We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lord Watney
east sussex

Clean spacious hotel in a good location, small pool and issues with sun beds

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Aug 2023via mobile
We stayed here for a week with family, my wife, daughter and two teenage granddaughters. Our twin room was superb with a spacious bathroom, balcony and comfy bed plus air conditioning. My daughter’s room was a bit cramped but they seem ok with it.

The location is excellent and only 5 minute walk to the beach or station. We used the railway and could get to Barcelona in about an hour & 15 minutes for only 11 euros return!

We only had B & B so can’t really comment on the food but breakfast was good and plenty of variety.

Might have given the hotel 5 stars but the pool area isn’t great, the pool is small and the hotel’s policy on reserving sun beds was completely ignored, towels being plonked on sun bed within 10 minutes of opening. We gave up using it and went to the beach instead. Why can’t the management do something about stopping people bagging a sun bed and only using when they felt like it. It’s so inconsiderate and selfish.

Other than whinge, all good.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Do what all the other selfish people do, reserve your sun bed by plonking a towel on it at...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sumus Hotels Group, Dueño at Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa, responded to this review
Responded 31 Aug 2023
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel. It is great to know that you found the rooms spacious and comfortable, and that the location suited your family's needs well. We are glad that you consider the location a plus. It's a shame to hear about the problems you had with the pool area, in particular with the sun lounger reservation situation. This is a common concern in many hotels, and you are right that it can be frustrating. We are striving to try and reduce the problem that the sun lounger issue is creating. Despite this problem, it is good to hear that you had a positive stay overall. We hope you had a great time in Barcelona and enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£138
  • Expedia.com
    £146
  • ZenHotels.com
    £114
  • Priceline
0.0 miles from Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
£102
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £106
  • Agoda.com
    £73
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Pool
Restaurant
£132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    £128
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £128
0.2 miles from Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Bar/Lounge
£84
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £76
  • Expedia.com
    £83
0.1 miles from Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
0.3 miles from Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Pool
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
0.8 miles from Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Free parking
Pool
Мой номер 320
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.4 miles from Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Bar/Lounge
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
1.0 miles from Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pineda de Mar
Reviews (1,029)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveller rating
544
299
114
39
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
544
299
114
39
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area bar staff train station comfort room relaxing holiday bar snacks lovely hotel plenty of choice every night sun loungers all inclusive food every meal quiet resort town centre crisps small pool included in the all inclusive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2023

Fabulous holiday at this hotel. Staff were very friendly in all areas of hotel. Rooms spotless cleaned daily and clean towels. Food and restaurant were amazing so much choice. Lourdes the manager was very hands in checking everything was perfect and always chatting with the guests. I actually got to meet the owner she was a lovely lady spending an evening in the hotel. One of the best al inclusive we have stayed in. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely return ,

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sumus Hotels Group, Dueño at Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2023

Thank you very much Allison for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a fabulous holiday at our hotel. It is wonderful to know that our staff were friendly, the rooms were spotless and the food in our restaurant was great and varied. We appreciate your kind words about Lourdes, our manager.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and for considering returning in the future. It means a lot to us that you had such a positive experience. If you are planning to visit us again, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Sumus Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2023

Very nice and comfortable hotel, extremely clean everywhere - in the rooms, halls and restaurant. It's very well located - 5 minute's walk from the railway station and from the sea in rather quiet and not crowdy street, but very close to town promenade and various shops. The hotel gives free beach towels and sun umbrella, public beach is very close, clean, huge and almost no people during working days, though it will depend on a month. The food in the restaurant was fantastic: a lot of seafood, paella every meal, fruit and vegetables, variety of desserts. At first, we had breakfast only, then tried lunch and dinner, and decided to buy a full board - it's very cost-effective, saves your time, and very tasty. And, of course, all hotel employees we met are amazing! Thank you so much for a very warm welcome!

Room tip: Street view rooms are not so noisy outside at night
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 1230lena
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sumus Hotels Group, Dueño at Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2023

Dear guest, it's wonderful to hear that you had such a positive experience during your stay at the hotel. Your description of the cleanliness, location, and the amenities provided is very helpful. It sounds like the hotel's proximity to the beach and various shops made your stay convenient and enjoyable. It's also great to know that you appreciated the variety and quality of the food in the restaurant, and that you found value in upgrading to full board. The fact that you found the staff to be amazing and the welcome warm is a testament to the hotel's dedication to guest satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and we hope you'll consider staying at the Sumus Monteplaya again in the future. Your sincerily. Sumus Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2023

Upon arrival all staff were friendly and helpful in anything we needed. All inclusive great value for money and lots of variety of food including great bar snacks. Everyone from directors to cleaners were great. Would highly recommend the hotel , however Pineda itself didn’t have loads to offer so you need to travel a bit further afield for outside entertainment. Thanks Sumus 👍🏻

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sumus Hotels Group, Dueño at Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Querido Luke, thank you for sharing your experience! We're delighted to hear that you had a great week at our hotel. It's wonderful that our staff made you feel welcome and were helpful throughout your stay, from the director to the cleaners. We're glad you enjoyed the all-inclusive option. It's great to know that you would highly recommend our hotel.Thank you for choosing Sumus for your stay, and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Your sincerily. Sumus's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2023 via mobile

The hotel and area are not nice towards English!!! You have to pay for spa, gym, safe, separate and there expensive the pool is small there’s not enough sun loungers and people get up early to reserve them! The facilities in the room are not great can’t shut toilet door! Because there’s not enough space to sit on the toilet with it shut! Shower fittings don’t hold the shower head the area it’s located in is very run down and nothing around the area to do apart from beach very disappointing would never recommend

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lukekelly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2023

Very enjoyable and relaxing stay. Every staff member I met was friendly and helpful. Clean and comfortable room. Enjoyed the buffet style restaurant and the terrace / bar. The pool is smaller than it appears in the pictures but clean and no problem getting a space. Overall; really enjoyed my stay, I couldn’t have asked for more and would happily go back again.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul111115
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sumus Hotels Group, Dueño at Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2023

Dear Paul, thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay at our hotel. We are glad that you found your room clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed dining in our buffet restaurant and spending time on the terrace and bar. We are also glad to hear that, although the pool was smaller than it looked in the photos, you were able to enjoy it without any problems. We are delighted that you are considering returning again. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another wonderful stay in the future. Atentament. Sumus Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews