We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed at frigola and was awful, dont stay at frigola!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Flamingo
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in L'Estartit
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We stayed at frigola and was awful, dont stay at frigola!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Book a week all inclusive at the frigola!!!! Dont stay here its awful !!!!! Location is fab !!!!! Please dont even think about staying at this hotel!!!! Dull,dirty, in desperate need of up grade!!! Food awful, pool dirty, pool area disgusting and you get no sun around the pool at all!!!! Got moved to the flamingo which is ajoining and omg!!!! Its what u wud expect from a 3 star hotel , food was better !!! Pool very clean pool area clean!!!! All inclusive bar closes at 10 pm and they are very strict!!!!! No ice cream, crisps included in all inclusive, no entertainment at all , staff very un helpful!!!! Do not go with kids as noting for them to do !!! Had a fab holiday when we got move to the flamingo but we did eat out!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    78
    25
    11
    8
See reviews for
51
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Flamingo Hotel and Frigola Hotel are the same one - don't be fooled.

1. Filthy rooms with dirty walls and shabby furniture. There was sick on the walls and the food smell was very strong from the downstairs restaurant
2. Filthy bathrooms with rusty taps (as pictured)
3. Horrible food! The worse food I have ever had. Breakfast doesn t really exists; it consists of old mouldy bread and the leftovers from the day before
4. We had all inclusive and when asking for drinks from the bar we were not given what we wanted. We were told they don t have what we wanted even though the drinks were displayed in front of our eyes. Furthermore, they serve you the drinks in dirty plastic glasses which is just disgusting
5. The hotel is full of youngster between 16 - 18 years old that party all night and are being sick in the rooms; very noisy until 4am with people running up and down the corridors.
6. If you have any good clothes, leave them home or you will return without them. My jacket had disappeared and couldn t be found.
7. If you have any complaints, forget it: there is nobody you can talk to.
8. The towels in the bathroom had hols in them as pictured
9. There is no TV or hair drier in the room as advertised.
10. Staff very disorganised and they admit that there are only problems with the hotel. Staff barely understands english.
11. There are no toiletries in the bathroom.
12. The bar closes at 9:30 for all inclusive customers but remains open until 00:00 for you to pay for your drinks if you actually want one!

I am surprised that this hotel is running in this state. They should close them down. That place is something from a nightmare. Cancel if you have already booked or you will regret! As one of the other reviewers said, if it s too late to cancel, stay home and you will be better off.

This really put me off Spain and gave me the impression that it is a dirty place with very disorganised people.

We have moved from this hotel to a 4 star hotel that was considerably better, however they did not have the hair drier and the safe in the room as advertised on the website. You had to pay extra to get them. Therefore, I am wondering: do all the hotels in Spain lie about the rooms facilities on their website? How can I go back having peace of mind that what I see on the website will actually be what I get?! Very disappointing

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatildaDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

There has been some inconsistency in the reviews for the Flamingo but my own experience was quite positive. The front desk staff were efficient, friendly, and multilingual. Breakfasts were about average for Spain and clearly designed to accommodate UK as well as Spanish tastes. The room was clean and fairly large and furnished as you would expect in a one-star hotel. Perfectly acceptable. The pool was large enough for adults as well as children to use and the various people who staffed the poolside bar/snack shop were friendly and efficient.

You have to pay extra for internet connection and about the only place it works is in the inside bar. For that reason a lot of people in the bar are there to check their email, not to have a drink, and service was a bit desultory.

L’estartit is pretty small so the hotel is very close to both the beach and the harbour. I wouldn’t say it’s a fabulous location, but it was okay. There were a lot of UK visitors in the hotel, probably because it is on the Siesta bus tour, and I heard Italian, French, and (I think) Russian. I would venture to say this is not where people from Barcelona come to get away from the heat – it’s much more for other Europeans looking for an inexpensive Costa Brava vacation (and for dive enthusiasts). This won’t be to everyone’s tastes and normally wouldn’t have been to mine, but I quite enjoyed my four days there and considered it perfectly acceptable and good value for money.

Room Tip: I'd recommend you ask for a room overlooking the pool. You get a great view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FormerlyBCBoy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Came on a coach overnight so great to get into room at 10.30 a.m.! Hotel was in a good position for the beach,town etc,nice garden and small pool to rear,very clean throughout,modern bar area,basic but adequate room. But was lacking on atmosphere .Found the hotel staff not overly friendly and helpful,(each time I had to ask anything at reception felt I was wasting their time)On arrival you are just given your key and its up to you to find out any information e.g meal times etc There was only ever 1 member of staff on the bar who always seemed totally stressed. The selection of food was good but it was always only warm and the dining room experience was similar to a canteen and again didn't find the staff helpful or friendly. Worst part was the dreadful shower in our room,water temperature very hard to regulate -could be scalding or freezing ! the shower curtain was useless which ended up with the floor flooded each time and needing to be mopped up with towels!! Would not go back for a weeks holiday,fine for a couple of nights stopover. p.s make sure you take a hairdryer as they are not provided in the bedrooms!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wiseowl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleator, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

after going to estartit for the last 15 years staying on castell montgri and in apartments in town we decided to splash out and stay in the hotel flamingo ,we were not dissapointed the staff are very friendly and helpful , the room was spotless ,the maid came in every day , food was very good with a lot of choice we stayed half board .the reception staff we could not fault , the flamingo is a family run hotel not part of a chain and it shows the rooms were a little tired decoration wise but very clean decent size bathroom with a large shower toilet sink and bidet ,will definately go back again

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cookyliz1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We go to this hotel every year since I was 3 years old. We have really got to know the people that own the hotel and also regular guests that also go back every year. This hotel has never had bed bugs (.. !!!!) and the rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. Should there be an issue with any of the rooms we have stayed in then we will report to Pedro who works on reception and he will sort the problem out promto! Should they have any issues in dealing with queries then they will tell us straight away. The food is brilliant and just what we want and if we want to eat out then all we have to do is tell reception and they will update our bill. I would really recommend this hotel and don't be put off by the false comments as this hotel is run by a family that are willing and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Amieewarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

stayed at the flamingo read some reviews before we went on holiday and started to panic
I am very fussy and just cant stay anywhere that is not clean but this hotel is fantastic
if you want a really relaxing holiday close to the beach and some lovely restaurants easy on the pocket then this is the perfect hotel the staff are very helpful and friendly well kept gardens and pool area we arrived early which was not a problem to the staff who made sure we got into the room as soon as possible (within half an hour) nothing was too much trouble we didnt really need to ask the staff for anything because everything we needed was on hand throughout the hotel this hotel should have a higher rating well done flamingo you know your excellent because your customers just keep going back year after year

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donna123Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these L'Estartit hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Anna
Hotel Santa Anna
#1 of 16 in L'Estartit
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nereida Hotel
Nereida Hotel
#4 of 16 in L'Estartit
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#3 of 16 in L'Estartit
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Illes
Hotel Les Illes
#8 of 16 in L'Estartit
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medes II
Medes II
#7 of 16 in L'Estartit
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centremar
Centremar
#6 of 16 in L'Estartit
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Property: Hotel Flamingo
Address: Carrer de l'Esglesia 112, 17258 L'Estartit, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > L'Estartit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in L'Estartit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flamingo 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Flamingo Spain/Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing