We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly ataff”
Review of Chai Kai Tea House - CLOSED

Chai Kai Tea House
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, friendly ataff”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good range of teas with all sorts of varaties, a smaller selection of high qualoty food. Atmosphere is great too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IbrahimJ622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    26
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The reviews are true - this is an amazing little place!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Having read the reviews, I was excited to try this little tea house and eatery.

I was impressed by the small menu, as I like most others find too much choice annoying and sometimes overwhelming.

I opted for The Lamb & Butternut Squash Curry, and my husband had the Lamb Burger.

The curry was exceptional with well balanced flavours and the ingredients that you just knew where super fresh, the lamb was so tender it melted in the mouth and the butternut squash wasn't over cooked, thus retaining its shape and individual taste. The Mushroom Rice I ordered as a side dish was equally good quality.

My husband was also pleased with his Lamb Burger, as promised on the menu is was tender strips of lamb, in a very fresh bun, with and onion Bhaji and fresh lettuce. Also the hand cut chips were not greasy and tasted just as if you had made them from scratch at home.

This eatery does not serve alcohol, which is nice for a change, I had a wonderful pot of earl grey and my husband enjoyed a very pleasant 'illy' Coffee.

All in all a great place to go, have already recommended this may friends and family members and will be visiting again soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great little find”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

friendly staff and fantastic chai tea served in cast iron tea pots great little find and a must if your visiting St Ives, we only live 45 mins away and will be back to eat next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2d1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great find!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was a fantastic find on our hols.We stopped here for lunch,the food was fresh and full of flavor. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Will visit again next year!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Class Food”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Brilliant concept with lovely Indian style tapas approach. Squid was best I have had in years and duck and mango salad worth having again. Service excellent although a touch hot and in need of a little bit more air con. How a place of this quality ended up in St Ives I have no idea - would work well in Cambridge or Central London - hope the Bergers of St Ives appetite this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Whitecroft99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chai Kai Tea House also viewed

St Ives, Cambridgeshire
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing