays, so of course we had to visit - not once, but twice! I last visited over 20 years ago and even in all that time it had, thankfully, hardly changed at all! A rustic, traditional and unspoilt little gem (quite the opposite of the more commercial resorts of Estartit and Playa d'Aro) with a gorgeous cove-like beach, lined with little restaurants and café-bars, with boats bobbing in the sea and overlooked by stunning pine trees. Our best meal of the holiday was actually enjoyed here, at The Royal restaurant on the front - brilliant food, beautiful views of the beach at dusk, wonderful service and very reasonably priced, with complimentary ice lollies for the girls! I would like to have visited Pals, too - maybe next time!

We met some lovely English and Dutch families and couples while at El Delfin Verde and found several families who returned to the site year after year. I imagine we will be joining their ranks in the near future!

Room Tip: If travelling with a tour operator (Eurocamp, Lifestyle, Thomson Al Fresco), this will usually influ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Moonface3C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torroella de Montgri
0.0 mi away
Hotel Clipper & Villas
Hotel Clipper & Villas
#3 of 6 in Torroella de Montgri
216 reviews
3.1 mi away
URH Moli del Mig
URH Moli del Mig
#1 of 6 in Torroella de Montgri
294 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Costa Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
870 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Golf Beach
16.4 mi away
Camping Castell d'Aro
Camping Castell d'Aro
#3 of 3 in Castell-Platja d'Aro
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Delfin Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Delfin Verde

Address: C/ Rossinyol 1, 17257 Torroella de Montgri, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Torroella de Montgri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Torroella de Montgri
Price Range: £55 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Delfin Verde 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delfin Verde (The Green Dolphin), probably the best camping resort of the Costa Brava. Is placed inside of the natural reserve of the Montgri and Medas Islands, and close to a magnificent sandy beach. We have different zones for camping and caravaning. These zones are between the sun and the shade. Also we have some of the best bungalows in the Costa Brava. Here you can enjoy in family of the camping resort el Delfin Verde. One of the largest pools in the area, in addition to be the reference from our brand. Over 2.000 M2 of water with different depths and separate the smaller children's pool. Our "Mini Club", is specially designed for the care and enjoyment of the children. This area is designed and organised specifically for children. We hope that the different activities undertaken by our entertainment team, will ensure fun for the youngest members of the family. El Delfin Verde has the privilege of having one of the largest pools of campings in Europe. It is our emblem, which has the original shape of a dolphin and a stage in the middle. The pool is surrounded by tempting restoration services. In this scenario, we are committed to providing our customers, our friends, the greatest opportunities for fun and enjoyment counting for this, in our program, with concerts from internationally recognized artists This camping resort is special for families of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your El Delfin Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Delfin Verde Hotel
El Delfin Verde Torroella De Montgri, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing