We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phoenix”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Phoenix”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Although Slepe Hall didn't actually burn down, the quality of service did - gently over decades under the previous owners. It was lovely when our children were tiny 30 years ago, and dinner then was the talk of the town. But it decayed (quite genteelly) and became rather tawdry, to such an extent that the restaurant became an 'American diner" - yuck! But the new owners have revolutionised it, as we discovered at lunchtime yesterday. Even the sandwiches are spectacularly good, and the new décor is a great relief. We were impressed and plan to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent visit for lunch. As you say, Slepe Hall was once the "Talk of the Town" in a positive way, and has over the years become for a negative reason. In the last 9 months we have made substantial changes to the public areas including removing the American Diner and replacing it with a modern contemporary bar area, opening up the brasserie and creating a welcoming reception lobby. 2014 see's plans to continue with the refurbishment with the addition of a ground floor family apartment and refurbishment to the guest bedrooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    65
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
72
62
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked a last minute one night stay at this hotel as we were going on a River dining trip and didn't want to drive back to London!. Very nice intimate hotel, staff were friendly,helpful and efficient, room clean and comfortable although a bit warm even with the window open
Excellent breakfast with good choice and service.Would be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us, I am pleased that all of my team met your expectations and that you enjoyed your brief visit to the area. We hope that you will think about a longer stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. First impressions very good. Walk to the room was a challenge as it was up and down and round lots of corners, easy to get lost. Once in the room the first thing i noticed was that it was quite small but fine for one night. Well laid out and furnished to a good standard. The bathroom was really nice with a jacuzzi bath. Nice bar which I used for a few hours with colleagues. Didn't try the restaurant as we went out to eat but the next morning I had the full English breakfast and it was probably the best cooked breakfast that I have had for some time. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Slepe Hall, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you like the renovations that we have made to the hotel in the last 9 months. There are more planned for next year! One of the features of the hotel is the quirky corridors that lead to the bedrooms, though perhaps a little more signage to the bedrooms is needed! We will include this as part of our planned works for the first floor. I will pass your comments onto the chef regarding your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had our wedding here in September - we would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get married in a friendly well organised hotel with the best food we have ever tasted. All our guests had the best time. The garden was perfect for the photographs and all the staff worked hard to make our day the best. Stuart the manager kept everything on track. Our evening reception was in the Brunel suite at side of hotel with plenty of room for dancing to the band. The buffet in the evening was all home made on the premises and tasted wonderful only criticism was that there was no labels so some guests were not sure what they were eating until they ate it but no complaints and there was so many varied items -we could do it all over again ! looking forward to our 1st anniversary meal next September

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review following your wedding with us in September. We are all glad that you enjoyed your day with us and hope that you have a long and happy marriage together. I know we have seen you in the hotel since your wedding and we look forward to seeing you many more times in 2014. Least not for your 1st Anniversary meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doddington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We held our wedding here on 5th oct.
Stuart and the rest of his staff did a superb job. the food was first class the decor in the hall was fantastic with good attention to detail.
Slepe hall hotel is tastefully decored in a modern style but still retains the charms of the older building.
The rooms are smart, clean and stylish as is the rest of the hotel.
My family and guest's enjoyed their stay and the wedding and some are looking to book a stay again and perhaps we all will to meet up from time to time there.
St ives itself has a selection of different places to eat and good pubs as well as an interseting old stone bridge complete with a chapel built into the middle of it over looking the river.
thanks again to all the staff for making our day special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thanks for your recent review following your wedding here this October. We are all very pleased that you had a day to remember and that you liked the alterations they we had made so far. There are more planned for 2014 so we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
529 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Quite liked this place. Good things - it's been done up. Very comfy bed in room 10 ( four poster!), v.pleased there was a trouser press. Huge tv. Whirlpool bath with nice 'smellies'. Breakfast was fantastic. Things to consider - sheers or nets in the windows for privacy. No shelf in shower. Front door closes at night. Couldn't get attention of receptionist and had no mobile phone on me, so got in through the kitchens! Will certainly use again. £107 for the room was a good price I thought.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. I am pleased that you liked the room and facilities that you stayed in. Part of our 2014 plans are to do some upgrade works to the bedrooms having upgraded the ground floor areas this year. As a security measure we do lock the front door however the night porter should always be around to let anybody in. We have introduced a buzzer on the front door now to assist guests that don't have a mobile phone with them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Had an overnight stay, visiting local family. Room 11 very comfortable, unfortunately beige carpet will get marks that show up. The bed was lovely and we slept well. Breakfast was served with a smile and the food was very good quality and hot. Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am glad that enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the bed to be comfy! Beige carpets are an unusual choice for a bedroom carpet, however we haven't started our refurbishment in the bedrooms yet, but this is planned for 2014.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon when you are next visiting family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.4 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#2 of 4 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in St Ives
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Ramsey Road, St Ives PE27 5RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New ownership from December 2012 has seen this beautiful building tastefully restored to its former grandeur with extensive refurbishment to the Restaurant, Bar and Reception areas. Boasting 16 individually designed en-suite bedrooms with Jacuzzi baths and usual amenities such as tea and coffee facilities, free wi-fi and TV and telephone. The all new "Ramsey's Brasserie" the hotel boasts, offers the business or pleasure traveler an extensive range of quality food and drink with friendly professional service and accommodation. For business meetings and functions there are two conference and event suites available and the premises are licensed for civil wedding / partnership ceremonies and wedding receptions catering for small or large numbers with individually tailored packages, along with a great venue for events and parties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Slepe Hall Hotel And Restaurant
Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant St Ives, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing