We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly clean good value hotel.”
Review of Hotel Mont-Palau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mont-Palau
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Cork. Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very friendly clean good value hotel.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great 2 weeks in hotel mont-Palau clean rooms. Excellent location right on the main square. The rooms were cleaned every day and the staff were very friendly and professional.
Something on every night in the square. 45 mins transfer from the airporr. 10 mins direct walk past shops and restaurants ( mostly pedestrian streets ) to a nice beach.
Had the full board ( worked out at about €15 a day for 3 meals ). Plenty choices of hot.cold.salad..fruit. not 5 star but for the price it was v good. ( you will always have the few moaners who want 5 star ala cart for €5 a meal ).
Bit too much food so would go for breakfast and dinner only if I had the choice again.
Never saw any trouble. Drunken behaviour or messing anytime over my 2 week stay. The locals eat and drink in the same places as the tourists so thats always a good sign.
The train has a station by the beach so worth taking a few trips up and down the coast to other villages.
Better again hire a bike/car and explore.
If you want a good value. Lazy holiday in a lovely location you wont find much better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hugowolfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    35
    27
    12
    22
See reviews for
38
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We took a short break to this hotel. Yes, it needs an uplift, and the rooms are very basic. However, it is exceptionally clean and we found the staff very helpful, friendly and efficient. We did find the breakfast rugby scrum a little too much to handle, but learnt to wait half an hour after opening time! Loved the way that when the bedroom patio door was closed, the air con went on automatically. Thought it was very well situated. If you want a small break in the sun, you will be OK.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtalondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel and area is rubbish. There is NO entertainment in hotel or in the area. Food was OK. Swimming pool is tinyyyyy!!! Rubbish holiday! The beach is about a 7 minute walk from hotel which was stoney. And the water became very deep quickly and it was very cold. You have to wear ur shoes on the "sand" as you will hurt your feet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mills1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pineda de Mar hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Please don't book this hotel. Would never visit this hotel again . Threatening staff , and didn't offer refund ( no show due to being stuck in France ) told from Booking . Com that we could then told from the hotel we couldn't get a refund . And told we could rebook at a later date then then changed their mind ... Terrible communications between myself and the hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stunever4spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just got back from a week at the Mont-Palau with my wife and teenage son.

We got an incredibly cheap deal of £498 for 7 night’s half board for the three of us.

We knew full well what to expect and we got what we expected.

This review is not intended to be a criticism but a pointer to others who may be considering a stay.

We booked a triple room which was of course a twin room with an extra bed. Unfortunately the room was the one next to the stairs which meant we lost a third of it. Never mind a quick change around of the furniture meant we could at least open the balcony doors.

The room had worn noisy air conditioning but at least it worked.

The room was cleaned daily and the towels were changed daily the bed linen remained the same for the week.

Our view from the balcony was of the somewhat unfinished accommodation of the locals. The only good view in this hotel would be of the local square.

The hotel has its pool on the roof and it is a very nice area having been recently refurbished. There are however only 19 sun beds and our room location and the fact that not many tried to use it meant that we got three sun beds and a brolly every day.

English is not spoken at the hotel so sign language and pointing a lot is the order of the day. Although this did not do us much good when they gave us our key to the room and there were already people in it.

The clientele were mostly Spanish and Russian.

Dining was a bit of an experience. Tables were hard to come by and very slowly cleared away, so you used to end up sitting at tables where for some reason the previous diners had piled up their plates with food they were never going to eat and then leave it to go to waste.

Breakfast always had bacon and some sort of sausage. The eggs were always hard boiled or were meant to be. A quick shake was needed sometimes to make sure they weren’t freshly laid.

Evening meals were difficult to describe but we always intended to eat out if necessary and we found after a couple of evenings in the restaurant, eating out was the best option. There are many good restaurants in the vicinity. And for those thinking fussy so and so, I will eat anything.

Drinks in the dining room were sold by a man standing behind a table with two fridges and a bottle opener. You queued; he looked puzzled at your choice and then was devastated when you didn’t have the correct change. Red and white wine was served at the same temperature which was ice cold.

The hotel bar is also a cafe for non residents and is not very comfortable or relaxing.

Wi Fi is available but somewhat hit and miss.

Would I recommend to others? Yes if you are looking to use it has a base to sleep.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the square but it is unlikely you will get one due to there being so few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Floyd27260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Уфа, Россия
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Отдыхала в Пинеде в сентябре. Хороший отель на центральной улице городка. До моря 5 минут пешком. В окрестности куча магазинчиков. Обслуживайющий персонал очень дружелюбный, номера чистые, завтраки питательные, но лично мне не хватало свежих овощей. В номере телевизор с 2 российскими каналами (хотя стоит ли смотреть ТВ на отдыхе? :)) В вестибюле и в баре бесплатный wi-fi. Если буду еще в тех краях, остановлюсь в этом отеле.
I had a rest in Pineda in September. Mont Palau is good hotel which is on the central street of the small town. It is 5 minutes to go to the sea on foot. There are many different shops near the hotel. Service personnel is very friendly and helpfull, the rooms is clean, breakfasts are nutritious, but personally for me didn't have enough fresh vegetables. There are 2 russian channels on TV (if you decided watch TV on vac :)) In a lobby and in the bar there is free wi-fi. If I will be at those edges, I will stop in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at the Mont Palau hotel from 31st August to 7th September 2012. Although the rooms were a bit jaded they were exceptionally clean and comfortable and we overlooked the main square which was awesome. The rooms had air-con which we found to be adequate even when temperatures were in the 30's. We found the food to be of a high standard both at breakfast and evening (we went half board). The spanish speaking staff were very helpful albeit we did communicate by sign language a lot of the time. There was an English lady on reception called Wanda who was extremely helpful and also spoke fluent Spanish. The owner of the hotel was always hovering about and always asked if everything was ok. They could not do enough for you. We would recommend this hotel and will be returning next year.Remember it was a 3 star hotel and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelmacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pineda de Mar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Merce
Hotel Merce
#4 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Checkin Pineda
Checkin Pineda
#10 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
#3 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sorrabona Hotel
Sorrabona Hotel
#9 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
97 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fragata by Checkin
Fragata by Checkin
#30 of 43 in Calella
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sabiote
Hotel Sabiote
#6 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont-Palau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont-Palau

Property: Hotel Mont-Palau
Address: C/ Roig i Jalpi 1, 08397 Pineda de Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Pineda de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pineda de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mont-Palau 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mont-Palau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mont Palau
Mont Palau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing