We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab local place”
Review of The Taproom

The Taproom
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: This is The Taproom - the place to meet your friends, relax and enjoy great food and drink in an atmosphere which suits your mood. We believe that once you've experienced the ambience, enjoyed a relaxing meal and sampled our wines and beers you'll want to come back for more, again and again....We want to keep it that way!
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I am a regular visitor to The Taproom even since moving out of the area. It is a great place to meet for coffee (lovely cappuccino) and the food is always good too. It can get busy but never feels crowded and the service is good with friendly staff. I will definitely be back!

Thank lucyandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil G, Owner at The Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thanks Lucy and Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

I visited with my wife on her suggestion. It seemed to be a coofee/tea shop with a bar. Looked ok but the food pricing for lunch was relatively expensive. My chicken on Ciabatta was given a very fancy name and price to go with it. The 'home' style chips were good howver. Not somewhere we would go back to for a meal but maybe coffee.

1  Thank scoobyCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil G, Owner at The Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thanks Scooby. Pleased your wife felt inclined to recommend it and that you liked the chips!

The chicken dishes from our grill are all served on Ciabatta - and Italian (with Parma ham and cheese and which I just had for lunch!) a Spicy with Chorizo and sunblush tomato and a Grilled Chicken breast with avocado. Not sure which of these you had and which one you thought you had a "fancy name" but they range in price from £8.50 - £10.00 which I think is pretty good for a whole fresh chicken breast in an open ciabatta with the other ingredients and all served with homemade coleslaw and those chips you liked.

Thanks again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Went here with the girls for a few drinks - lively atmosphere with a real mix of age groups. The music is current and there is a great vibe about the place. It was quite crowded but for me, this just added to the vibrant atmosphere. We didn't eat here, but have to say the food looked and smelled delicious as it came out of the kitchen. Looking forward to eating here next time as will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Jules875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil G, Manager at The Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thanks Jules for the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Visited at a lunch time, food was excellent and on a previous visit midweek again food was excellent with some good midweek deals.although not sure they do them now. Had a pannini which was tasty and on previous visit had a burger which again was tasty. Food was well presented and hot. Premises is light and airy and very clean. only criticism is that the food took nearly 40 mins to arrive which for a lunch time I thought was quite slow, we had plenty of time but if I had been on a lunch break it would have been tight.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bradders1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil G, Owner at The Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thanks Bradders for the positive feedback. All good except the wait and 40mins is to long! Everything is cooked fresh to order and on a busy day that can mean long delays in our very small kitchen! We normally only tolerate 30mins max and hopefully someone warned you when ordering that there was a delay?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have only been to The Taproom for drinks but the place is always busy with people of all ages. There is a small court yard at the very back with is nice in the summer. Also the big windows at the front open up which is very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil G, Owner at The Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thanks Gill - glad you enjoy it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Taproom also viewed

Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing