We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Summer holiday”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Booked late as we were looking for a resort near to Barcelona, with good transport links. We found the hotel perfectly adequate for our needs, room was a little tired but was cleaned spotlessly every day. Food was plentiful and on the whole good, but is tailored to a mainland European clientele, which the guests overwhelmingly are. There aren't enough sunbeds, so consequently there's the unedifying sight at 9 every morning of people pushing/shoving to make sure they get one! Evening entertainment isn't great, but we'd intended to spend evenings out so this wasn't a problem. Staff were universally pleasant, especially the youngsters on the front desk .Probably wouldn't stay here again, but Pineda is lovely, and much more Catalan than the more popular British resorts on this coast.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view. we had 355 which overlooked the pool and got the sun from 11 am onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckers61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso R, Gerente at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Buckers family, we are so happy you were able to enjoy your stay in our Hotel, and we sincerely hope you returns back to visit us again soon.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the friendly and caring service that you received.
We appreciate the opportunity to learn from your experience and improve the services we offer our guests.

Hasta pronto!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    175
    110
    74
    86
See reviews for
247
142
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

so getting in to our room we had a bed instead of a cot we had requested, they did put one in after we asked but didnt take the bed out, ( the rooms are extremely small so having an extra cot in there made things ten times worse, they did remove the bed after three requests. also there was a plug socket half out the wall, which again after a few requests they fixed. although there were 4 plug sockets in the room where normally i find only two or three so this was good.

food was nice, breakfast lunch and dinner and the snack time in between, snacks were pretty much burgers, bacon, chips and sausage with fruit and salads but if you had missed lunch at least there was food there. the restaurant does have a lack of high chairs, especially with it being such a family hotel.
a decent cup of tea is defo a no go, but the cappuccinos are lovely.
staff are friendly and pleasant, and work hard. all bar staff were nice especially jose i think his name was. there not not tight with there spirit measures either.
baby pool was much colder than big pool which i found strange, and sunbeds are cramped in a ridiculous way ( but thats if your willing to que for an hour to get one) no thanks!
pineda is nice, beach is not proper sand and very stoney. there's a strong current and strong waves and goes extremely deep after a meter or so, wouldnt recommend with young children
all in all, its not the worst hotel but its not the best. if you have booked i wouldn't be worried as some reviews make it sound alot worse than what it is.
wi fi is terrible also

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pettener1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso R, Gerente at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mr. Pettener,

We are very happy you were able to enjoy your stay in our hotel. And we sincerely hope you return back to visit us again soon.
Thank you for your compliments regarding the friendly and caring service that you received throughout your stay.
Sorry not have enough high chairs, we take note about it.

Hasta pronto!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel was very good but not many British families. The food was very good lots of choice and the staff especially Alex were lovely. The rooms were fine although we had requested adjoining rooms and had one room on 3rd & one on 4th floor. Entertainment was fine but the childrens club wasn't brilliant and my grandchildren were bored. They would have scored 5 but the fact that the pool was used for ball games with loads of teenagers and adults in the shallower end was not good especially when we had to get the children out of the pool

Room Tip: our rooms were fine so can't really say. The walls are thin so quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso R, Gerente at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mrs.Katherine, thank you for your compliments regarding the friendly and caring service that you received, we'll inform Alex.

About the rooms, we are very sorry, but in August is quite difficult add a room next to the otrher, but the next time you come back we will try it, sure.

We are very fortunate to be able to accommodate families in our hotel, this is our goal.

Hope to see you next summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Location

Very close to beach train station and shops easy access to other resorts which are 2 mins on the train

Hotel room

was adequate very very clean fresh towels everyday rooms swept cleaning staff were friendly and did a great job big fitted wardrobe the bathroom was a little snug but did not find it a problem balcony nice size did not see any woodchip we were in a large group so saw 5 rooms all magnolia walls and tiled floors basic but tidy the walls are paper thin and the halls are echoy it did get loud at times the doors slamming people chatting etc . the aircon was fine kept our room lovely and

Restaurant

all restaurant staff extremely professional and courteous and pleasant benji was particularly helpful abd friendly apart from the lady who seemed to be head waitress she was very rude and caused a scene when a member of our party wanted to sit at our table where there was a spare seat so she did not have to eat alone so she was asked to move and sit on her own even though we explained to her she was a member of our group she still made her move which we found unreasonable and
embarrassing. There are not enough high chair s for the amount of babies. Not allowed to take your drink out of the restaurant which seemed strange considering we were all inclusive.

Food

was plentiful there was a lot of choice fresh rolls every day and fruit and salad very fresh it did get repetitive but there was different dishes each day and there was always something most of it not to our taste but we did not go hungry breakfast was good lots of pastries although no butter and the margerine was awful. They do not cater for the typical English pallet . Desserts were poor lots of blomomge type things

in all colour s all taste the same jelly and
the same purple cake. Ice cream tubs and fresh

fruit were about the best dessert . Plenty of
fresh fruit. Snacks between meals were in the restaurant Mostly what was left from breakfast and lunch tgrrr where no snacks outside of restaurants day or night you could not have snacks from ne


  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso R, Gerente at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mrs. Amie,

we are very pleased with your opinion about the cleanliness of our hotel. Cleaning women strive daily to keep our facilities clean.

Regarding head waitress, deeply regret the events, take note.
Sorry not have enough high chairs, take note too.

And finally, we can not authorize snacks outside the restaurant for hygienic reasons.

Hope to see you next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pineda de Mar hotels

Jicin, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I can not reproach the hotel. Staff was friendly, smiling, helpful. The food was delicious and varied. The choice was fish, turkey, rabbit, pork ... we could taste excellent pallea, which I have ever eat. The amount of vegetables and fruits, ice cream, too. Room we had every day tidy and clean. Surroundings of the hotel surname was quiet. The animation team took care of the entertainment each day. I disagree with critical reviews.Hotel without remorse recommend. Thanks for nice holidays. Jochmanová

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso R, Gerente at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Darina, we are so happy that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and that you have felt so comfortable.

thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to give us your feedback estimated.

We sincerely hope you return back to visit us again soon and we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

See you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Trip got of to a very poor start,witnessed a serious customer room complaint on arrival to check in!.Room's are exceptionaly small,and they are not seperated from the entry door from the corridor,so noise levels from other guests/neighbouring rooms is incredibly loud,especially late at night!,we all experienced issues sleeping most nights,decor in the rooms/hotel is very dated/tired looking,& if anyone has forgot what woodchip looks like,they have got it wall 2 wall!!.Experienced a power-cut on the 5/08 which knocked the power out to our entire floor level,this was reported to the hotel staff in reception immediately,in which we were told the fuse had tripped out & that it happened all the time!,& was certainly not resolved within the hour,but when we returned later that evening!.My wife complained about a womens toilet in the bar area that was like something out of music festival,no obvious toilet inspections were in place.Pool area is not satisfactory for a hotel of this size/amount of guests,sunbeds are crammed in to a dangerous level with no pool supervision,paid for all inclusive,but because of lack of sleep we only made it up early enough to be poolside on one day out of seven,other days we had to spend 25 euros on the beach for 4 sunbeds & brolly and loads of room,by making the 10 min walk to the beach.Food menu was very restricted,quite prepared for some dishes that would not be to our taste,but the hotels culinary specialitie,chip's served at breakfast is not to be missed!!.Some of the main components of the hot dish were stone cold,as they were not kept under the hotlamps,and the restaurant air con was set on the thermostat to a chilly 5 o.c!!,there is a microwave available to warm your dish up should you wish!!.The resturuant staff seemed un-cordinated,had to advise them about lack of drinks glasses on one occasion.Some of the staff were very polite & welcoming (Benji who was the restaurant bar man was one such person),but had to deal with a short shaven headed bar man who must of had one of the cold chip's on his shoulder!!,& was extremly rude to me regarding tickets (yes bar tickets when all-inclusive??),he tried reporting our 2 year old son for not wearing a wristband!! (we checked in at 1am,so he was asleep so we were told to keep it on us!) to the manager,who came over,once we had proved this,said manager couldn't apologise enough!!.We booked this holiday thru Thomson (who i will also be contacting & advising about our issues) and have experience in this area as we stayed at another hotel "all inclusive" in the same resort last year which is 4 star (& to be fair the best holiday ever had),and given that this is suposed to be 3 star,i would give "The Fergus Montemar" a generous 2 star rating!!.Luckily the weather was brilliant,during our holiday which was a saving grace,we love this resort,& the spanish people,but as me & my wife work hard in our professions all year to provide the best holiday for our families,this holiday was far from what we expected (ps we witnessed the reception staff reading trip advisor,makes you wonder if they are now expecting this level of criticism??)

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso R, Gerente at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Mr Ashley,

Much regret not having met your expectations in our hotel. Take note of your complaints to solve them. Also sorry that you have not felt comfortable in our hotel.

We will consider your feedback to improve our service and our facilities.

Thank you for your kind words about Benji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have just arrived back from a week here with my family of four and all I can say is, what a terrible holiday! We went through First Choice holidays who I have always used but after going here it has made me lose all faith in using them again. The hotel was like staying on a military campsite and was very disappointing to say the least! We couldn't check in to our room until 2 pm, despite the fact we know rooms are cleaned first thing in the morning and would therefore be ready well before this time. The food was repetitive and the drinks offered were basic and totally not worth what we paid for as an all inclusive holiday. The bar staff are extremely rude, especially Carlos who had no people skills or customer service what so ever and really shouldn't be in this type of job if he doesn't like working with people. The restaurant managers both the man and woman were also extremely rude and you were lucky if you got a word out of the woman, let alone a smile. The cleaner stole makeup and hair products from our room on the first day so we made sure we never left anything valuable in our room during our stay, for fear of these being stolen by her too. Bedding was not changed once during our stay and this I think is disgusting, especially as the air con is rubbish and you sweat of a night...so unhygienic. During our stay here there was also a lot of theft in the dining room where a mobile phone was stolen, and a handbag was stolen from around the pool area and from reception, it felt like we had to constantly look over our shoulder and shouldn't feel like this on a holiday. The only positive I can say about this hotel was the young girl who worked on the kiosk outside by the pool area, who was always smiling and friendly, and was able to speak good english; unlike the rest of the staff in the hotel who could hardly speak a word. In my opinion this hotel needs to be removed from First Choice holidays before it gives them a bad reputation because like I say I use them all of the time but this hotel is the worst I have ever stayed in and have never had to write a bad review until now!! Please people don't waste your money on this hotel, you really will be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank w l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso R, Gerente at ALEGRIA Pineda Splash, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Good morning, we're really sorry for your opinion and your disappointment of our hotel. we're very sorry that you have not been satisfied with your stay in our hotel. About your comments concerning the bar and the restaurant staff, I'll make sure to share your review with my team to motivate them more with the costumer care. Thank you for your honest feedback, I appreciate the opportunity to learn from your experience and improve the services we offer our guests. Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to give us your feedback estimated.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pineda de Mar
0.7 mi away
Golden Taurus Park Resort
Golden Taurus Park Resort
#1 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
Sumus Hotel Stella &Spa
#3 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Europa Splash
Hotel Europa Splash
#9 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel Promenade
Aqua Hotel Promenade
#2 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#5 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#3 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Pineda Splash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Pineda Splash

Property: ALEGRIA Pineda Splash
Address: c/ de les Puntaires 20, 08397 Pineda de Mar, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Montemar)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Pineda de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pineda de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ALEGRIA Pineda Splash 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ALEGRIA Pineda Splash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serhs Montemar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing