We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had to get out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had to get out”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Me and my partner were looking for somewhere to stay, after about 2 hours of being in room 18 we left the hotel and looked for somewhere else. The room was covered in spiders and cobwebs, the carpet looked like it had never been hoovered, espicially in the corner where it was going black and the carpet was cream! I also found this room very noisy with outside traffic, which wasnt very comforting.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeychops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    33
    35
    21
    17
See reviews for
15
39
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Obviously an old hotel that they aren't spending very much money on updating, but they still want to charge the same amount as the newer places. With that said, it was warm, clean and had the basics. Fine for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: The recent refurbishment appears to have been slightly cosmetic in nature only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dersingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We went so we could stay local to a Ladies night we were attending.
We were welcomed warmly and show to out room.
Nice room, en.suite with bath, TV with lots of channels, tea and coffee in the room.
I need to turn on the heating when we got in but in these times that's getting to be normal.
When I looked at the menu I didn't want to go out.
It had Asian and English and if it tasted like the breakfast we had the next morning it would have been great.
The breakfast was varied and plentiful.
We enjoyed our stay here and would like to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted and escorted to our room. The room was in fairly clean condition – the carpet was new and the bed very comfortable.
The bathroom looked as though it had been tiled in the last 12 months but did need a good dust all over. The shower was appalling.
We decided to eat in the restaurant and were told to book as it was to be fully booked, we never saw it full. It was ok, rather overpriced and no atmosphere at all. We got drinks from the bar which stayed open.
There was an odd smell to the corridor but not noticeable from the room. Breakfast was minimal and the sausage was not hot but it was edible. All of the staff were helpful and carried out their duties diligently.
Overall I would not think it worth the money they charge per room, it was rather like Fawlty Towers and had no atmosphere to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereissummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Having been an AA member since 1984 I have normally been satisfied with the category of hotel but this is definitely not a 3 star hotel although a certificate hangs in the reception booth. There only appears to be about 5 members of staff, the rooms as viewed on the website may look modern and up to date but this does not reflect the space available nor the standard of facilities. The bathroom upgrade which has apparently taken place is basic at the very least and it is obvious that this is a tired and outdated building that is in need of a total refurbishment . The breakfast is the worst we have experienced in over 30 years in a hotel. They can't even cook toast, the mushrooms were tinned and the tomatoe(s) turned out to be a quarter of a tomato! I would not recommend this hotel in any respect.

Room Tip: Unable to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Ives hotels

Nottingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I only stayed one might, the room I had was in need of a thorough clean top to bottom, the window was filthy as we're the net curtains , the bath rooms tiled wall looked as though it had not been cleaned in a long time, the bedroom carpet need a good vacuume clean, overall it was pretty grim.
The conservatory Resturant was cold and un inviting with a view out on to what I could only describe as a building site with the odd pile of debris around the edges, the food was adequate but nothing special, I would have expected a bit more for £60 a night, £30-40 would have been nearer the mark, even at that price you wouldn't expect it to be filthy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dumpstermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Unable to verify some of the poor ratings as my son and I have a lovely over night stop on a mini cycling tour.

The only downside was the small cooked breakfast - plenty for a child, but not for a adult and could have been a little hotter.

Value for money? At £69 for a clean comfy twin room, yes

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveNunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.3 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#2 of 4 in St Ives
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
339 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
625 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ramada Cambridge
Ramada Cambridge
#1 of 1 in Boxworth
473 reviews
5.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Lodge Hotel

Property: Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Address: 50 Needingworth Road, St Ives PE27 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oliver's Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering value and comfort a warm welcome awaits at Oliver's Lodge, travelling on business or pleasure our recently redecorated accommodation in St Ives, Cambridgeshire is designed to ensure you start your next day relaxed, rejuvenated and ready to enjoy the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oliver's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Hotel St. Ives
Olivers Hotel St Ives
Oliver's Lodge Hotel St Ives, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing