We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A missed opportunity” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Santo Estevo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parador de Santo Estevo
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A missed opportunity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is a beautiful parador in a fabulous setting, but somehow it just misses. Our rooms were comfortable, attractively furnished, a good size with views of trees, and the bathrooms very well appointed. The breakfast and evening meal were as good as we have come to expect in paradors. The communal areas were exquisitely and interestingly furnished.

But the whole place felt as if it were there to be viewed rather than lived in. There was no room in which you felt you could relax. And as other reviewers have mentioned, apart from one tiny terrace which led off a room and had seating for seven, there was nowhere at all to sit outside. It was incredibly frustrating, and it meant that there was nowhere you could appreciate the views.

It may be that you could from the spa, but at a cost of 30 euros for three hours, this was something we did not sample. There is no swimming pool.

An unusual design feature is that you hear your neighbours bathroom plumbing more than your own!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathieLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    191
    52
    10
    11
See reviews for
159
509
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Petersburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

This parador is a nice place for a 1-2 days stay. Unusual building for a hotel - big monastery of at least 10th century. Rooms are made in former monastic cells. Spectacular surroundings, especially Sil Gorges (we drived from the place where Rio Mino meets the Rio Sil to the hotel - ~15-20 km of fabulous views). Please, note that the most comfotable way to reach the hotel (at least for the 1st time) is from OU536 (C526) road. The way from N120 seems shorter but it's narrow and in the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena_B_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

We were really disappointed with this Parador.
The Reception staff were some of the most sullen I have encountered anywhere,and they avoided eye contact if at all possible.
We were not offered help with luggage.
I asked for urgent laundry to be collected and it wasn't.
Any request for information about the building or walks in the vicinity were met with a suggestion to go to the tourist information office in Luintra.
Service in the cafeteria was very slow and there seemed to be a real shortage of staff.
The directions we were given by Brittany Ferries to find the hotel were also poor.
Fortunately the next Parador we stayed at was as good as this one was poor.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank portly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

We stayed for two nights in a standard room, which was small (being converted from a monk's cell) but was well equipped, as was the bathroom. The tranquillity of the site was remarkable, and the restoration of the monastery has been sympathetically done, in an understated way. The restaurant was well-pitched, with well-chosen regional dishes and wine, as well as attentive service. We had to work hard to get information and contacts over activities (walking especially) so it could be worth making advance contact to find out which activities were available on any particular date, We had a medical emergency, and the staff could not have been more helpful and sympathetic -- the emergency services from Ourense were faultless (and free with our EHIC card). If you are looking for bling, this is not the spot, but for ourselves, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

I have 9 years traveling in Spain. The restaurant service and wine
choice were the best . The restaurant's Jose Luis Debasa is an expert to pair your food and wine

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingtomUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

This is a real gem of a property.

It is almost at the top of a mountain in a converted monestary. The conversion has been sensitively done and some parts are almost untouched.

I would recommend that you arrive during daylight as the mountain is quite steep and the property is not well signposted.

It feels like you are away from everything.

Our room was quite small, on hindsight we wished that we had upgraded as other rooms seemed to be significantly better.

There is a spa inside the hotel (additional cost), bring a swim hat, flip flops so that you don't have to pay extra for these items which are obligatory.

We also wished that we had bought hiking gear (long trousers/walking boots) as there were some great paths from the hotel.

Our biggest disappointment with the hotel was there was nowhere to sit outside and be served a drink. The cafe's tables were all inside (although there were some lovely tables inside the cloisters). The restaurant had some outside tables but these were only available when the restaurant was open.

There is some seating inside the cloisters (first and second floor) but you will need to take your drink with you as there is no service.

  • Liked — unspoilt location
  • Disliked — standard rooms are very small
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug47648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

Excellent hotel with fantastic room (superior - well worth it) with high granite ceiling and great view over Sil gorges. Good food in the restaurant, with impressive range of local wine. Staff were very helpful and booked trip on cruise down gorge and tour of a wine cellar. Spa also excellent.

Any criticism I have is that they could use the Spa 'solarium' space more profitably as a terrace for their cafe, as it has nice views over the gorge.

Would strongly recommend as a unique place to stay in an area of Spain that is truly off the beaten track - never been anywhere like it.

  • Liked — Setting and food
  • Disliked — Getting there
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nogueira de Ramuin
3.5 mi away
Hotel O Remanso dos Patos
Hotel O Remanso dos Patos
#2 of 3 in Nogueira de Ramuin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
7.9 mi away
Oca Augas Santas Balneario & Golf Resort
11.6 mi away
Parador de Monforte de Lemos
Parador de Monforte de Lemos
#1 of 4 in Monforte de Lemos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
NH Ourense
NH Ourense
#1 of 12 in Ourense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Oca Vila de Allariz
11.4 mi away
Eurostars Auriense
Eurostars Auriense
#5 of 12 in Ourense
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Santo Estevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Santo Estevo

Property: Parador de Santo Estevo
Address: Monasterio de Santo Estevo, 32162 Nogueira de Ramuin, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Ourense > Nogueira de Ramuin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nogueira de Ramuin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Santo Estevo 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open April to October ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Parador de Santo Estevo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santo Estevo Spain/Nogueira De Ramuin, Galicia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing