We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OAP paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H.TOP Pineda Palace
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Arrived at h top callela palace at 0130 in morning after hour transfer from barcelona to be told we where booked in to different hotel in pineda de mar and had to get a taxi to take us the 3k there . Not a great start ! After checking in, getting our photo's taken and given an array of 6 cards we could finally get our room . The walls are paper thin and you can here everything from the tv in next room to someone snoring in the room the other side and of course everything else that goes on in hotel rooms . All meals are buffet style breakfast very poor everything was cold and we only ate breakfast on the first morning and gave it a miss after that . Lunch was pork , fish sometimes chicken but again food was cold this theme continued through to dinner . Beer and wine is available in buffet but when you go to the bar outside the buffet a lot of the drinks on offer are not included in the all inclusive package . Most staff are unfriendly abrupt and have no real idea of customer service . We ended up eating sandwiches by the rooftop pool most days and eating out every night very disappointing as we where supposed to be all inclusive ! The town it's self is very quiet and doesn't have a lot to do apart from tapas bars or pavement cafes . Not really would we expect from a holiday and would not return .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for H.TOP Pineda Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

the htop organisation is a joke this was our third holiday with htop and twice we have been changed in very short notice. we stopped at the pineda palace after being given 24 hours notice and the hotel was full of Spanish pensioners and everything was geared up for them. however the hotel was clean the food was ok but not what we wanted absolutely nothing to do.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vincent00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Firstly to be fair the hotel itself isn't to bad, rooms very generous in size and have nice flat screen tv. The staff, especially the two ladies were extremely helpful and nice.

I was sold a holiday that would provide lots for my 8 and 10 year old to do, lots of other British families, that we would love it etc etc.

What I got was a hotel full of Spanish geriatric's, few and I mean few kids and a small pool on the top of the building with a closed pool bar. If you wanted a drink you had to catch the lift down walk through the hotel, collect your one drink in a small plastic cup then make the reverse journey. By the time you got up to the ninth floor you had drunk the drink and need to go down again for a top-up. I realize it's out of season, but it's not all that and pool is raised off the ground so you cannot see what's going on with the kids in the pool unless you stand up and it's very small.

At dinner, we had just finished our main when an old Spanish woman stood behind my daughter holding the back of her chair muttering away in Spanish. I thought she was telling me how beutiful my daughter looked. No, apparently we were in her seat, her seat, and she wasn't happy, like it's all inclusive you sit where you want but that wasn't good enough for this lady. She expected the seat she wanted right beside the buffet food.

The food wasn't bad, my lunch on day of arrival was a huge pork shank which was loverly, though there is not enough room around the buffet and it gets a bit crowded and frustrating.

Well that evening I could take it no more, this wasn't a place for kids or anyone under 50 for that matter. I asked if we could be moved to another h-top hotel with kids and families as I expected. Fortunately the loverly girl at reception understood our dilemma and pulled some strings and got us moved a few miles up the road to the h-top Royal sun and thus we could begin our holiday atlast.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank elbatsnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Having travelled to this part of Costa Brava [Catalonya] many times over the past 20+ years, I have seen the quiet coastal town of Pineda De Mar grow and improve, taking the best of tourism requirements and still retaining their fiercely protected traditions. I find it odd that some travellers to this part of the world are surprised when no one speaks English and everything is Spanish! Hello! IT IS SPAIN! Whilst I am also VERY OLD now-being 52 [!], I was only in my late twenties when I first happened upon this beautiful coast and have brought all my children here, initially 18months old, 5yrs and 7yrs. Essentially, unless your prepared to entertain your children yourself [play on the beach, swim, take a train ride, visit interesting historical places etc] , you need to visit this part of Catalonya in high season, when all the hotels, bars etc are open and the "kiddies clubs" will be flourishing, as from October to end May there will only be the "local" bars, cafes and restaurants and a couple of the larger hotels that cater for mainly older travellers. The reason why there are many retired Catalonian and Spanish guests at Pineda Palace [and other similar hotels] is due to the excellent government policy of providing a greatly subsidised 2week vacation, annually, all inclusive, for their valued older community. In my opinion its a great pity the UK government doesn't value it's retired people to the same extent.
The card systems have had to be adopted, sadly, because of unscrupulous travellers who either try to get a table full of drinks at one go and proceed to get very inebriated and/or sneak "free" drinks to others who aren't on All Inclusive or don't even belong to the hotel! One card ensures they log the "sale" on their till, the drink card ensures only 1 drink at a time. Photo ID is now required due to the need for increased security and ensuring guests can be identified in cases of emergency or, unfortunately on odd occasions of dishonesty.
Pineda Palace offers a great variety of well prepared, cooked and served food, concentrating on all the healthy and local ingredients and menus and as with most "All inclusive" deals-imported and international drinks have to be paid for separately, but my husbands bottle of Magners only cost 3euros, which is a great discount from the usual £4.50/£5 he pays in the UK. There are free snacks available when breakfast is finished and a few other items that you can choose to purchase or not.
The rooftop pool is cold but once in it you soon warm up and the view is fabulous. There is also a lovely sauna, drench shower and Jacuzzi which you can have all to yourself and free-if you're all inclusive. The only minor disappointment for us was that the free bikes weren't fixed yet-and as everyone knows, out of season, it can be case of manana, manana[!] but at least the workers are less likely to have a heart-attack through rushing around chasing their tails as we do in the UK!
I've just returned from a 9 night stay which I got at a very good price, after checking a number of the usual websites-in total with return flights, private taxi transfers and AI-just over £650 for us both [£325 each is fantastic-we couldn't have similar stay in UK for that].
If you like to mingle with the locals, enjoy history, sightseeing or chilling on the beach, don't be put off trying Pineda De Mar and the really excellent Pineda Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It's where nanas go to knit shredded wheat.

The Hotel is geared towards the more mature travelers and the resort is, well it has a bar and a pizza restaurant and, and oh and a train station where you can travel to somewhere more exciting.

The Hotel is clean, the service at the bar is not great especially with their mystifying card for a glass system and separate card for a drink system, which means you are constantly ferrying to and from the bar for your small glass of beer. Food can be cold but there is a microwave tucked at the back of the restaurant if you need to heat it up.

Would I go back?, yes maybe in 30 years or so.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed From Monday 17th- Sat 23rd March With my partner and my 1 year old daughter. Firstly this is not the type of hotel to bring young children!! There was absolutely nothing for her to do there and they had a children's room which she wasn't allowed to use we went there to check what was in there and found a man sleeping in the middle of the floor. My partner and myself are a young couple and the guests that were there was OLD (45+) and absolutely no1 spoke English. The guests however we're very friendly towards us and loved my little girl they played with her and we're lovely but just didn't understand each other. When we arrived at the hotel our details wasn't on their system so we had to wait a while to prove that we're had reservations from this hotel. They took our pictures upon arrival as a hotel "policy" and had to wait 30 for a room. We were given 6 cards; 2 for the room, 2 for drinks and 2 for food & drink. The drinks policy was a load of S**t we stayed all inclusive but not everything was all inclusive you still have to pay for certain snacks cocktails drinks ect . In order to get a drink you have to do an exchange for a card this was at the bar. However in the restaurant having a little girl with us we wasn't allowed soft drinks after breakfast nor was we allowed to bring soft drinks from the bar into the restaurant so it was either fizzy or nothing! The food was either horrible or cold we Ate chips throughout the whole stay until we decided to go to a mcDonalds 20 mins walking distance or 5 mins in car away from the hotel. The location as for beAch was great however was abit annoying because of the train and where our room was located. The noise always woke us up!! 1 train stop to calella was where you would want to visit there's or a hour away from Barcalona where we had KFC Burger King McD Starbucks Chinese Zoo Aquarium tour busses, Zara h&m Lacoste primark ect it was €19.50 or €120 in taxi!!! Some staff were friendly as for the main guy at the reception he was rude and unhelpful especially cos the company we booked with messed up our transfers we had to get train when we phoned the hotel for help he was huffing and puffing who knew he could blow a house down! Rooms we're clean hotel was clean food was horrible just so glad to be home! Never returning again. Everyone and everything was Spanish defo not for me! Will not be returning

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Booked this break from 4th - 8th March 2014. All Inclusive, we are a couple in their 50's.
On arrival we were greeted by a very helpful and knowledgeable young man at reception. Our room was lovely, clean, tidy and with a super large TV. Bathroom was really a good size too which can sometimes be a bit of an issue. Food at all times was lovely, typical Spanish Fayre but all excellent with a wide variety to choose from. Entertainment on throughout and all staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms cleaned faithfully every morning. Roof top terrace was just what the doctor ordered for the lovely weather we had. All in all and excellent break away and very reasonably priced. No issues with people over indulging and causing problems. We will certainly go back, as we had a really great chilled time, homeward bound with batteries recharged and a BIG thank you to all the staff who made this an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pineda de Mar
1.9 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
2.0 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#11 of 43 in Calella
1,373 reviews
2.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Sun
H.TOP Royal Sun
#16 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel Promenade
Aqua Hotel Promenade
#3 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
#2 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
181 reviews
9.0 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#74 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Pineda Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Pineda Palace

Address: Passeig Maritim 9, 08397 Pineda de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Pineda de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pineda de Mar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pineda de Mar
Price Range: £41 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Pineda Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior H·TOP Pineda Palace Hotel enjoys a privileged position on the Pineda de Mar beach facing the sea, approximately 10 minutes from the centre of the resort. Pineda de Mar offers a great choice of entertainment, restaurants and shops. The modern 194-room HTOP Pineda Palace Hotel presents you with glorious views across the beach and azure Mediterranean and provides comfort and hospitality for a fine holiday. Relax and unwind with great food and drink, rooftop swimming poolfor adults and children, sun terrace with loungers and parasols, spa facilities as a Jacuzzi and sauna. The H·TOP Pineda Palace offers a full daily and evening entertainment programme. The more active can work-out in the gym, engage in the daily activities and sports fun, and seek out external water sports and other pursuits. Guests staying on All Inclusive can hire bikes & quadricycles free of charge.Transfer to Girona or Barcelona Airport available (charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Pineda Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineda Palace Top Hotel
Top Hotel Pineda De Mar
Top Pineda Palace
Pineda De Mar Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing