We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty average for 'high' prices”
Review of River Tea Rooms

River Tea Rooms
Ranked #2 of 4 Coffee & Tea in St Ives
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: River Terrace Cafe is based in the heart of St Ives in a grade II* listed Manor House on the River Ouse. We offer breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea and everything in between, 7 days a week. ​ Our focus is atmosphere, friendly service and a menu which pays homage to your classic favorites as well as introducing some healthy alternatives.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pretty average for 'high' prices”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Visited with my son and daughter, we had two scones and a cake with 3 cold drinks. Which came to £14. I feel a bit funny in moaning that the scones were far to big, but they were huge, burnt, and dry! And with one 'tiny' pot of cream between two of us we were disappointed!
Would rather go home and make my own scones next time (they are much nicer)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    91
    45
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Some friends have recently moved to the area and while visiting St. Ives we decided to pop into the tearooms for coffee. We were fortunate enough to get an outside table overlooking the river. The staff were all very welcoming and polite. The cheese scones were the tastiest I have ever eaten and the coffee was good. We took our time and were under to pressure to vacate our prime seats.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenKen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent freshly baked cakes”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband, step-daughter and I visit here quite regularly. We have taken any visitors we have, to have tea and cakes here.
Being a keen baker myself, I like to sample locally made cakes (and compare, of course :-) ).
The cakes are freshly made on-site and you can tell by the taste. The waitresses are friendly and down-to-earth and have no problem explaining menu options/cake ingredients (i.e. are there any nuts in the cakes).Of course being by the river makes it that extra special on a beautiful sunny day, watching the numerous swans and ducks go by.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nora_Ni1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great tea shop in a great location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Small but perfectly formed with outside seating right next to the river. Good freshly made cakes and sandwiches, salads etc, and a bit of variation on the menu compared to most tea shops. Last time we went (have been many, many times) they had introduced waitress service - great!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NickiNoo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the tea room on a busy Saturday afternoon. We were lucky to get a table on the terrace, overlooking the Great Ouse. Our meals were served quickly and we found them delicious. There certainly was no shortage of cheese in my Ploughman's. Super

Helpful?
Thank Sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzyCD, Owner at River Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sam
thank you so much for your very nice review we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Tea Rooms also viewed

St Ives, Cambridgeshire
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to River Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing