We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, close to everything”
Review of Hotel Traina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Traina
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, close to everything”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Traina at the end of June, and found it to be a very pleasant, clean hotel. The staff were friendly, and managed to understand us despite our poor Spanish. The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the beach and the town (which are in opposite directions).
Our rooms were always spotless, with fresh towels and sheets provided daily if needed. We had breakfast a few times in the hotel restaurant (it is 7.50E if not included in your room rate, which is very reasonable) - both hot and cold buffet, nice food and plenty of variety.
The pool is small, but we always got loungers, and it is on the roof which is very refreshing in the heat. The pool bar was only open one day while we were there though - not sure if this is a seasonal thing, as the signs implied it was open all week.
The area itself is quite quiet, and we had to do a bit of wandering around each night to find somewhere to eat, but the food was always lovely and the people very friendly and kind.
We took the bus (bus stop about two minutes walk from the hotel) into Murcia on one occasion, about 10E return I think, only took and hour and was worth it.
We had a lovely holiday - delicious food, sun, lovely beaches and friendly people. It is definately not a party destination, but seems very popular with the Spanish for their holidays, which seems like a good sign.

Room Tip: We didn't have a balcony, but I could see other rooms that did - if you want one, make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHeatonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    180
    78
    23
    16
See reviews for
67
222
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dudley
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just got back from 4 days at the Hotel Traina, the hotel is in a good position on the main road between the town and the beach. The hotel itself is more than adequate for a short break. Our room was bright and very roomy, the bathroom was modern and very clean. There was a mini bar in the room which was'nt too expensive. We did'nt eat in the restaurant so cant comment, although it was always very busy. There was a snack bar on the ground floor which was very reasonable and there was wifi through-out the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawn1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I have to disagree about the food at this hotel which boasts a Michelin recommendation - goodness knows how. We had an excellent deal with 2 nights b and b and one evening meal that I was particularly looking forward to and swayed my choice of hotel.
The restaurant has all the atmosphere of a cafeteria with harsh lighting and music not made for relaxed dining. The buffet style dinner was so disappointing. There was a good selection of salads but the fish dish was pretend crab claws - deep fried silicone dipped in very orange breadcrumbs. The vegetables were a dish of mushroom slices (the same at breakfast each day) Spaghetti carbonara was dried out and with no parmesan cheese. The turkey slices looked unappetising and the pork was a rectangle of breadcrumb dipped and deep fried meat which probably came from the same frozen food supplier as the "crab claws". Deserts were fruit and yoghurt rehashed from breakfast and some rather nasty shop cakes, the left overs still there for breakfast. Even the breakfast cereals were left out for the dinner and some diners were taking them for their desert. I have truly had a much better meal at a Wok restaurant for half the price - fresh vegetables, meat and fish at the Woks while the salads and deserts are the same.

I did register my disappointment with the hotel reception and know that another couple had already done the same that evening. Perhaps we were particularly unlucky as it was a Sunday night. Certainly there is something very wrong with the Michelin inspectors if this is the usual standard. Otherwise the hotel and the breakfast that is served is fine and I would go back again, this time with no high expectations of a special dinner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb0rah-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

perfectly good hotel at the £38 a night we paid. In the residential part of town a ten minute walk form the beach front. No tea making facilities in room. Quite tight for space in our room (219) but the balcony was three times the size of the room, bizarrely. More room and less balcony would have been better. Local cafes are cheaper for breakfast. We'd stay there again no problem. Four star is, we agree with other writers, pushing it.

Room Tip: the back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljamison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

After reading some reviews we chose this Hotel as the food sounded good, and it certainly lived up to it, all meals are buffet style with so much choice, and well thought out to please all Europeans, Also it is self service so you can eat as little or as much as you please, the Chef will also cook fresh fish and meat of your choice, all staff are very pleasant and helpful.
In general the Hotel is very pleasant with good facilities,very clean and conveniently situated, no problems with parking outside, Can recommend the Hotel bike hire for local sight seeing, and a ride along the Mar Menor cycle track.

Room Tip: All rooms at the front do not have balconies, and overlook the main road but are quiet when the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayfairSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have just returned from our holiday here and could not fault this hotel, it was clean and everyone was friendly.
The area in general is not your typical English holiday resort and is mainly a Spainish tourist resort. It was a bit of a struggle trying to read the menus at most of the restaurants and cafes but everyone was very friendly and always willing to help. On the plus side it was cheaper than the English speaking places.

We would definatley suggest taking a walk down to the beach and turning left to the National Park where you can see Flamingos and other wild birds. You will find lots of people having mud baths there. Unfortunatley we did not realise this was there and did not try the mud ourselves, there was also a market on the day we went
If you go inland from the hotel you will find a supermarket and there are more retail shops (some good shoe shops) and restaurants.

It was quite quiet here and I would not recommend this destonation for a younger more vibrant holiday goer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts uk
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is well located small and modest 4* hotel. For the price we paid the facilities were pretty good. The breakfast buffet provided a good selection and a nice touch was the delicious cafe con leche made individually on request and they also had our favourate brand of peach juice! The absolute best thing is the top floor terrace bar and adjacent pool which give stunning views over the town and out to the Med on one side and the Mar Menor on the other. The hotel is located mid way between the town centre and the beaches,each about a 10-15 minute walk. On the negative side the hotel does not provide the refined extra touches that experienced travellers will expect in a 4 star.The rooms and bathrooms are clean and tidy but quite basic,we did find the mattresses very hard. Also please note that very few rooms have a balcony and most overlook a busy main road. However we still felt it was a good budget option for a late season extra break!

Room Tip: If you want a balcony you will have to specify in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro del Pinatar
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lodomar Spa & Talasoterapia
Hotel Lodomar Spa & Talasoterapi...
#4 of 6 in San Pedro del Pinatar
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Bahia
Aparthotel Bahia
#3 of 6 in San Pedro del Pinatar
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Neptuno
Hotel Neptuno
#6 of 6 in San Pedro del Pinatar
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alaska
Hotel Alaska
#5 of 6 in San Pedro del Pinatar
22 reviews
5.8 mi away
525 Hotel
525 Hotel
#1 of 7 in Los Alcazares
568 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Narejos
Hotel Costa Narejos
#2 of 7 in Los Alcazares
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traina

Property: Hotel Traina
Address: Avenida Generalisimo 84, 30740 San Pedro del Pinatar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Region of Murcia > San Pedro del Pinatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in San Pedro del Pinatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Traina 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Traina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Traina San Pedro Del Pinatar, Spain - Region Of Murcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing