We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, 2 for 1 deal of excellent quality.”
Review of Marsh Harrier

Marsh Harrier
Ranked #34 of 55 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value, 2 for 1 deal of excellent quality.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Having eaten there before we decided to try the new menu.
We weren't disappointed as both our meals were of excellent quality and with the 2 for 1 deal we received both main meals for the equivalent of around £7 each which is fabulous value. We couldn't have bought the meat, produce and ingredients that cheaply at the supermarket.
Really pleased with our choice for a quick meal out for the price.
If you are looking for a la carte or Michelin stars then you need to go elsewhere, however for an alternative to cooking at home and a decent meal out, we would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylormadept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    135
    96
    67
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A disappointing shame”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When the pub restaurant first opened, we we're impressed with the quality of food for the price you paid. Unfortunately the quality of the food has declined drastically. We noticed this on our last visit last year when my 2 years old's chicken was raw and my pasta had been cooked so long it took to the shape of the packaging it was cooked in. The manager did put this right by taking 50% off the bill.

We decided to give it another try tonight and was left feeling very disappointed and assured we will not be returning any time soon. My husband ordered the 12 ounce ribeye (medium cooked) from the specials board which was £16. It was over cooked and had no flavour as well as being unseasoned (the onion rings had more flavour). My red pepper pasta was bland and defiantly not worth having again.

Overall, the food quality is below average and does not offer value for money even with the promotional discount. If you are looking for some where to fill you up then this is the place to go to. If you are looking for a good meal then do not go there. A disappointing shame.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“value for money?”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Third visit in as many weeks proved one of the best.For the first time we were not informed of a long wait,although it would be quicker if you got your own drinks from the bar as the "girls" are busy and you do have to wait.
One vegetarian in our group was spoiled for choice, and my partner was a little disappointed that a dish she had had previously from the specials the week before was not available.Her choice of main course,(chicken with a chilli beef sauce..very dry) could have been better despite the valiant attempts of our server to help out with sauces.I chose the 12oz ribeye steak medium rare and was very pleased (although another visitor may have thought it too rare) with the portion and the price.
Expect to return very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenathlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Why change a winning menu?”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I used to eat here often. As a vegetarian I had acces to a number of mains and the specials, BUT they have dropped the Jalepeno Burger for a macaroni cheese patty.
Macaroni chees, moulded into a round patty, breaded, fried and served with chips....
Pasta - carbohydrate. Bread bun - Carbohydrate. Chips - Carbohydrate.
Not nice

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hw-in-bermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Notley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place, good value”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Visited today with friends for Sunday lunch. Arrived at 12.10 and we were seated straight away. Only 2 tables left which were taken within 5 minutes. Very busy but food and drinks arrived within 20 minutes. Good choice of mains. If you buy from the specials board the second meal is free. Pleasant surroundings and even thou it was busy because it was carpeted the noise level was fine. £60 for 4 people starters, mains and 2 drinks each.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pammie1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marsh Harrier also viewed

 
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Marsh Harrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing