We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The four F's : Fab Family Friendly Fun in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Delfin Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Delfin Verde
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The four F's : Fab Family Friendly Fun in the sun”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

After two weeks at El delfin, well we are so sad we had to come home. The kids (twins aged 6) want to move there :-) We got recommendation from a friend who visited her parents last summer and thought we'd like it.
Booked mobile home through Lifestyle holidays. Was ready when we arrived and lifestyle staff were friendly & helpful throughout our stay. The mobile was very clean & well kited out with everything we needed for our stay. Outside had a deck with table and 6 chairs parasol and 2 sun beds. Campsite clean day and night with lots of staff around keeping it that way

The animation team kids LOVED the dolfin club on daily (10am-2pm) with different activities. The Animation team are a great mix of people from lots of European countries , who did a wonderful job keeping the kids happy. I did Zumba Pilates and aqua aerobics too. Which was all free.Shows on over the weeks we were there ; Beauty and the beast, Mamma Mia, Lion king, Grease.
while kids at club we would head to beach or pool. Large pool, only down side you had to pay for sun bed €3 per day. Lots of people had beds or you could buy ones in shop on site if you had time to sit all day in sun.
Supermarket good value had everything you needed. Open from early to late. Staff lovely too. Newsagent and gift shop. Loads of options for food: takeaways bar food and lovely Asian restaurant too. Kids had ice cream and crepes in the evenings as a treat and wasn't a rip off.
There is direct access to the large sandy beach but had very strong waves when we were there so we headed out to other smaller ones down the cost. Was a good way to explore the area.
We had a great holiday and are hoping to return to El Delfin Verde next year fingers cross.
Fab Family Friendly Fun in the sun
Me gusta mucho El Delfin Verde :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cats10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    165
    63
    25
    17
See reviews for
334
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hi, We are a family of two adults and 3 teenager children aged 18,16,14. We had a fantastic holiday at el delfin verde. We stayed with lifestyle holidays and they were brillant. We choose the cheapest 2 bedroomed mobile home and it was excellent value for money. However I think we will go for the bigger 2 bedroomed mobile on our next visit, as that was much bigger and had alot more storage space. the Lifestyle staff were fantastic. Anything we asked them for, we received it asap. Also they were very informative and saved us alot of money. Extra blankets, hair dryer etc were all no problem. Also when the gas ran out and boiler broke down Sam was down to us straight away. Lynsey, the manager there was also very helpful and all the staff were so friendly. the campsite itself is great. sports and games for the teenagers. the amination team were fantastic. the supermarket was brillant, everything you needed and very reasonable. We didn't bother going to a local supermarket or lidl as the supermarket was open all day long from 8am to 9pm. I was surprised it didn't close for a siesta. As a result i could decide what I wanted for dinner or lunch and have it in a few minutes. also the staff were friendly and there was never a queue, You could get one hour free wifi code with anything you bought at the bar,creperie, icecream parlour. We didn't have to buy any wifi as all the staff knew us and we got a few extra wifis as we were good customers at the icecream parlour and bar.We had a car and although we met lots without a car, I was delighted we had one. The campsite is 3 miles in from the main road and is isolated. there is beautiful beaches nearby. Also the towns of Pals, and L'estratrit were beautiful to visit, if you got a dull day which we got 4. My favourite thing about this campsite was the beach which was at the end of the campsite.The public bathrooms and showers are very clean and very good. I went for beautiful walks along the beach every day and it was just heaven.We were there during the world cup and although my husband and son really enjoyed the matches. Us girls were not as impressed. i would have liked abit more music.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank 210713am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After reading all of the reviews here I was really looking forward to our holiday. On arrival, we checked in at reception(safes are tiny btw,will only fit money & paperwork,so don't hope to fit your iPad etc in)and we're then sent to Eurocamp reception. We were told our mobile would be ready in a half an hour and to go look around. The place looked nice, I was pleased. Until we ordered pizza as we were starving. The kids wouldn't even eat it; horrible! We returned to Eurocamp but it was deserted and a mobile number was left to contact in an emergency. More groups were arriving to check in(it was after 4pm check in time)and we had been on the road since 5am so we phoned them. We waited another while and a girl showed up and led the way to the mobiles. As others have mentioned we got no information on the place, just here's your mobile, bye now. Here's what we discovered about El Delfin Verde during our very long 12 day stay. Kids clubs are brilliant. And we needed them as the weather was very unsettled. Eurocamp only had club for under 5's the first week where they can learn to ride and you can borrow games/jigsaws etc but our youngest two wouldn't go without their big sisters so they all went to the site run camp a couple of times(you could send your kids off til about 3pm if you wished). Did arts and crafts, face paint etc. and they put on a lot of sports for older kids, up to 17. 2nd week the Eurocamp Fun Station for all started and they went to that with the friends they made. This camp feels safer as you sign them in and out and leave contact numbers and the girls are lovely. At 7.30 the incredibly hard working Animation team start the junior disco, this goes on til 9.30, as they also play some games and do a photo op with the camp mascot Dolphi. Then the evening entertainment starts at ten. This was a big issue for us. It is(barring a restaurant) a completely open air space. First night there was a thunder storm and the magician packed up his show. The team put on 3 great shows while we were there(lion king, mama Mia & Beauty and the Beast,in English) but that was it! 3 nights a week the World Cup was put up on big screens and otherwise it was discos. I went here to be entertained at night,not watch football and the discos weren't cheesy family ones, just normal discos. Considering how talented the entertainment team were it was just such a letdown. Sport could have been shown in the bar by the pool but I suppose this saved them a fortune in not doing shows! The food here is astoundingly bad so we ended up cooking most of the time. The supermarket is very good and staff are nice. Lidl nearby is brill and loads of big supermarkets on the way there too. The site isn't well kept we found. Several times the pool was filthy; bins were overflowing for days at a time. Tiles around the pool were raised and cracked. Weeds growing up through the decks at mobiles. Filthy glasses from the bar; eurgh! The pool is massive but baby pool tiny and the far side of the pool(where there is some shade for younger kids) is very very deep. So we ended up sitting on the tiles around the pool playing with the kids in the "shallow" end and the baby pool; not ideal. The scenery in the area is amazing! We didn't walk up to the castle as we felt our 4 year olds wouldn't make it but it would be great to see.(a 40 min hike with 10 mins on rougher terrain). We visited Gala Dali castle museum and didn't have to pay for youngest kids. Roman & Greek ruins only cost €7 for all 6 of us as kids were free-this was brilliant for the older ones especially. We went to Pals which is a medieval town and gorgeous. We went to visit a lighthouse recommended at info desk but when we got there(beautiful cove beach) discovered it was a 30 min hike up steps so couldn't do it with the little ones in the heat. Jocs is an amusement place nearby, cost a fortune but had a great time zorbing, bungee trampolines etc.(btw there was zorbing in the pool one day; they let 2 kids do it for 5 minutes at €10 each, that was it).We had a late flight home and assumed the place could store our luggage so we could head off for the day but we were to there's nowhere and just leave it in the car as they have security. That would have been fine but we really didn't want to hang around there all day eating disgusting food but had no choice. Considering this place is a similar price to better resorts I would recommend choosing somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MeathElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived at El Delfin Verde at 5pm on a Saturday - big mistake! The Reception was absolutely packed and it took us an hour to get seen. This was not ideal with 2 suitcases and a very tired 3 year old after a day of travelling! We then got sent around to the Eurocamp tent to receive our keys where we were met by a young lady who when we complained about the waiting time at reception responded with "yeah that's what happens if you arrive on a Saturday". No apology for our inconveniance. She then proceeded to "show" us to our mobile home, however she walked off ahead with her mobile phone and didn't speak one word to us. We were hoping for some information about the site on route but unfortunately this did not transpire. We did not see any member of Eurocamp throughout the duration of our stay - no drop in to check how we are doing or to inform us of all the events etc that are taking place. We had to find out all the information on our own as we searched the park aimlessly.

However, I have to say that other than the Eurocamp element, the rest of our holiday at El Delfin Verde was absolutely amazing. The entertainment was absolutely fantastic, and the entertainment team really were special - particularly one main guy (who we didn't catch his name) but he seemed to be the main one in the team, he was fantastic with our daughter and we were thoroughly impressed. The accomodation itself was very clean and we were very pleased with the air conditioning. The food on site was average I would say, but the Pizzaria was fantastic! The pool is lovely, and the mini disco in the baby pool midday is ideal for the kids. The park and other facilities for the children are of a very high standard - we particularly liked that our daughter could have bike lessons and then keep hold of the bike for the duration of the holiday. The park is right on the beach which was lovely - although we didn't use this much as we found there was enough to do on site.

Warning to parents with children under 4 years old!! The Eurocamp kids club for 0-4 closes at the end of June - luckily we went on holiday the last week of June so we managed to catch it but had we have booked a week later it would have been closed and this is not mentioned anywhere on their site!

Overall a great holiday camp, just a shame that Eurocamp let it down. We will certainly be going back but will book with another provider next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Came here for a week after weekend visit to Barcelona.
First of all a car is advisable as area is a little remote. Im sure there are ways to access but a car still advisable to get out and about.
Having said that I could spend two weeks on site and be happy as it had everything.
I have stayed in various sites in cote dazure and lake garda but the beautiful beach here tops them with shallow enough water for children to enjoy.
Park is clean secure and supermarket great.
Didn't use the restaurant's but they looked Ok and reasonably priced. Disco was great and just an overall wonderful place to visit for couples and families a like.
See you soom

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank smickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We have been there about 20 times with a touring caravan. We've had three generations there in recent years enjoying great times. The supermarket is as good as most in local towns but checkout staff not the most courteous, also short changed by one. The bakery is slow at peak times, fresh rolls etc are fantastic! Hope that the reception staff are having good day! At their best they respond well to good humour, at their worst....
However when I booked by phone for 2014 I spoke with a member of staff who remembered me from 2013 and had good laugh with her. So it pays to make an effort. In 2013 she changed my booking and gave me a better deal for July & August which saved me several hundred euros. Facilities are good, pitches adequate for our big 'van and awning. WATCH OUT FOR (rare) WINDS FROM THE NORTH. They can arrive with little warning and do much damage so be ready to nail everything down.
Explore the hinterland, slowly, on foot or bike but take water, a hat, sun protection and a camera. Magic. Do the music festivals and village fiestas. View the brava bit of the costa from the sea...wow.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Me and my family visited this site on the 10th to 17th September 2013 and was really disappointed that all the entertainment had finished for the season. All the bars and restaurants around the pool area were also closed. There was no children's entertainment or clubs open either. We stayed in a mobile home through Lifestyle holidays which was adequate. However they state some facilities may not be available but we would not have booked had we known it was the end of season and the facilities that we really wanted had closed for the season. Personally I do not think they should sell these dates as it was known by the site that these would not be offered for these dates. No money exchange on site and difficult for anyone without a car. We have been to this area numerous times but this experience spoilt it for us and would not return. Beach lovely, supermarket good, poor check in and site staff unfriendly.

Room Tip: only book in season
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alfieroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torroella de Montgri
0.3 mi away
Hotel Clipper & Villas
Hotel Clipper & Villas
#2 of 6 in Torroella de Montgri
195 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Costa Golf & Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Camping Playa Brava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Camping Castell Montgri
Camping Castell Montgri
#2 of 42 in L'Estartit
566 reviews
24.4 mi away
Camping Cala Llevado
Camping Cala Llevado
#2 of 16 in Tossa de Mar
179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Camping & Bungalows  Interpals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Delfin Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Delfin Verde

Property: El Delfin Verde
Address: C/ Rossinyol 1, 17257 Torroella de Montgri, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Torroella de Montgri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Torroella de Montgri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Delfin Verde 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delfin Verde (The Green Dolphin), probably the best camping resort of the Costa Brava. Is placed inside of the natural reserve of the Montgri and Medas Islands, and close to a magnificent sandy beach. We have different zones for camping and caravaning. These zones are between the sun and the shade. Also we have some of the best bungalows in the Costa Brava. Here you can enjoy in family of the camping resort el Delfin Verde. One of the largest pools in the area, in addition to be the reference from our brand. Over 2.000 M2 of water with different depths and separate the smaller children's pool. Our "Mini Club", is specially designed for the care and enjoyment of the children. This area is designed and organised specifically for children. We hope that the different activities undertaken by our entertainment team, will ensure fun for the youngest members of the family. El Delfin Verde has the privilege of having one of the largest pools of campings in Europe. It is our emblem, which has the original shape of a dolphin and a stage in the middle. The pool is surrounded by tempting restoration services. In this scenario, we are committed to providing our customers, our friends, the greatest opportunities for fun and enjoyment counting for this, in our program, with concerts from internationally recognized artists This camping resort is special for families of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and CampingAndCo so you can book your El Delfin Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Delfin Verde Hotel
El Delfin Verde Torroella De Montgri, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing