We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food, occasionally let down by service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, occasionally let down by service”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We live within spitting distance of this hotel / Restaurant, as such we have never stayed there so can not comment on that, however we have eaten there many times, thats what this review is for.

The restaurant has undergone a major overhaul, for the better this year, looking contemporary and classy at the same time, a variety of menus exist, depending on the time of day and day of the week, ie Sunday Roast or daytime light bites.

All food is of the highest quality and cooked to perfection, choose from the fixed price or Sunday menu's and you will be stunned at how cheap food of this quality can be for example, £16.50 for 3 courses! Bargain, we like to go there whenever we can as we know we won't be let down, having said that, the service can be very poor at times, forgetting to bring out the beautiful home cooked bread, missing elements from your dish, even on one occasion no cutlery, it definitely pays to remember what sides your dish is supposed to come with.

As mentioned many times here though, I will go back again and again as the food is beautiful,
highly recommend, just don't go if your not in the mood for occasionally poor service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your visit to Ramsey's Brasserie recently.

I am pleased to hear that you like the changes that we have made over the last few months to both the décor, menu and quality of the food.

As an evolving business, we have occasional issues and it would appear that we may be having some service issues on your recent visit. This is something we are addressing with continued training for the staff. Please rest assured that we do take your comments on board and are working with our service staff, by using reviews like this as a training tool.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    65
    26
    13
    10
See reviews for
72
59
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

From the warm welcome by receptionist Katrina to the pleasant goodbye we had a most enjoyable & relaxing stay. Although the vegetarian choice in the restaurant is very limited, the food is excellent, (how about adding a vegetable curry to the menu) as usual the meat eaters were very well catered for.
The rooms are comfortable but if you are a light sleeper ask for a rear room as the traffic noise on the front, along with diners leaving makes for a poor nights sleep, a situation not helped by the antiquated sash windows. I do understand that many of these older buildings are listed but that does not prevent secondary glazing being installed.
We will stay at Slepe Hall again when we are next in the area, but will ask for a rear room.

Room Tip: If you like four posters front rooms are for you - if you like sleep ask for rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your visit to Slepe Hall Hotel this month. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your meal in Ramsey's Brasserie.
As you point out Slepe Hall is indeed a listed building and our continued program of refurbishment for 2014 does include repairing all of the sash windows, which should help with loss of heat and help to reduce noise.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife visited slepe hall on the 7th of december for out work christmas party. There was 16 of us and me and my wife decided to see if they had any spare rooms and stop over. The member of staff on reception was lovely and very helpful. The night went very well.
We went to our room and the standard was very good. Well sized and clean. However we tried to shower in the morning and the shower was broken so just dribbled out due to the head being broken so we had to run a bath to clean.

Also on our way to the room the night before we bought a bottle of pepsi to take to the room. The next morning when we opened it and started to drink it we thought it tasted strange and on inspection found it to be 3 months out of date!! When we brought it to the attention of the staff we found that infact all of the bottles of diet pepsi were out of date. Surely this sort of thing should be checked regularly?
Disappointed as if the shower and drink problems hadnt happened it would have been a fantastic stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your works Christmas party and your overnight stay.
I am pleased that my reception team were able to help you with a room reservation, and that you were pleased with the room that you were given.
I did personally check the shower after you had departed with our maintenance man and found the pressure to be low and adjusted the seal on the shower head. We believe that during cleaning and descaling the housekeepers had not tightened the head up. The housekeepers have been made aware of this now.
As far as the Pepsi is concerned, I have spoken with our bar manager who advises me this is a new product line for us and has spoken with our supplier to see why they have delivered a mixture of dates on the products. Product date checks are normally carried at out our monthly stocktake by the bar manager and stocktaker.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Visited the restaurant mid week after a colleague recommended the place. There were two of us on the night and we didn't have a reservation but as we arrived we spotted a number of free tables in the restaurant. We were then shown to the bar instead of the restaurant and not given a reason why. We were given the bar menu but asked for the restaurant one which they eventually gave us. After 20 minutes we were still sat waiting for our drinks order to be taken. I then went to the bar to order and was ignored for a further 5 minutes by the staff. They finally took our order and bought the drinks over after 10 minutes. The food was ok when it finally arrived but the service was shockingly bad. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. Instead pay a visit to the Old Bridge restaurant in Huntingdon, which we did a few days later which was amazing - food and customer service!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ms-greeneyes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the restaurant and hotel following your visit last week. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment.

We do always ask guests if they would like to take a drink in the bar whilst looking at a menu before dinner, and would have been happy to show you straight to a table had you wished.

I have noted your comments about the menus and delay in getting drinks and will take this up with the service staff.

We are an evolving restaurant and staff training is something we are working on, it would appear that some of the staff need a little extra training.

We would love to see you again at the hotel and restaurant to prove that this was a one off experience and that Slepe Hall Hotel and Ramsey's Brasserie are certainly well worth a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had our civil partnership here in September 2013 and it was just amazing. Right from the start we received excellent customer service from all members of staff. In particular, Stuart, the manager was outstanding. Nothing was too much for him to arrange and the wedding day went very smoothly. We used the restaurant for the ceremony and meal, then the garden for photos. We were worried that the evening party venue was quite 'school hall' like but actually with all the lights on and filled with people it was absolutely perfect. We found the honeymoon suite brilliant, and all our guests were happy with their stay. Overall, beautiful building, classy food and excellent service. I couldn't recommend this venue more, and look forward to returning for a night!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Layla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your wedding celebrations with us earlier this year.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed all of our services ranging from ceremony room, to afternoon reception, evening party and overnight stay.
The chip butties you had were certainly a winner in the evening!
We look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel on your next visit to the UK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay with comfortable beds and relaxing spa baths. Rooms are okay - although shower is a little on the small side. There are plenty of options for breakfast - the eggs Benedict get my vote. Hotel has lots of character and staff were friendly and efficient.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank newt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us in November, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the bed to be so comfy! I have passed your comments on to the chef regarding your breakfast who was equally pleased that you had enjoyed, particularly the eggs benedict! I have also made your comments about the staff known to them!
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for one night, Lovely intimate 19 bedroomed Hotel, Staff were friendly and helpful, All bedrooms have Jacussi's and the bed gave us the best sleep in a long time, Very comfortable, Breakfast couldnt be faulted, and the couple at the next table said they had dined in the Ramsey Bistro in the Hotel, and it was decadent, wish we could have stayed an extra night to check this out.
We paid £87.00 for the evening which included breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us in November. I am pleased to hear that you had a good nights sleep and that you enjoyed the Jacuzzi in the bathroom. Its a shame that you couldn't experience Ramsey's Brasserie on this visit, but hopefully you will be able to come for another visit soon when we would be very pleased to welcome you to the brasserie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.4 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#2 of 4 in St Ives
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in St Ives
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dolphin
The Dolphin
#3 of 4 in St Ives
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
625 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
458 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Ramsey Road, St Ives PE27 5RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New ownership from December 2012 has seen this beautiful building tastefully restored to its former grandeur with extensive refurbishment to the Restaurant, Bar and Reception areas. Boasting 16 individually designed en-suite bedrooms with Jacuzzi baths and usual amenities such as tea and coffee facilities, free wi-fi and TV and telephone. The all new "Ramsey's Brasserie" the hotel boasts, offers the business or pleasure traveler an extensive range of quality food and drink with friendly professional service and accommodation. For business meetings and functions there are two conference and event suites available and the premises are licensed for civil wedding / partnership ceremonies and wedding receptions catering for small or large numbers with individually tailored packages, along with a great venue for events and parties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Slepe Hall Hotel And Restaurant
Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant St Ives, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing