We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Medes II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Medes II
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in L'Estartit
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Although it seemed a little basic in fact it had everything u would want from a hotel, there were just no touches of luxury. But we chose it for location and price so to be fair it didn't pretend to be something it wasn't! The room was a little dark but it had everything you needed and it had a good bathroom. The bar and restaurant were fine as was the pool area. Again all quite basic but fine nevertheless. Its location was really good - the town centre was in one direction (about 10 mins walk) and the beach another (about 5 mins). Overall this may not seem like the best of reviews but I would actually stay here again and recommend it to others. If u r just looking for somewhere clean and comfortable in the very lovely town of L'Estartit then this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillizDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedes, Propietario at Medes II, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you for your comments. We think that your description reflects the kind of hotel that we pretend to be. An honest 2 stars hotel which offers the services and quality that people can expect from it; with all the staff trying to make it function properly. Having heard from your advice, we will do our best to make the rooms brighter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    48
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed there for 4 nights and really liked the hotel. It seemed like a family run hotel with efficient management. Hotel is clean and close to the beach (5 mins walk). While I was staying the majority of the hotel clients were elderly couples 50+

Was a comfortable experience will recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand_Ashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedes, Propietario at Medes II, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you. You are right; Medes II is a family run hotel. It is in our intention to get the best of that while trying to be as efficient as other companies are.
We look forward to have you staying here again (before you are 50, of course).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This was our 3rd time here and we just love it, its not "Posh" and the bathrooms are small, but who lives in the bathroom!!!, we have over the years stay in a lot of hotels and not many have come up to this standard of being kept so clean and sparkling as this hotel is,our rooms were always kept very clean & fresh, the bathroom was spotlessly clean, you could not fault it.
The staff we ALL great, and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The breakfast was ample for what we needed, but the evening meal of which we had 4 was the best you would find in any top restaurant,and the price was very good as well.
All in all we find this hotel is perfect for what we need, min. from the beach & main town, what more could you want, looking forward to going again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hairdo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedes, Propietario at Medes II, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. It's very good for us to know where we need to improve. Moreover, we are all encouraged to work harder when looking at critiques lile yours. Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

A nice welcome on arrival. All staff always helpful and friendly. The room was a good size for a family of four and the beds were very comfortable. Clean and spacious bathroom, well stocked with towels and toiletries. The area around the hotel was peaceful. It is a close to the beach and a short walk to the town centre. The restaurant was reasonably priced and very tasty, with good sized portions. Breakfast had hot and cold selections and the coffee was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corrie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Estartit hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Anna
Hotel Santa Anna
#1 of 17 in L'Estartit
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#3 of 17 in L'Estartit
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nereida Hotel
Nereida Hotel
#4 of 17 in L'Estartit
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bell Aire Hotel
Bell Aire Hotel
#2 of 17 in L'Estartit
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Illes
Hotel Les Illes
#9 of 17 in L'Estartit
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centremar
Centremar
#5 of 17 in L'Estartit
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medes II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medes II

Property: Medes II
Address: Carrer Guillem de Montgri 38, 17258 L'Estartit, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > L'Estartit
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in L'Estartit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Medes II 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Estartit in the Costa Brava, just a few metres from the beach and the shops, is Hotel Medes II. It's a wonderful place to relax and enjoy yourself all the year round. We put our friendly manner and experience at your service. During your stay you can enjoy a sweeping beach of fine sand, a rocky coast with coves and idyllic spots, the Medes Islands Nature reserve. Sea sports and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medes II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medes II Spain/Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing