We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value, hospitality and service all delivered.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Medes II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Medes II
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in L'Estartit
france
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Value, hospitality and service all delivered.”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I spent a week here in may for a diving holiday, the hotel is a family run business, the welcome, service and hospitality of all who work here was exceptional.
I had a junior suite on the third floor with a view of the pool and a small seaview.
There are premium and standard rooms, but if you can book a junior suite, it is not very big at c 24m2, but bright spacious and modern I felt at home. The bathroom is a decent size with a powerful shower,bath and lots of hotwater. The toiletries for a 3* hotel were quality,housekeeping very good.

We had a full board package which included breakfast,lunch and evening meal with wine included at mealtimes, there was a choice of 3 starters,mains and deserts every meal and all of a very good standard, Only minor complaints would be that the orange juice at breakfast was well, terrible! and to accompany the meals you had to ask for parmesan,mustard,tartare sauce,mayo etc... but was always supplied.

Free wifi which was sporadic at first, but was fixed within 24hrs and was then fast - totally acceptable.
Angel, who runs the bar was a real gem,his mojitos were very good as was his company and humour.

A big thankyou to Narcis jnr and his team for a wonderful stay, I recommend and would stay at this hotel again.
Thankyou.,

Room Tip: choose 3rd floor pool facing for a quiet stay.Book a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassieFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedes, Propietario at Medes II, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. I'm sorry about orange juice, you are absolutelly right, it was not what we had expected, now we have already changed it. Of course we will keep growing our wonderfull mint for the mojitos and take care of Angel.
Thank you very much again in my name and all our team.
Narcis Coll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    48
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We were here in september 2009 for our honeymoon. Live on the 3 floor in a very BIG room with a BIG bed and everything we need. Breack fast is good! 5 min from the beach.
And the best part - owners of this place! Very kind people)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aartem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedes, Propietario at Medes II, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion and, thank you to insert it at Tripadvisor.
We are very glad to know that you pass a nice days with us and for us it’s very important that you remember your stay after more than three years.
Thanks again, we will try to keep giving the best of us to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel mainly because it was listed on the accommodation webpage link with dive dive shop we use. It is a nice quiet hotel, off the main tourist street i.e. not on the ocean. Although it is further from the dive shop than I would like (a long walk with heavy dive gear), and there isn't a balcony, which is a must with dive gear, I would stay there again if we weren't diving. The food was excellent. Much better than on the tourist route. Good choices and a nice atmosphere. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a nice secure parking area adjacent to the hotel. Never try to drive in Europe without a GPS. It is stress free driving. Most, if not all towns and cities in Europe, are impossible to navigate if you don't know your way around.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frodo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedes, Propietario at Medes II, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. Regarding the diving equipment, if you book the diving through us we can make the arrangements so that your materials are brought to the boat and back to the hotel. We also apologize for not having informed you that there is the possibility to dry the dive gear on the 4th floor, where the laundry of the hotel is. We will try to improve on the aspects that you mentionThis way, we hope that you can come back again also on a diving holidays.
Yours sincerely,

Narcís Coll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We had booked to stay in Medes 2 after finding it on Trip Advisor, We booked a junior suite and requested a room overlooking the pool and a parking space. The room was fine, a good size and clean, however, we didn't have a balcony. We went to see the lady on reception and she said that we hadn't asked for one! Apparently they have a few rooms without, I pointed out that on your site, and also on booking.com, it stated that every room had a terrace. She said that she could move us the next day but to a smaller room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the road. We were not happy with that and found another hotel to stay in. Our deposit was refunded, although the lady was clearly unhappy as we had made the reservation a few months before. I actually apologized to her as I felt that we had let her down!
So if you are booking this hotel, and a balcony is important to you, make sure that you request one!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz123186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedes, Owner at Medes II, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We apologize for the inconvenience caused and are really sorry that you had to abandon our establishment due to the lack of a balcony in your room. It is true that the description of our hotel appearing in booking.com states that all of our rooms have balcony, which is an important mistake, and we will correct it as soon as possible. However, we do not provide such information in our website.
We do recommend to specifically request the attributes that are of major relevance for the client, such as the balcony, the orientation of the room or the type of bed. This way, we can make the reservations more accurately and inform beforehand if it is the case that we do not have it available.
Again, our most sincere apologies and we hope that you were able to enjoy your time in Estartit anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I have been to medes11 a couple of times,plus others in my family.found it to be very clean,and the family very helpful .the beer, wines and spirits are a very fair price.even the landlord of the local bar drinks there.a very good allrounder.also good food.

Room Tip: on the poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianbroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedes, Propietario at Medes II, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you very much for your words, we look forward to see you again. It is our aim to provide a good service and help our guests have nice holidays. Comments such as yours make our team very happy and encourage us to keep working. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This is basic but clean. Staff was vert Nice and helpfull. Location was perfect, close enough to Walk everywhere but far enough from the crazyness of this town at night during a summer weekend! Private balcony,unconfortable twin beds in our room, Free wi-fi. Breakfast ok but a bit expensive. Pool ok but not a nice setting, better go to the beach! Very affordable for the location!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carnelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedes, Propietario at Medes II, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear guest, thank you for your comments.
We don’t understand your comment about the beds: if you would prefer a double bed or if the beds were not comfortable enough, we apologise anyway. We also prefer our 6 km sandy beach, but the pool area is a good option in the windy days or when the sea is to rough to swim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Although it seemed a little basic in fact it had everything u would want from a hotel, there were just no touches of luxury. But we chose it for location and price so to be fair it didn't pretend to be something it wasn't! The room was a little dark but it had everything you needed and it had a good bathroom. The bar and restaurant were fine as was the pool area. Again all quite basic but fine nevertheless. Its location was really good - the town centre was in one direction (about 10 mins walk) and the beach another (about 5 mins). Overall this may not seem like the best of reviews but I would actually stay here again and recommend it to others. If u r just looking for somewhere clean and comfortable in the very lovely town of L'Estartit then this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillizDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmedes, Propietario at Medes II, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Thank you for your comments. We think that your description reflects the kind of hotel that we pretend to be. An honest 2 stars hotel which offers the services and quality that people can expect from it; with all the staff trying to make it function properly. Having heard from your advice, we will do our best to make the rooms brighter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Estartit hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Anna
Hotel Santa Anna
#1 of 17 in L'Estartit
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#3 of 17 in L'Estartit
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nereida Hotel
Nereida Hotel
#4 of 17 in L'Estartit
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bell Aire Hotel
Bell Aire Hotel
#2 of 17 in L'Estartit
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Illes
Hotel Les Illes
#9 of 17 in L'Estartit
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centremar
Centremar
#5 of 17 in L'Estartit
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medes II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medes II

Property: Medes II
Address: Carrer Guillem de Montgri 38, 17258 L'Estartit, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > L'Estartit
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in L'Estartit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Medes II 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Estartit in the Costa Brava, just a few metres from the beach and the shops, is Hotel Medes II. It's a wonderful place to relax and enjoy yourself all the year round. We put our friendly manner and experience at your service. During your stay you can enjoy a sweeping beach of fine sand, a rocky coast with coves and idyllic spots, the Medes Islands Nature reserve. Sea sports and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medes II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medes II Spain/Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing