We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much expensive-low quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vilar Rural de Sant Hilari Sacalm
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too much expensive-low quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

It can't be considered as a 4 star hotel. The rooms were dirty, full of ants! The "spa" wasn't a spa, it was just a small jacuzzi! The breakfast was ok and the location was excellent. It was too expensive for what it offers!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    192
    52
    23
    7
See reviews for
514
13
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 days and loved it. The food was fantastic, the staff kind and helpful. The views are spectacular - I particularly suggest a swim in the pool as the sun is rising.

The short walk to the town is also a good thing to do.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobermoryBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerhsHotels, Propietario at Vilar Rural de Sant Hilari Sacalm, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear customer,

We welcome your comments, as customers come first for us and this encourages us to constantly improve our product and the resulting customer satisfaction.

Regards.

Vilar Rural de Sant Hilari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We didn't realise this was a hotel specifically for families and felt very out of place, being just the two of us in the area to plan our forthcoming wedding nearby. It was also a festival weekend so when we arrived back at 11.30 pm the young children were still running riot with painted faces. Not at all relaxing.

The place is like a motel, with cavernous corridor spaces and garishly painted walls. There are cots lying about in the corridors. The block we were in was next to the swimming pool and the whole place reeked of chlorine and all the children's screams resonated loudly. It really felt like we had gatecrashed a nursery school away-weekend.

The room itself was a good size, with a large double bed and single. The bed was very hard and not at all comfortable. No extra blankets and it was freezing and with the noisiest central heating system you have ever heard. The bathroom was a shower wet room, with horrible products and not enough towels. It was very clean, however, and the balcony was a welcome addition with its lovely views.

Breakfast was surprisingly good, with fresh croissants and bread, cooked breakfasts, yoghurts and cereals. Orange juice, as you might expect, was watered down squash, but overall good and the staff were very nice.

I am sure this hotel, with its activities and children's facilities, provides a welcome stay for families but for us it was a huge mistake and really quite unpleasant. It certainly was not the relaxing hotel and spa we had been looking forward to but it wouldn't be fair of me to mark it down because of our own mistake in choosing a place not suitable for our needs.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the swimming pool block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerhsHotels, Propietario at Vilar Rural de Sant Hilari Sacalm, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback. As well stated is a very familiar as we are very focused to target families with children. We feel bad if you did not finish to find their place in the hotel, but think that everything and be a very specialized product, we always try to mix different targets is not a problem for different types of customers.

Greetings.

VIlar Rural de Sant Hilari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We love this hotel. They do a great job planning and running a hotel resort for families with young children. From morning to midnight, there is always something fun to do.

The food is fantastic and the staff is great as well. It was a perfect trip for us with a. 7, 5, and 3 year old girls.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garykramlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Hilari Sacalm
8.3 mi away
Husa Sant Bernat
Husa Sant Bernat
#1 of 4 in Montseny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Mas Sola
Hotel Mas Sola
#1 of 2 in Santa Coloma de Farners
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
24.0 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Xalet la Coromina
Xalet la Coromina
#1 of 2 in Viladrau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ripoll
Hotel Ripoll
#3 of 3 in Sant Hilari Sacalm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Can Cuch
Hotel Can Cuch
#1 of 1 in Canoves i Samalus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilar Rural de Sant Hilari Sacalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilar Rural de Sant Hilari Sacalm

Property: Vilar Rural de Sant Hilari Sacalm
Address: Cami de Reixac, s/n - Variant Font Vella, 17043 Sant Hilari Sacalm, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Sant Hilari Sacalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sant Hilari Sacalm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vilar Rural de Sant Hilari Sacalm 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vilar Rural de Sant Hilari Sacalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing