We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent freshly baked cakes”
Review of River Tea Rooms

River Tea Rooms
Ranked #2 of 4 Coffee & Tea in St Ives
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: River Terrace Cafe is based in the heart of St Ives in a grade II* listed Manor House on the River Ouse. We offer breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea and everything in between, 7 days a week. ​ Our focus is atmosphere, friendly service and a menu which pays homage to your classic favorites as well as introducing some healthy alternatives.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent freshly baked cakes”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband, step-daughter and I visit here quite regularly. We have taken any visitors we have, to have tea and cakes here.
Being a keen baker myself, I like to sample locally made cakes (and compare, of course :-) ).
The cakes are freshly made on-site and you can tell by the taste. The waitresses are friendly and down-to-earth and have no problem explaining menu options/cake ingredients (i.e. are there any nuts in the cakes).Of course being by the river makes it that extra special on a beautiful sunny day, watching the numerous swans and ducks go by.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nora_Ni1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    91
    45
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great tea shop in a great location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Small but perfectly formed with outside seating right next to the river. Good freshly made cakes and sandwiches, salads etc, and a bit of variation on the menu compared to most tea shops. Last time we went (have been many, many times) they had introduced waitress service - great!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NickiNoo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the tea room on a busy Saturday afternoon. We were lucky to get a table on the terrace, overlooking the Great Ouse. Our meals were served quickly and we found them delicious. There certainly was no shortage of cheese in my Ploughman's. Super

Helpful?
Thank Sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzyCD, Owner at River Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sam
thank you so much for your very nice review we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awful service totally spoiled a lovely setting yet again.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Twice now the service has been terrible. Not just slow, even when quiet - but miserable and surly. The owner clearly doesn't care as allows this continue by most (not all) of the staff. Borderline rude. The food quality, cleanliness and accuracy of taking the order leaves a lot to be desired too. Pretty pricey also but wouldn't have minded as nice setting if only the staff didn't ignore you then be surly. Very strange management/ownership indeed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Visited_894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzyCD, Owner at River Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sam
I am very sorry that you haven't been happy with our customer service. I have been reviewing your comments and have already spoken to our staff to remind them of the importance of polite and efficient customer service. I am taking your comments very seriously. The majority of our customers are usually very happy with the quality and price of our food and very complimentary about our staff.
Kind Regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

i have been going to this tea room when visiting st Ives for years and love sitting looking out on to the river but this time ( monday in early July ) service poor we waited over half an hour for 4 teas and sandwiches the food came before the tea and the attitude of the staff needs working on " have you made a decision yet " no no no!! may i take your order please? is what we would have liked to hear and cafe only half full they are telling us its because there busy ( please !!!) we had to wait, i do not mind waiting for food but its unacceptable to wait over half hour for a drink, on a + the food is very good but quite pricey ( you pay for the river view ),

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2d1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzyCD, Owner at River Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I am sorry that you were not completely happy with your recent visit to the Tea Rooms. We have been very busy recently and therefore it has taken longer then normal to prepare and serve food.
All our food is made fresh to order and it does take a little longer than when sandwiches are pre prepared/pre packed which is the case in many cafes and coffee shops.
However I am taking your comments very seriously and have already spoken to the staff about the importance of polite and courteous customer service, and we are looking into ways of trying to speed up food preparation. I do review our pricing on a regular basis with competitors and we do usually get a lot of positive feedback about the price and quality/quantity of the our food.
Kind Regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Tea Rooms also viewed

St Ives, Cambridgeshire
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
 

Been to River Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing