We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have been to Olivers Lodge several times for Sunday Lunch mainly for family dinners.

The meals are always good and hearty. For £12.00 you get a three course lunch with tea or coffee. We are always made to feel very welcome, by all the staff and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very friendly service, we arrived late and they were more than accommodating. It has a good feel, nice small bar/sitting area, and breakfast was well catered and freshly made. We also left early, before normal breakfast hours and they were kind enough to leave out some breakfast provisions for us.
The rooms are comfortable we were in a separate wing, beds were fine but I have stayed in cleaner rooms, I felt it needed a good "Spring clean", the room we stayed in had an updated bathroom though which was well appointed. Saying this it did not bother us as we felt welcomed like old friends which was kind of nice as some larger hotels that are clinically clean can seem "cold'. Not Oliver's Lodge, it is like staying at your grandmas house warm and welcoming although a little dated.
Plenty of car parking and about a ten minute stroll to the centre of town where the charming town square has plenty of facilities and restaurants next to the river.
If you like those clinically clean hotels, stay elsewhere but if you like to feel welcome and cosy this will suit your needs.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms do not have lifts so if mobility is an issue ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

If ever there was a case for the creative use of pictures to make a hotel look far better than it actually is then this is it.
It is more of motel.
We booked at the last minute and on arrival check in was very efficienct and friendly. We were given room 20 which is not in the main building but in an annex. A large room but at the time we checked in (5pm) was cold. There were heaters provided which did warm the room quickly.
The room was only the clean in the fact that the carpet might have been hoovered and the bathroom given the once over but there was dust on every surface and cobwebs covered in dust all over the ceiling. The decorative cover on the bed was visibly stained and very dirty, however the sheets were clean as were the pillowcases.
Breakfast was quick and in nice surroudings but the mushrooms were quite obviously tinned and as such had no taste and the lightly poached eggs were very very undercooked.
The room (a double ensuite) cost £75 the tariff on the desk suggested it should have been £90 I suggest that I have stayed in B&B at half the price in nicer places that were better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackomail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Not AA***
With a good vacuum of the dust on skirting boards everywhere and cobwebs around bathroom and dining room conservatory doors it would be a decent place to spend a couple of nights. Bathroom had been recently refurbished and toilet and bath spotless. The beige bedroom carpet was a poor choice as it showed many marks. Only a few TV channels worked and one bedside light not working [not the bulb as swapped]
Breakfast had a good cooked choice and plenty of it, served by pleasant attentive staff but the menu gave yogurts as available but were not on either morning. Didn't have an evening meal as the menu was mainly Indian cuisine.
The hotel has good parking and it is easy walking distance into town where the guided bus gives easy access into Cambridge [concessionary bus passes can be used]

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The one thing that makes this hotel special is the personal service provided by all of the staff. It is what it is...a small hotel in a small town. Rooms are clean. There is no lift but there are rooms in an adjoining wing which are on the ground level. Breakfast was provided in a lovely room. The staff was so accommodating! Wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I booked this hotel through Laterooms, and found it well within walking distance of St Ives centre. It's situated in a nice quiet location far enough away from major roads so noise isn't a problem. I checked in and was shown to my room. This was clean bright and airy, just 1 minor niggle no complimentary shower gel, just bars of soap.
I dined in the bar and the food was good with a reasonable selection to choose from. The service from the staff was very good.
I slept very well and the breakfast the next morning was fine.
Top tip, don't park under the trees at the front unless you want bird mess all over the paintwork!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are sunny in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halle1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was a last minute booking, literally 30 men's before I arrived. I was not in the main building but a annex which was clean tidy and of a decent size. Staff were all helpful an friendly. Parking out the front can be tight. I got a reduce rat as it was last minute and as others have said the normal rate is probably overpriced. Worst part was the breakfast which was not very large and had several bits which were hardly warm. Obviously previously cooked and failed to be reheated sufficiently. It was disappointing. So ok, but not really a first choice option for me moving forward.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Alexander_Ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oliver's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Lodge Hotel

Address: 50 Needingworth Road, St Ives PE27 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range: £65 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oliver's Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering value and comfort a warm welcome awaits at Oliver's Lodge, travelling on business or pleasure our recently redecorated accommodation in St Ives, Cambridgeshire is designed to ensure you start your next day relaxed, rejuvenated and ready to enjoy the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Oliver's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Hotel St. Ives
Olivers Hotel St Ives
Oliver's Lodge Hotel St Ives, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing