We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic service, basic room swiss price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Aigle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de l'Aigle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couvet
42660
Level Contributor
203 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Basic service, basic room swiss price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

One night in this "family" hotel, room was large, bathroom was out of age in terms of accommodations and pieces of equipment. Breakfast was correct but far from 2014 standards for this range of price. Some persons of the staff were pretty helpful. A little bit disappointing ...

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo42660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odile_Roulet, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de l'Aigle, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Jojo,
Thank you very much for your feedback, which will help us enhance our services. We are pleased that you appreciated our staff, because we are committed to provide the most welcoming experience possible. However, we are sorry to hear that the breakfast buffet didn’t meet your expectations and we would be happy to know what you would have expected, so please write us an email or if you come back to our hotel, we would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly.
As for the bathrooms, it is part of our near-future projects to renovate them.
We hope to see you again in Hotel de l’Aigle!
Best regards from the Val-de-Travers,
Odile Roulet
Hotel de l'Aigle
Couvet / Val-de-Travers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
12
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spiez, Switzerland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Nice old building in the main street of Couvet. The room was big and clean, sparsely furnished but with only a very narrow (1.40m) double bed. This was however comfortable and the location is quiet. The bathroom was cramped and the fittings a little worn. Breakfast was good. We found the price however far too high, only justified by the lack of alternatives in the immediate region!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odile_Roulet, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de l'Aigle, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear CHvoyageur,
Thank you very much for your nice review and comments, which are really helpful to enhance the quality of our services.
We do realise that some of our bathrooms are rather old-fashioned, even if they are still in good condition and always clean, of course. Therefore it is part of our projects to renovate them.
Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you soon again in Val-de-Travers!
Best regards,
Odile Roulet
Hôtel de l'Aigle
Couvet / Val-de-Travers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the l'Aigle hotel for 1 night during a hiking weekend. The service was friendly, rooms spacious and clean but rather basic. The price is on the higher side for Switzerland but not excessive for a small village, especially considering the excellent breakfast that comes with it. dinner was fantastic as well, great meats. Agree though that the roesti is not well done so choose another side. Wonderful touch: the sugus at the reception - very traditional brand of Swiss bonbons :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baebsjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for just one night in order to do some walking in the local area and visit the Creux du Van.

The room was fantastically huge, but in spite of the non-smoking signs all over the place still smelled of stale ashtrays! Comfortable beds and quiet too. No minibar in the room (but drinks available on the landing) and not much in the way of bathroom toiletries. Old fashioned curtain in the bath for your showers which I'm not overly keen on either.

We had a nice dinner in the restaurant - the service was pleasant and we enjoyed having the absinthe explained to us. Food was a mix - the chasse was apparently very good (chevreuil) but the rösti was not so interesting. Only Swiss wines on the menu, with very Swiss prices too! But the flies were a pain ... nobody heard of fly paper here?

10 Swiss francs for our little dog was less than we have paid elsewhere. But still.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

The hotel looked recently refurbished. It has a pretty exterior and the rooms are spacious and very clean. They appear well soundproofed on the one hand: We didn't hear our neighbours. On the other hand, our room was right above the restaurant which meant we could hear late diners/ drinkers and were disturbed after going to bed. This was despite having asked for a quiet room when we booked. The best aspect about the hotel were the very friendly staff and the good location. It is in the centre of town but traffic is not an issue. We had no car but it was an easy walk to and from the rail station and the bus connections are really good. It is a great place from which to start fantastic day hikes. We enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishtravelfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

I stayed in this hotel in April, it is in a quiet village about 35 km from Neuchatel.

When I arrived at the hotel I almost turned around and drove away, as it was undergoing construction and was completely covered in scaffolding. However the interference from the construction was minimal, and didn't begin early in the morning, or go on late at night.

The rooms are very basic, but they are clean and the bed is comfortable, although they could do with providing more pillows.

The highlight for me was the hotel restaurant. The food was super and the service was very good. The staff were always very friendly.

When booking this hotel, I was charged a much higher rate to my travelling companion, which had been booked by the same travel agent. The hotels explanation for this was that our travel agent booked my room through the Minitel website, and my companions room was booked directly with the hotel. So I would exercise caution when booking to ensure you get the best rate
Although it must be said that even with the higher rate, this hotel was still reasonable

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank keabea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Couvet
8.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Rasses
Grand Hotel des Rasses
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Croix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Croix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
10.3 mi away
Les Rives du Doubs
Les Rives du Doubs
#1 of 1 in Les Brenets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
14.7 mi away
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
#2 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Cret de l'Anneau
Le Cret de l'Anneau
#1 of 2 in Travers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Aigle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Aigle

Property: Hotel de l'Aigle
Address: Grand'Rue 27, Couvet 2108, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Couvet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Couvet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Aigle 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Aigle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couvet Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing