We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic few days in beautiful setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valencia de Alcantara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Salto del Caballo
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A lovely apartment in a beautiful setting right on the Spanish Portuguese border - the car was parked in Portugal and we slept in Spain. Eva, the owner was charming and really helpful, booking a wonderful river trip along the Rio Tejo which we thoroughly enjoyed in a group of 10 on board. The 3 crew were really helpful pointing out sightings of vultures and herons and telling us all about the river and surroundings. Eva also arranged for a local chef to cook a delicious dinner for us one evening with local produce and served on our terrace. The small clean pool was a must to cool down after a busy day. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and well equipped. There are lovely walks from the accommodation and we made further trips in the car to the nearby Portuguese town and castle of Marvao. I can't recommend this highly enough - a perfect break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

This beautiful Casa Rural is set right on the boarder with Portugal. We have enjoyed visiting the National Park, local Historic towns and enjoying the natural unspoilt flora and fauna. The accommodation was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The proprietor is charming and most helpful. She is multilingual and very knowledgeable about the local area. The swimming pool is small but very refreshing on a hot day. We highly recommend this property for those seeking a peaceful holiday .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayRCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

A beautiful location, 2 lovely apartments and wonderful terraces and a tiny but clean swimming pool. In a quiet hamlet in Spain but on the border of Portugal. A short drive to some fabulous villages and small towns - especially the river swimming pool at Portagem and nearby Castelo de Vide and Marvau. Lovely walks around. Really helpful and friendly owner, lots of information and comfortable accommodation in a beautifully converted old building. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If the weather is hot (it was 40 degrees C when we were there in July) then I think the 2 story apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAllen123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank manuel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva S, Owner at Casa Salto del Caballo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nacho G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia de Alcantara hotels
4.7 mi away
Casa Escobar & Jerez
Casa Escobar & Jerez
#2 of 2 in Valencia de Alcantara
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Finca el Cortinal
Finca el Cortinal
#1 of 5 in Valencia de Alcantara
17 reviews
6.9 mi away
El Jiniebro
El Jiniebro
#1 of 8 in Valencia de Alcantara
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apartamentos Rurales San Pedro
Apartamentos Rurales San Pedro
#3 of 8 in Valencia de Alcantara
8 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puerto Roque Apartamentos Rurales
Puerto Roque Apartamentos Rurale...
#2 of 8 in Valencia de Alcantara
17 reviews
4.6 mi away
No photo provided
El Clavo de Valencia
#4 of 5 in Valencia de Alcantara
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Salto del Caballo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Salto del Caballo

Address: La Fontanera, 10516 Valencia de Alcantara, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Valencia de Alcantara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Valencia de Alcantara
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House Casa Salto del Caballo, situated in the small village of La Fontanera, offers stunning views towards the Natural Park Serra de Sao Mamede and the Castle of Marvao in the Alto Alentejo of Portugal. For this is a historic building dated from the late `19th century with the added bonus of having some unique characteristics: Firstly, it is slap bang on the Spanish Portuguese border. You can literally come in from the Spanish side and walk out through the other doors onto the magnificent Sao Mamede Natural Park in Portugal. Not surprisingly, this strategic position has lent it a past always connected to the smuggling trade between Portugal and Spain.Up until 1992, when the borders opened mainly coffee and leather boots, but also bread, garlic or whatever was wanted on the other side was smuggled. As the front entrance is in Spain and the backdoor opens onto Portugal, it was a "casa de la duda" - a house in no-man's land. Ultimately the Spanish ended the confusion by incorporating the whole property officially into Spain. For your holiday in two countries, our family-run guesthouse offers 2 self-catering apartments, where the names reflect the history of the house: apartment "Portugal" and apartment "Spain". You can book either accommodation at a reduced rate for 2 people or, if you prefer not to self-cater, book as a B&B bedroom. You can book an evening meal, are very welcome to eat in our communal dining-/breakfast room or on the terrace. I would be happy to cook whatever you like, vegetarian, traditional or Spanish. Enjoy your holiday in an authentically rural place. Family-run, family-friendly and you will be welcomed all year round, pets as well without extra charge. A small library and satellite TV as well as ADSL internet is available in our communal TV-room. The patio formed by the two main buildings, provides several shady or sunny sitting-areas. There are sun lounges around the pool and 2 barbecues available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Salto Del Caballo Valencia De Alcantara, Spain - Province Of Caceres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing