We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel del Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel del Port
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simple hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed here for business. Hotel with just rooms, no bar, no restaurant. Would not recommend for families, ideal for couples wanting accommodation only or for work. I stayed here in November and the whole resort was almost closed down. Struggled to find somewhere to eat on the evening. Would i stay here again? probably not although there are very few other places available in this town.

Room Tip: In my opinion for business only or short stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoylite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    55
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
56
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed for 4 nights August 2012 whilst visiting relatives who live nearby.

Plus points: Great location, yards from the beach and port. Friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms. Breakfast ok. Close to good eateries. Good value for money.

Minus points: Noisy at night from the street bars below (we were in a street facing room, kids were in rear rooms) and the location of the car park is inconvenient. We had booked a car park space as my husband is disabled but on arrival as we managed to park directly outside the hotel on the street and found that the car park was in some kind of lock up a short walk away we stayed put on the street!

Only mishap was I had a accident on walking out of the lift to reception and slipped and fell heavily onto the tiled reception floor as the cleaner had mopped it with lots of water and there was no signage to warn this was taking place.

Room Tip: Don't have a street facing room. Downside of this is that the other rooms have windows onto a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliamould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATLOCK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

This is a perfect family run B & B in a main street leading to the harbour area.

Modern, comfortable and well managed this is a very good base for the area - especially for those wanting to visit the Ebro Delta Nature Reserve.

A smallish hotel with facilities that would be the envy of many larger hotels we would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel Del Sport and its attentive owners.

Room Tip: Several rooms have balconies with a side view over part of the port area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN71007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

This was a little gem! We stayed for 5 nights and at €67 per room inc breakfast it was real value. It is a small privately owned hotel, open only for 4 years - a completely refurbished building on the street leading down to the port and beach. Everything is modern. Room was clean, bright and comfortable. Free internet was fast. No English language TV stations, though! There was a side sea view from the tiny balcony but the value of the hotel was in its surroundings.

San Carlos is a "real Spain" seaside town - hardly any foreign tourists get here! It is an hour's drive South of Reus airport and nowhere near the package holiday areas. There are several restaurants, full of fresh sea and shell fish, offering fixed price menus and local wines at, frankly, cheap prices. Really lovely beaches and good swimming conditions. Boat trips from the port. The wildlife and rice fields of the Ebro Delta right next door. Plenty to do and see. And apparently undiscovered by foreign visitors in the gap between Barcelona and Valencia. Do go there!

Hotel Del Port is a gem to stay at and we highly recommend it as a centre for a relaxing holiday if you enjoy comfort and space.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front 2nd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLomond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Hotel del Port was a fantastic surprise and was just what I needed after a long trip south. huge room, spotlessly clean hotel, wonderful bathroom...the list goes on.The owners are more than pleasant and helpful and they speak reasonable English. The hotel was more of a 4 star than 1 or 2. Certainly better than a lot of supposed three stars I have stayed at. That there is no restaurant is not an issue as there are plenty of places nearby to find good food at a reasonable price. I'll be using this hotel as long as I need to make a stopover on a north/south/north run through Spain and I will be sending friends there too.Well done the owners!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

We booked into the Hotel del Port when spending the weekend choosing a new berth for our boat. We arrived very late and were welcomed by Rosa, the owner. She got us set up in the room. Our room was spotless and very well fitted with contemporary design features and up to date facilities. Four piece bathroom suite and shower, good lighting and all the usual soaps and gels etc. Ample clean and good quality towles, Light and airy, excellent wardrobe space, a safe for valuables, desk and flat screen TV. This had good digital channels and lots of them as well. I believe the WIFi was available but I did not confirm that as we did not need it. Comfortable and good size bed ( I am 6ft 2"). The whole place was non smoking so fresh and clean. There was air conditioning (again vents were dust free and it was quiet - yes we ran it in February to get 17C ambiant). To add to the feeling of space there was a small balcony with views up the street to central commercial area and also to the old marina and port. The outside surrounding area is very clean and tidy (well groomed) although there is no garden or outside space with the hotel. The beach is a 1 minute slow walk.

Breakfast was included and a selection to please everybody. Continental style but lots of variety. If anything looked like it was running out we saw the proprietors replace this immediately. There were newspapers, magazines and even games and childrens books and toys available but not to excess; I would say child friendly for children whos parents placed importance on the childs welfare in consideration of other hotel guests. The families we saw there were very well mannered and a pleasure to see.

The price of the stay was very good at around £60 per night (depends on euro exchange rate). It is the kind of place you leave feeling like they did not charge you enough for what they did. This is budget hotel but definately only in the charge levied and not in value or the attention to detail that the owners have made. They have obviously used designers and not done a DIY..

The surrounding area offers a lot; beaches, shopping, restaurants (proper ones). Do not go if you want English food. There is a new marina in the lagoon and it is on the edge of a nature reserve. I would say that the resort is sophisticated and unspoilt but not arrogant (meaning it does not think so much of itself that it will rip you off).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwinsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

)ctober 2008

We stayed at the Hotel del Port, which is a lovely hotel, very clean, comfortable & beautifully furnished. The owners & staff were very friendly & spoke good english. The resort itself is very pleasant & safe for people to bathe on the beaches - good for families, as one has to go out a long way before the sea gets deeper.

Helpful?
1 Thank Flo413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Carles de la Rapita
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miami Mar
Hotel Miami Mar
#1 of 10 in Sant Carles de la Rapita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Can Batiste
Hotel Can Batiste
#2 of 10 in Sant Carles de la Rapita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Rapita
Hotel la Rapita
#5 of 10 in Sant Carles de la Rapita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
HCC Hotel Montsia
HCC Hotel Montsia
#1 of 2 in Amposta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Rull
Hotel Rull
#1 of 3 in Deltebre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
10.9 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#2 of 3 in Deltebre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Port

Property: Hotel del Port
Address: Av. Constitucio, 6, 43540 Sant Carles de la Rapita, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Terres de l'Ebre > Sant Carles de la Rapita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sant Carles de la Rapita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Port 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel del Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing