We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for golf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gualta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This hotel overlooks a golf course so, if you play you are already there. We stayed in the winter, very reasonable, excellent room and good food in the restaurant. It is in the middle of nowhere so a car is absolutely vital. Not convenient for Gerona airport, especially if you have an early flight, as it is about an hour away but if you have plenty of time, as we did, then a very economical and comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the golf course. Woken early by the greens being prepared!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBeziers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

Although the room was absolutely fine (large enough, quiet and clean), and the Forest golf course quite beautiful, I am at pains to understand how the kitchen could be allowed to serve meals of such diabolical quality.

We had been promised a Grand Buffet, but instead were each given a plate of very dark brown, rock hard, unidentifiable lumps, which looked like they had been initially cooked in a bygone age and then reheated at periodic intervals.

There seemed to be a disconnect between the hotel and the golf setup.

I would happily play the golf course again, but would no way return to a hotel that treats its paying guests with such utter disdain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Millox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed for one night at the hotel and had feared the worst having read the comments in TripAdvisor prior to our stay.

However, we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very modern and spacious with a functional design. It is set in the grounds of a large golf course -if you don't play, you get the great views and tranquil setting as a bonus.

The room was ample and very well furnished with a large and comfortable bed. We slept extremely well as the room is well sound-proofed.

Breakfast (the only meal we had) was a disappointment -chaotic and with little variety. We arrived 40 minutes before it closed, and several options were unavailable, including eggs and bacon. We also had to wait to sit down, the tables were not cleaned and we ate in a chrous of client complaints.

However, everything else, including the attention to detail of the receptionist, was very good and I recommend this hotel as a good option.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slickricspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I was staying with friends who have a house in nearby Pals, and booked a beauty treatment at Emporda Golf Resort and Spa with the hotel reception for the following day, leaving a credit card number as guarantee and a phone number to be contacted on if there was a problem.

I assumed as I had not heard that my reservation was fine, and arrived just after 10 for a 1030am appointment. I was told that the spa did not open until 1030am and the man I spoke to called a colleague to inform her that a client was waiting. He inferred I could get undressed and could wait within the spa.So I waited for the appointment in the chairs around the pool. As I sat and waited, i regularly checked the clock on the wall. I got so fed up waiting I went to see the receptionist of the spa who had appeared. It transpired that the hotel reception had not booked the appointment and that whilst I sat waiting all but one appointments had been taken.
I checked my phone which alerted me to the spa clock was incorrect, 24 minutes slow.
Normally as a spa is a place to relax the one thing you don't take is a watch or phone but as i had already missed one appointment I was keen not to miss a second so had to keep going back to my locker to check what time it was.
As I was already there I decided to take the last vacancy and use the spa until my time slot at 1pm. I should have been warned by the lack of poor organisation at that stage but I stuck it out.
and used the facilities until 1230pm.

The facilities were good with the exception the steam room was out of action and the sand in the sauna to keep time didn't work either. The plus point was the pool and assortments of jets for muscle relief in the jacuzzi.

Finally I had my turn nearly 3 hours later- was it worth the wait?
No definitely not. The masseuse is also the person who answers the phone so halfway through the treatment she disappeared to answer a call. The lights in the treatment room are so bright you need to wear sunglasses unlike the rest of the place where it so dark you cant read the magazines that are provided in the rest area.
The spa closes at 1330 until 1530 for lunch so if you fancy a swim or massage after a round of golf in the morning forget it until after 1530.
I found a total lack of professionalism and would strongly advise others to either avoid it or wait hope until it improves. If this had been my first visit to a spa for treatment I don't think I would bother again. Fortunately there are others in the Girona area, including the excellent Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf Club who understand what it takes to run a spa and treatment centre and make the customer wishing to make repeat visits.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jec1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Quiet Spain on a busy costa. The hotel is situated between two golf courses but you don't have to play golf to stay here. The staff are friendly and helpful, rooms big with lovely bathrooms and if the beach doesn't do it for you there is a spa. There is so much to see close at hand when based at the Emporda. The beaches situated near the hotel are beautiful. You can choose from long sandy beaches or small beach coves. It's all very Spanish. We have visited this hotel on several occasions and have never been disappointed on our return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the old town of Pals have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McNKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Emorda is a little over two hours North of Barcelona. Its a Good hotel. Excellent large rooms with good balconies. The restaurant is not great. It's 15 euros for guests to use the pool in the spa area - quite a rip-off if you ask me. The golf is excellent with two very high quality courses right outside the door. Other towns are within ten to twenty minutes drive away. Other courses are at Pals a ten minute drive. If you want golf, this is right up there. If you want more, then there are other far better choices.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BazNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We spend at least a week in Costa Brava each year, and this time we decided to change hotel as we kept returning to the same hotel each year. It was a very pleasant surprise, the hotel reception staff was very helpful during enquries through email, we made our reservations through email and a phone call. The hotel's interior was lovely, we love the designs and the furnishings. Buffet breakfast was delicious, there is a good range of food, from cereals to all several different types of bread, hams, sausages, eggs, fresh fruits, juices etc. Service was great, with a lovely view. There are 2 18-hole golf courses(forest & links), very well maintained. Restaurant in the clubhouse served a value for money menu (which changes each day), at 17.50 euro excluding tax for a 3 course meal. We enjoyed every meal. The pool was very clean and well maintained. Housekeeping service was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommended as we will return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualta
1.4 mi away
URH Moli del Mig
URH Moli del Mig
#1 of 6 in Torroella de Montgri
294 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Costa Golf & Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Aparthotel Golf Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
5.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
6.7 mi away
L'Escala Resort
L'Escala Resort
#5 of 6 in L'Escala
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda

Address: C/ Torroella a Palafrugell s/n, 17257 Gualta, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Gualta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gualta
Price Range: £52 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda offers the perfect retreat in the heart of Costa Brava. Enjoy a round of golf on one of the two 18-hole golf courses (Links & Forest), Alternatively, treat yourself to a luxurious beauty treatment in the hotel's spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing