We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value hotel”
Review of Hotel Can Batiste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Can Batiste
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

double room for less than £50 per night including breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

This Catalan family run hotel was recommended by friends of friends who live in the town and the place was fabulous. On first glance the building could look a little motel-like, and It's in a newer part of town but it is actually perfectly situated as it's an easy couple of blocks walk to the swimming beach, bars and restaurants. Rooms are modern, clean and contemporary.

We stayed there on a half-board basis. There is a gastronomic restaurant at the hotel with fabulous food, and where they serve local produce. (You can buy produce to take home - we bought wonderful wine and olive oil).

The staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly. There is free parking by the hotel, but just to be sure we booked lock up parking through the hotel which was located in an underground park a block or so away.

Last but not least, it did not cost an arm and a leg and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escargot222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We chose this Hotel from the Availability, Price and On Line recommendations. The staff were wonderful and both friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Emails were answered promptly and efficiently. Also there is Free WIFI available all over the hotel. The secure parking is chargeable but accessble 24 hrs a day with your own key. Free Parking outside the hotel is available but very limited. The room was superb with everything working!! The meals were prepared with great care and were delicious with good choices. We will go there again next year we hope.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank circuitbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Good Hotel and lovely evening meal. Friendly owner.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonsolesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We Visited the beautifu town of San Carles De La Rapita as my parents have moved their boat the the gorgeous new marina in the town.

We chose this hotel as The Miami Mar wasn't in our price range, The Del Port was full and my parents had been let down by some of the cheap apartments in the town.

We were absolutely delighted with our room. Clean, Modern and with air-con & heating, a huge designer bathroom with a temerature controlled bath and quite possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in with a crisp white duvet instead of scratchy sheets & blankets. However, there was only a small window that looked out on to a block of flats, a yard and a supermarket Car Park. There was no fridge and no tea and coffee making facilities. When we checked in we had never been to the town before and were given no information, or maps or even offered a drink. The hotel has no bar but bizarrely a restaurant attatched to it so I was really surprised that as a small family business they were missing a trick here! It was the middle of the afternoon when we arrived and all the surrounding bars and restaurants were shut too. This may be a problem for some but not for us. We just went straight out to explore the town. I was still surprised by the hotel's lack of enthusiasm. I speak reasonably good Spanish and they didn't seem to want to converse with me. You may come across this quite a lot in the town. This is the heart of Cataluna and the locals are Catalan and not Spanish.

I do give the hotel many brownie points for their fantastic breakfasts. Given that they probably have only a handfull of rooms the choice was amazing given that it was only continental style. They had cereals, meats and cheese, (Local Manchego chese and serano ham) fresh bread, cakes and pastries and also fresh fruit and desserts like Rice Pudding and Creme Catalan which was surprising but very nice! If you say Bon Dia, instead of Buenos dias you may get yourself an extra coffee!

There was a plasma TV in our room but only with local chanels. Not a problem for us as we are both very keen to improve our Spanish. We had no issues with the room but we had another problem with the staff on the last night they kept us waiting for a long time to pay the bill and took my card away from me which I am always weary of. The next morning we left early and I was asked to settle the bill again. Also we had told the reception the night before that we were leaving early (6:55 AM) but there was nobody around at first and then they turned up 5 minutes before we were due to leave to ask us to pay again and then after I had produced the reciepts etc did they apologise and offer us a coffee but it was too late.

I absolutely fell in love with the town though. We were worried we'd feel stuck without a car but it didn't bother us, we didn't want to leave anyway! I have lived in Spain and I have travelled around to various cities, most of the costas and to some of the inland towns and villages and I am still passionate about the Country. San Carles is how Spain should be. It's where you still see families dressing up just to go for a walk along the beach, & musicians playing in the town square and locals folk dancing without having anything in particular to celebrate. And we didn't even see the euro rate as a problem. In one of the trendy bars on the new marina I paid 5E for 4 coffees! and a meal for 4 in a pizzaria in the town cost 30E in total.

The Ebro Delta is beautiful, you are easy driving distance from Barcelona and Valencia that you can combine with your trip as we did and you can also get to Reus easily and the Taragona area. The beach,marina and shops bars and restaurants in San Carles will provide you with more than enough entertainment though. I feel like I should stop shouting about it a bit as I came back thinking I had discovered a secret hidden gem!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsniccooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 637Prodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 606elenazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Carles de la Rapita
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Port
Hotel del Port
#3 of 10 in Sant Carles de la Rapita
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miami Mar
Hotel Miami Mar
#1 of 10 in Sant Carles de la Rapita
244 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#1 of 3 in L'Ampolla
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel L'Algadir del Delta
Hotel L'Algadir del Delta
#1 of 2 in El Poble Nou Del Delta
130 reviews
14.4 mi away
Parador de Tortosa
Parador de Tortosa
#1 of 6 in Tortosa
811 reviews
6.9 mi away
HCC Hotel Montsia
HCC Hotel Montsia
#1 of 1 in Amposta
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Can Batiste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Can Batiste

Address: Carrer de Sant Isidre 204, 43540 Sant Carles de la Rapita, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Terres de l'Ebre > Sant Carles de la Rapita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sant Carles de la Rapita
Price Range: £43 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Can Batiste 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Family hotel is located amongst the beautiful natural scenery of the Ebro Delta. Its restaurant serves the local exquisite, freshly-caught seafood.The family-run Can Batiste lies at the mouth of one of Spain’s great rivers, the Ebro, just outside several stunning nature reserves. This fantastic environment lies in the south of Catalonia, a short distance from the popular tourist resort of Peñiscola.Enjoy the region’s famous foods in the hotel’s own 25-year-old restaurant. Here you can try a wide range of dishes prepared with fresh fish, shellfish, olive oil and rice, accompanied by fine Catalan wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Can Batiste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing