We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at Slepe Hall hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lovely hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Bathrooms have whirlpool bath and robes.
Food was very tasty and cooked just right. Would definitely stay there again. Unfortunately no pool, spa or fitness facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 71susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us recently and thank you for your feedback.

We are currently discussing with a local Health and Fitness centre to try and work out a package for our guests to be able to use! Maybe next time you visit this area you could stay and try this out!

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

The reason I have given only an average is for various reasons. But I will begin with the positives.

The ground floor of the hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard - whilst we did not use the bar area it looked comfortable and well appointed. The dining room also comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was good with a good selection of cereals and pleased to say a very fresh fruit salad. The food at dinner was also very good and the service to match.

On checking in we felt that the welcome was a little cool and not as welcoming as we would have liked.

We had one of the superior rooms which was a good size and well furnished if a little tired. We were told that the bedrooms are due to be refurbished next.

However, on returning to our room after a day out we were surprised to discover our room had not been serviced. When we contacted reception we were informed that 'housekeeping' had left for the day. However after a little wait we were told the room would be dealt with whilst we were out for the evening, sure enough it was and we were given a bottle of house wine as an apology. The rest of our stay was comfortable.

A week later on checking our bank account we discovered that whilst our payment had been taken on checking out it had been taken a second time 3 days later on the card we used to guarantee the reservation. Admitedly on contacting the hotel this error was handled very quickly and a refund of the overpayment reimbursed.

Room Tip: We followed a previous review and requested a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloucestershire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us, I am pleased overall that you had a pleasant stay with us and do hope that you will consider us for a return visit in the future.

Our planned refurbishment continues this year with work due to happen to some of the bedrooms and function areas.

I have spoken with the Housekeeper about your room not being serviced and this was an oversight on her part for which she apologises. I am pleased however that the Duty Manager was able to service the room for you whilst you were out in the evening.

With regards to the payment being taken twice this was due to a combination of human and computer errors, which I am pleased we rectified straight away for you. Please rest assured this was a one off error.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Special thanks to Stuart and his staff for making us feel so special on Our Wedding day. From the minute we arrived to when we left the following morning you made us feel extremely relaxed and incredibly special.. Surroundings, food, drinks and service were all top class. Would recommend as a definate for anyone who wants to be made feel special. Thanks again Stuart.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks for your kind comments following your wedding with us this spring. We are working extremely hard to offer a first class service for our clients and it is pleasing to know that we are achieving this. We try very hard to make our wedding meals interesting and exciting and a little different from the norm!

We look forward to seeing you both at the hotel again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We are from next door town of Huntingdon and attended our niece's wedding at the Slepe Hall. We did not stay overnight but did get changed in one of their bedrooms. We found it to be warm and comfortable and very contemporary. We had a beautiful ceremony in the restaurant which was beautifully converted. The meal for the reception was hot, delicious and plentiful and the wine was delicious too. The only downside was a very bad evening of rain (which obviously the hotel cannot control) which blocked the drainage of the toilets and made them un-flushable in the extension building. This however did not marr the enjoyment of the day and evening. Service was good all round. Thankyou Slepe Hall, you did a wonderful job.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyMorticia67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding a wedding that you attended last year. We are certainly working very hard to ensure all weddings are as successful as your niece's was.

We have since spoken with Anglian Water about the waste water issues that we encountered and it was due to a bigger issue that they had all over the town that evening.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon, maybe in Ramsey's Brasserie?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Have not been to the restaurant for some years but had noted that it had been refurbished and thought that it would be good to try it again.

A special birthday lunch was arranged for the family and was enjoyed by everyone.

Staff were very helpful and friendly and we were looked after really well... nothing was to much trouble. We were not hurried over our meal.

The food was good especially the starters!

I would certainly recommend the restaurant and hope to return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rugbytrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thanks for your recent review following your lunch at the hotel.

As you mention the hotel has undergone a major refurbishment and a major change to food and drink served.

I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your celebration lunch, something we are starting to specialise in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were frequent users of this Hotel in the past, but it became rather tired. Returning again, surprise, we find it has been extensively revamped with an attractive redesign of all the interior. Excellent lunch taken there and we will return again. Staff very friendly and talking to them it appears it is a place they like working in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambridgeoldbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent lunch at Slepe Hall Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and indeed your lunch and that the return visit to the hotel was a welcome surprise.

We have as you say made a major investment in the hotel over the last 12 months and will continue to do so over the coming months.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

A few friends and I went to Slepe Hall a couple of weeks ago and had an absolutely fantastic meal! The service was brilliant and we couldn't have had a better time!

All staff were extremely helpful & attentive to our needs! We would 100% recommend drinking/ dining at Slepe Hall, whether you are local or travelling to the Hotel, you won't regret it!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank abu1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPW232, General Manager at Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks for the positive feedback following your recent visit to the hotel, I am very pleased that you enjoyed the experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon where you will be able to eat outside on the terrace very soon! (Once the warm weather arrives!!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.5 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Ives
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Lion
Golden Lion
#1 of 4 in St Ives
110 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 37 in Cambridge
2,517 reviews
14.7 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in St Ives
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Ramsey Road, St Ives PE27 5RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St Ives
Price Range: £93 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting 16 individually designed en-suite bedrooms, some with Jacuzzi baths along with complimentary tea and coffee facilities: coffee machine, free wi-fi and TV and telephone. We also offer some beautiful four-poster beds in our Superior Double rooms when wanting to celebrate something special or simply to treat yourself. Ramsey's Brasserie and our bar area offers the business or pleasure visitor an extensive range of quality food and drink with a friendly professional service. For business meetings and functions there are two conference and event suites available. The premises are licensed for civil wedding / partnership ceremonies. We cater for your whole wedding day offering rooms for wedding receptions with small or large numbers, individually tailored packages - a great venue for events and parties. We hold events throughout the year entertaining residents and public guests with dinner dances, wedding fayres, charity nights & special events such as Valentine's. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Slepe Hall Hotel And Restaurant
Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant St Ives, Cambridgeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing