We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can be noisy at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can be noisy at night”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights. We had a deluxe double room with dinner included. The room was really nice, the hotel and gardens were beautiful. The food was very good. The only problem we had was that we were woken up at 3am on the second night by the sound of staff moving trolleys across the tiled garden area outside our window. This lasted 2 hours. We complained the next morning at reception and they told us they were sorry for our disturbed sleep but, as the manager was not there there was nothing they could do.
We believe the noise was as a consequence of there being an event held at the hotel. Our advice is to think twice about staying here if there is an event being held.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevaliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    73
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
33
166
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
170 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

The outstanding feature of this hotel is the authentic and beautiful building. It is Parador-like, although run privately and so with more of a personal touch. We had a standard room, which was fine (but nothing especially luxurious) and warm, with views out to the Pyrenees. There is no lift that we could see (I guess building restrictions have, correctly, forbidden such a thing), so some might find 2 long flights of steps a bit much. The place is in the centre, attached to the church, and the car park is spacious and free (very good) and in lovely grounds. One can walk directly into the narrow streets of the town centre where there are cafes and bars. The reception staff were very welcoming, the restaurant staff less so. The breakfast selection is good (cold except for toasted sandwiches), although by 10.00 on our second day there wasn´t very much left and we had to ask, for example, for items such as orange juice. This hotel makes an excellent centre for touring the area which has much to offer, and one can walk directly into the limestone hills behind the town for spectacular views over the Emporda.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bicholisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Outrageous prices for rooms with no subsequent level of service. No concierge or immediate offer of porter. No trolley for very long walk from car park. No offer of porter on departure. No ironing facilities at weekends/fiestas. Iron but no ironing board. Bar[?] has not even the basics - Angostura/ Tia Maria etc. Lack of cleanliness in rooms. No soap provided. No extra pillows. Detritus from previous terrace dining left all Sunday morning detracting from view from window. Limited / no room service. No information about any of the facilities placed in room - call out/TV/Room service. Constant telephone / visits to reception to get anything. Totally unsuitable for disabled. No mention of church bells! Cannot fry an egg. Supermarket orange juice! Banquet food excellent. Go for the food but stay somewhere else. About time they re-varnished the tables. They only seem to be interested in weddings and/ or restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlicantePabsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unknown2222, Director General at RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
First of all, we would like to apologize for the impression caused and the services that you received during your stay at Hotel Palau Lo Mirador from 28th to 30th August.

It’s known that in the month of August, - high season in Spain- , and in a day that a wedding is being hold in the hotel; is not always easy to take care of all the small details as we should do. Of course this is not an excuse, that’s why we have taken note of every comment sent in order to improve our service.

Palau Lo Mirador Hotel is a 4-star hotel after receiving the considering of the Department of Tourism of the Generalitat de Catalunya, which determined that the hotel is accomplishing all the law requirements in order to obtain this category.

For example, in Spain, 4 star hotels are not bound by law to carry customers' bags from the car park to the hotel. Of course, in case you would have requested us, we would have done so pleased. It’s true we had no trolleys in that moment in order to make the way easy for you, and we apologize for this. Otherwise, we have already taken note of your suggestion and we are going to get one in the following days in order to improve our service.

The receptionist who attended you also offered herself to bring the bags up to your room, but she has told us you refused the offering, as your preferred a man to help you with the bags. We are sorry about that situation.

Regarding the bar suggestions, we apologize for not being able to offer you the drinks you asked us. Up to date, we have not been asked for Angostura in our bar, and this is the reason why we did not have this product in our stock. We have already checked our drinks offer and we will buy this one and some other non-common drinks in order to avoid future complaints.

With regard to ironing service; we offer you the possibility to iron your clothes, but finally you preferred to iron them by yourself. It’s true that we only gave you the iron and none iron board. It was not available at that moment and we are sorry you had to iron your clothes using a towel. Of course this is not the service people expect to receive when asking for an iron in a 4–star hotel, and we are sorry for not having been able to give you a better service in that moment. To solve this problem, we have just bought more iron boards as well as new irons for not having this issue in the future.

As you may know, Palau Lo Mirador is a XIV century building, and of course, as an historic building, needs constant maintenance which in some cases can be very expensive and difficult to realize due to heritage protection of the building.
Every year in January (when the hotel is closed) we make improvements and investments, in order to upgrade our facilities and service.
One of these improvements which have been already approved for next year will be the replacement of the carpet on the stairs, as you suggested.

Regarding breakfast, we do always serve fresh orange juice every morning. Unfortunately, we ran out of oranges on Sunday morning and it was not possible to arrange some other fresh juices at that moment. We’d like you to know that offering brick juice is an exception in our hotel, as we usually offer good quality products of the region. We may have offered you some other fresh options, and our maître has been already informed in case it happens again to be able to react faster to clients’ expectations.

Finally, regarding your comments about price; we are surprised that it seemed to be expensive to you, as we thought you were already informed when the bride and the groom confirmed the reservation. We are sorry it may have not seemed fair for you after the service received.

Once again, we apologize for all the inconveniences we may have caused you, and we thank you very much for your comments; they always help us to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Pros: Beautiful old hotel with lots of character, front desk staff very helpful, took half board on a daily basis when we arrived at the hotel (included dinner and wine) - chef at dinner was amazing, breakfast was simple but good quality with no hot offerings, good location with easy drive to many sights on Costa Brava, free parking on site, beautiful view from balcony
Cons: Beds were relatively hard for our preference.
Would definitely recommend hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torroella de Montgri
1.0 mi away
URH Moli del Mig
URH Moli del Mig
#1 of 6 in Torroella de Montgri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
15.2 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
17.6 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
15.3 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador

Property: RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador
Address: Passeig de l'Esglesia 1, 17257 Torroella de Montgri, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Torroella de Montgri
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torroella de Montgri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable stay in a beautiful and welcoming XIV century palace. Known as one of the most emblematic Boutique hotels on the Costa Brava. We invite you to delve into the majesty of its forms and colours, to discover the sounds and textures, and above all its flavours, which will transport you to the past full of charm and history, palpable in every corner of the palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RV Hotel Palau Lo Mirador Torroella De Montgri, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing