We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very quiet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping Castell Montgri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Castell Montgri
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 18th May for a week, stated with siesta lodges clean and spacious as always, was a shame for the 2nd/3rd week of the season there was no entertainment, one night they played equalizer and people stayed so why not do something every night to keep the people on site? All in all a great site still

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaunh2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    200
    75
    51
    34
See reviews for
447
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I went here with my mum and dad, brother, his wife and kids and my own husband and my children, we enjoyed it so much we are all going again later on this week and my daughter is taking a friend. So she can go to the over 16's disco with someone else apart from her parents as we are too embarrassing. She wouldn't let us go with her on our last holiday.
We decided to go back here because we know our way around and we won't be spending days exploring. It was abit different to our other holidays staying in 5* hotels and being all inclusive. It actually costed about the same but the children enjoyed it a lot more obviously because there are more things to do for them. We didn't know about the pool in the mountains until the last night so we only got to go up there once. We preferred it at night so we will go up ther 3/4 times this holiday and maybe have dinner there. We didn't actually have dinner in sight but we had pre drinks and the service was amazing. The pools were both fun and I like the idea how they have a diving board in one. (It's only small but still.) I learned a lot in this holiday and can't wait to go again

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had stayed in Cambrils on previous holidays but fancied a change. 2 adults & 4 kids, ranging in age from 7 to 12 stayed with Eurocamp in 3 bed close to animal farm. Accommodation was superb, brand new, fully equipped with amazing view of castle up on the hill. Very quiet at night. Full size fridge freezer, oven, gas hob and all you could want in cutlery & delph. I had read in other reviews that you needed to clean your h8me before you left or would be charged extra, this is not the case with eurocamp. The scenery is amazing, you are in abasin surrounded by mountains with the sea in the distance. It is wonderfully green & you don't have the feeling of claustrophobia that I've experienced on other sites.

TRANSFERS. we booked with estartit taxis for both transfers from/ to Girona airport, cost 75 euro each way which was great value compared to price quoted by eurocamp. They are English run, clean and superbly efficient.

FOOD; I have given up expecting good food while on this type of holiday so it was as I expected, burgers, chips, pizza etc. It is very cheap to eat out on site and Jocs just down the road, (turn left) is a change of scenery, we found the food in Estartit to be of similar type, all fried, with chips. If you do want to cook, Lidl is really great and superior in choice to Lidl in Ireland, onsite supermarket is really well stocked and though a little more expensive saves the 10 minute walk (turn right) to Lidl in the heat.

There is a real mix of ages and nationalities in Castell Monrtgris which gives it a sense of community rather than a butlins in the sun. The pools are fab and there is a lifeguard on duty all day and most of the evening. The evening entertainment is good and theyhave a disco every night for teenagers which was very popular. We have 2 soccer mad boys and they had two pitches to chose from, they played 8 hours a day so we never saw them. We hope to return next year

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

18 of us travelled to Estartit for our holiday. 2 grandparents in their 60s, 8 parents, aunts & uncles and 8 children aged 16 years to 18 months. This was my first time to stay at a campsite like this but some members of our party had stayed at Castell Montrgi last year. This is how I found it.

THE CAMPSITE; The site is huge. There is 1 giant pool with a 50m section as well as a fountain, a children's area and a small diving board. A second, with water slides and a third with a waterfall. But note you must pay for sunbeds at the pool, 4e per day. There are mobile homes, permanent tents as well as sites for camper vans, caravans and canvas tents. There are a number of take away and sit down restaurants and bars on site. The site is built on the side of a hill with some steep sections, so ask for a low position if uphill mobility is an issue for anyone. We stayed in a mobile with "Eurocamp" one of the tour operators who have units on the site. There are many so check around. Although we stayed in a 2 bedroom mobile one room was very small, suitable only for small children and not the 4 adults we had. so again pay close attention to the mobile you book. Our party had 4 different types. All were clean and well fitted out with air-con, fridge, microwave, full gas cooker with grill & oven, toilet, shower, gas barbeque and all cookware and utensils as well as dishes and cutlery. Outside were wooden decks with table and chairs plus sunbeds and loungers. Sheets and towels are extra and at the prices charged you may want to bring your own.

LOCATION; The campsite is about a 20min walk outside L'Estartit which is a nice town on the beach with a nice mix of a tourist and local feel. There is a long shopping street and all the bars and restaurants you could wish for. Our favourites were Harveys (along the seafront), China Town (on Ave Roma), Nereida Hotel (on roundabout on your way into town) and Pizza San Marina (on the road before same roundabout). The beech is long with a harbour at one end where you can take boat trips to the "Medes" islands just off the coast. These are a protected site and very popular with divers.

OUTINGS; We all went on a glass bottom boat trip to Medes which the kids loved and was interesting. However I mostly went to go swimming and felt that we could have stopped at a better location to snorkel.
I also went on walks to "Cala Pedrosa" a beautiful cove just north of Estartit and to the actual Montgri castle on a hilltop just outside the neighbouring town of Torrella de Montgri. Both lovely walks and well worth the effort.
Bike hire is best done from a small shop "Emporda Natura" near the campsite on the walk into town next to Jocs. Here they have good Scott mountain bikes and can get road bikes if required. Prices are the same as on site, which is nearly half what you'll pay in town, but the bikes are far superior. I took spins along the "Ter" river as well as day trips to "Empuries" ( Greek & Roman ruins) and "Ullastret" (Iberian ruins from 6000BC). All easy cycles and again well worth the effort.

I'm sure there is much more I could tell you but I'm going to call it a day. In summary we all had a great time young and old. You can run around all day doing activities or just laze about. There is already talk of returning next year, sure I might even go myself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank GerryRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our second visit to this campsite, we arrived a little weary after a delayed flight due to air traffic control strike in France! However the following morning we met Barry-rep (Irish guy from Ballincollig) who was very friendly & professional. We felt relaxed again this year with the surroundings and our area was fantastic near the farm & very quiet. We booked our holiday with Lifestyle holidays & mobile home was spotless with all the mod cons. We have to make a very special mention about two of Lifestyles amazing rep's; Mick & Kim who we met last year and again this year. They are an asset to Lifestyle holidays & indeed Castell Montgri, my son gave Kim a loom band he loved her so much. Thanks again for a great holiday, please god we'll be back again next year. Just wished we booked 2 weeks, 1 week is too short........

Room Tip: We chose the brown area near the farm. Great for younger kids as quiet & near the panorama pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LadyCM31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from Castell Montgri having spent 11 nights there. We are a family of 5 with three energetic boys aging from 10 To 16. This was our first holiday on a campsite. (previous holidays have been spent in 2-3 bedroomed apartments). We travelled with Kelair Campotel. We hired a car at Girona airport and made our way to the campsite, which was a relatively easy journey.(Aided by directions we received from Kel air) On arrival, we checked in with the security guard, who in turn alerted our Kel air representative of our arrival. We were met by Paula, who showed us to our accommodation and gave us lots of information on the campsite and the surrounding areas. We rented a mecure loggia, which was probably too small for 5 people, but we managed. The campsite itself has lots of activities, especially for younger children. However, with the exception of the pools, slides and football, we availed of few of these activities, so cannot comment on them. The town of Estartit is about a 15 minutes walk away and we went there most nights. It has a reasonable variety of restaurants and two particular favourites of ours were Harveys and Els Arquets. Our Kel air representatives were Paula and Maurice and they were excellent. They did everything possible to ensure we had a great holiday. This was our first visit to a campsite, therefore cannot make comparisons to others. However, I can say that we had a fantastic holiday and that all staff we met on the campsite were friendly and helpful, as were the people in shops and restaurants in Esrartit. I would recommend you hire a car as it is a hilly campsite and although Lidl is close by, its a long haul up the hill with shopping. Also the surrounding towns and country side are well worth exploring.

Room Tip: I would opt for Decking with your mobile home as it soon becomes another room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank familyfun123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband, myself and 2 sons aged 18 and 16 (15 when we first arrived) are back from a wonderful stay at Castell, this was our 7th time and the only thing I can really complain about was the walk to our caravan ( green 28). We booked with lifestyle holidays and the reps were brilliant nothing was too much bother for them, they fixed our air con within 1 hour of reporting it. The reception staff were really helpful and friendly infact when my son went to reception to get his wristband changed on his birthday they sang happy birthday to him. With regards to out and about in Estartit give Harveys bar a bash, fantastic prices and portion sizes, try Kims bar if you are looking for a quick snack, or puccinis. We spent most nights at Mont Pla just off camp, lovely friendly staff especially Carlos and Lolly who remembered us from last year.

Would definately book again but would book a caravan near the L'ombra area

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Estartit
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Anna
Hotel Santa Anna
#1 of 17 in L'Estartit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
13.4 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Les Illes
Hotel Les Illes
#9 of 17 in L'Estartit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
El Delfin Verde
El Delfin Verde
#1 of 7 in Torroella de Montgri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.5 mi away
Camping Playa Brava
5.0 mi away
Camping & Bungalows  Interpals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Castell Montgri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Castell Montgri

Property: Camping Castell Montgri
Address: Ctra. Torroella-Estartit, Km. 4,700, 17258 L'Estartit, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > L'Estartit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Speciality Lodging in L'Estartit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Castell Montgri 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with CampingAndCo and Booking.com so you can book your Camping Castell Montgri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castell Montgri Hotel l`Estartit
Camping Castell Montgri Spain/Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing