We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great character...”

The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 56 Restaurants in St Ives
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great character...”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Although somewhat basic, the rooms are clean, modern and very comfortable. Cost effective with some great little restaurants and bars locally. All the staff were very helpful, would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank calvin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear calvin e

Thank you for your review, I am glad that we made your stay enjoyable. I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind Regards
The Golden Lion Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    44
    20
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent good, service and venue ”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Recently held a family birthday gathering in the Cromwell room. Service was excellent, food was complimented by all guests and general venue great. We had previously also a couple of years ago held our sons christening here and we were not disappointed again. Would recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank Verity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Verity W

I am delighted your function was a success and the guests were complimentary on the food, I have passed your feedback onto our team of chefs' and staff.

Our Cromwell Room is a great choice for any event and I was pleased to hear that you have returned to us and will offer the recommendation to friends and family.

Kind regards
The Golden Lion Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family friendly pub, great value for money and service of a 5*hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I rarely review my visits to pubs/restaurants but left here feeling so happy about my visit that I felt it only right to tell others about this wonderful pub!Great service, great value for money and great food. The service was fantastic and the staff warm and friendly!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ameli_Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Trixy_b

Many thanks for your review it is always very rewarding for the staff to hear such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average for business use if only single rooms available”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

booked a room here through booking agent for a business trip...it's ok.. nice as a pub...expensive standard food...uncomfortable single beds..freezing cold room...breakfast service was poor both mornings...would only stay here again if there were no other rooms available in the area

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Good meal”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here while staying a few miles away. The staff were friendly and polite, food tasty and good portions. Both adults and children enjoyed the visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonseyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant also viewed

St Ives, Cambridgeshire
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing