We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much Better Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Much Better Than Expected”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just returned from a cheap four night break and originally wasn't expecting much as we paid very little for our holiday, however I was very impressed.

The hotel is very clean and we had a four bed apartment for the two of us, which was cleaned daily. The apartment was a bit dated, however it was very large and had everything we needed, including a fridge. AI drinks are very good, the measures are pretty generous and the beer is San Miguel. So long as you're not sitting by the pool, you can have your drinks in real glasses, too.

The food was plenty and varied, and we certainly didn't go hungry. It would have been nice to have seen paella on the menu during our stay, however this is only a minor gripe as there are plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants in Pineda and many more in nearby Calella, serving paella. The last reviewer complained about no fried eggs at breakfast, but there were scrambled eggs available and plenty of other choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FergusMontemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Christian W,

Thank you for your great review of the Fergus Montemar!

It´s great to read that you had a great stay and that we were able to live up to your expectations.
Thank you also for your kind words regarding the services that you experienced throughout your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel,

Hotel Manager
Fergus Montemar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    176
    110
    74
    86
See reviews for
249
143
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

well lets start with the good points . the staff are very friendly and efficiant. the hotel its self is nice and clean . the drinks are of a high standard .rooms cleaned everyday no need to get up early for sunbeds plenty to go round

now the bad entertainment was very poor
food was cold unless you got to the restaurant as soon as the doors opened
breakfast without fried eggs and most days no beans unusual
snack bar consisted of left overs from dinner
rooms very small with basic facilities but you only sleep in then though


all in all pineda de mar is pretty quiet but its a nice place and it has a lovely beach

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazza l l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FergusMontemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Bazza I I,

First of all, we appreciate the time taken to write an opinion about your recent experience at the Fergus Montemar.

Your feedback is extremely important to us, and you can be sure that we have noted your comments in order to improve the services that we offer day after day.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to Spain.

Best Regards,

Hotel Manager
Fergus Montemar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pineda de Mar hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent a week at the Montemar on 1st Sept and had a lovely time, we normally go 5* to turkey so didn't go expecting the same standard ! The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day, and had everything you needed. Yes you could hear your neighbours but does that really matter when you spend so little time in your room !! Food was ok, some days better that others but always found something to suit so never went hungry! We spent most mornings on the beach, which was a five minute walk away (lovely clean beaches) then round the pool in the afternoon. Sun beds were very close together, so not much room to move but that didn't bother us as it wasn't over busy. All inclusive was a bit different to previous experiences - had ticket to hand in when you wanted a drink and were only allowed to order up to 2 drinks at a time, there were 4 of us so it meant 2 people had to go to the bar every time you wanted a drink but we got used to it by the end of the holiday :-) Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly - evening bar staff were lovely (especially Jose and Nil) couple in the day weren't as pleasant unfortunately!! I would definitely go back to the Montemar as overall a great hotel and good value for money - ignore some of the stupid negative comments that others have written - and if their that petty they should be booking 5* accommodation

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FergusMontemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Karen S,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Fergus Montemar.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that you appreciate our effor.
Your kindly words about our staff will be shared with them to motivate them even more.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,

Hotel Manager
Fergus Montemar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just returned from a 7 Night All Inclusive stay at this hotel and for the price that we paid for the holiday I was pleasantly surprised and had a really good stay.

On arrival at the hotel, the decor seemed clean, fresh and the reception staff were very friendly. I know it has been mentioned on some other reviews, but on arrival you need to pay a tourism tax (7 euros for two people) and also if going all inclusive a deposit of 5 euros each is required for the wristband (we were informed that this should've been returned to us, but on check-out was not so make sure to ask about it).

We paid for an upgrade on our hotel room from a "small promotional room (Teletext)" to a Twin/Double room. At first sight, the upgraded room seemed small and the furniture a little bit dated, however on reflection, it was a very comfortable room with lots of storage space and very clean. Although the room had excellent air conditioning and WiFi, it did lack some of the more common facilities such as a fridge (although it states otherwise on the Fergus website) and hair dryers in the rooms (available by rental from reception only). TVs in the room but no english channels which meant there was not much entertain on a rainy evening.

The food in the hotel was very good, with a different themed evening for each day of the week e.g. oriental. The restaurant offered a wide range of salads and hot food at all meal times. After a week the food did become a little bit repetitive but it tasted good so that wasn't an issue for us. I did miss some of the more traditional spanish cuisine such as a paella, calamari and gambas but there did always seem to be a choice of meats and side options. The dessert selection was a little disappointing, but fresh melon is always good after a big meal.

A few members of staff at the hotel stood out as being very helpful and friendly for example the waiter who ran the restaurant bar and also the reception staff. I do agree however with previous reviews that was a distinct lack of smiles amongst the bar staff and often a "head jerk" or a "grunt" was used as a response to "hola". Even when attempting to use spanish in conversation the staff didnt seem to be interested.

Pool facilities great, lots of sunbeds and no childish early morning reserving of sunbeds. I cannot reiterate enough the standard of cleanliness and the overall appearance of the hotel.

Finally, in regard to the hotel, despite any negative comments above I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing stay in the sun in a hotel that is more than adequate then this is the place for you. Sure every place has problems, but the ones at this hotel are minor and did not put a downer on my stay here. Absolute bargain! You get what you pay for!

RESORT: Resort is very quiet and there is a lack of things to do when the sun isn't out. Barcelona is an hour away, Calella is close by with many shops and a market on a Friday. But if the sun is out then it's paradise.....A resort for families and older couples, maybe not the best for young people wanting night clubs etc...Perfect for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FergusMontemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Darren S,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing such kind words on Tripadvisor.
Furthermore, we are so glad to read that you enjoyed with some of our staff. We will make sure to share your nice comment.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again during your future trip to Pineda.

Kindest Regards,

Hotel Manager
Fergus Montemar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

My partner and I spent a week here-we were originally booked into hotel merce and got told upon arrival they were fully booked (no word from the agent from lowcostholidays.com about this??). However fergus montemar seemed to be in good working order with clean rooms and effective air con. The food was repetitive and on more than a few occasions quite cold. The savouries fared much better than the desserts which were cheap and nasty. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the beach, cafes, shops and train station. However it iwas very disappointing that there are no attractions in pineda. For my partner and I who are in our mid 20s, it was extremely boring with no clubs or bars in the area. The weather was a huge let down(it rained 6 out of 7 days) and prevented us from travelling to livelier resorts at night. The entertainment in the hotel was dull but what do u expect from a cheap hotel. We just spent every evening playing games of pool and sleeping away the boredom.I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a very quiet and uneventful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clockface123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FergusMontemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear xxxMoonfacexxx,

We know that originally this was not the hotel where you wanted to spend your vacation and we feel sorry that you have found this problem on your trip.

As you say in your comment, Pineda is a family resort destination. We are also sorry that the time was not the best it could be during your stay, everyone who comes to Pineda on September expect to find sun and good temperatures…

The hotel facilities and services are oriented to families (basketball court, volleyball, mini club, water polo, bike hire, evening shows: Disco, Flamenco, Disney show, Brazil, etc..).
We hope that if you change your mind and decide to come back to Pineda, you choose the Fergus Montemar to spend your holidays.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Fergus Montemar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just come back from here and will never return!!! Hotel room fine. Miserable staff!!! Reception staff and x 2 bar staff excluded!!! The food was absolutley discusting!!! Cold, cold and cold!!! Burgers for breakfast?? Cold chips?? Cold everything?? A probe would be benificial to ensure temperature is correct!! Staff chasing people if taking food outside?? This was not myself but I feel larger signs would benefit and prevent the embarrassment of holiday makers!! Rubbish entertainment!! flamenco dancers excluded! All inclusive drink selection was good. Overall, I did not have a relaxing holiday!, I felt I was on a military camp and spent most of my time out of the hotel and on the beach!! I would not recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FergusMontemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Lisa M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us and the tripadvisor community.
We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your holidays as you would have liked.
We can assure you that the buffet does have the required temperatures and that the breakfast has an ample selection, from which you can choose whatever you would like to have.
If someone doesn't comply with the houserules we attempt to communicate in the most discrete way, something in which we obviously failed in this occasion.

Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
Fergus Montemar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

having just got home from our week here 8th to 15 th august spent all inclusive
we would say that what we got for what we paid was money well spent as we pulled up outside the hotel looked bright and inviting ,we was greeted by two friendly receptionist girls who after checking us in we went to our large and clean room with air con and tv with no English channels
we found the food was well varied with plenty of choice and the bar was well staffed even when busy
the hotel is a 5 mins walk from the beach which went for miles but found the sand to be very gritty to walk on if you are looking for a loud resort with clubs and music bars then pineda is not for you but this hotel and resort is what you want, if you want a place to take kids or just a quiet break the staff seemed polite and helpful
and thanks to LEON AND NEIL for being so polite and helpful management give these two guys a pay rise, I would recommend this hotel to anybody it was better then we hoped for and expected

Room Tip: we was on the 4th floor and had no noise but a nice view over the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank markyboy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FergusMontemar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Markyboy121,

We were so glad you were able to experience our Fergus Hospitality! I have shared your comments with Leon and Nil, to let them know that they played an important role in making your stay memorable and enjoyable.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
Fergus Montemar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pineda de Mar
0.7 mi away
Golden Taurus Park Resort
Golden Taurus Park Resort
#1 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
#3 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Europa Splash
Hotel Europa Splash
#9 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Promenade
Aqua Hotel Promenade
#2 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#5 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Pineda Splash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Pineda Splash

Property: ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
Address: c/ de les Puntaires 20, 08397 Pineda de Mar, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Montemar)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Pineda de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ALEGRIA Pineda Splash 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your ALEGRIA Pineda Splash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serhs Montemar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing